Lord John Grey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Lord John series is a series of historical mystery novels written by Diana Gabaldon, which focus around the character Lord John Grey. This character is a recurring character from Gabaldon’s first series of books Outlander. Lord John Grey is a gay character living in a time when homosexuality was a capital offense, and this creates a highly interesting element to the novel series.

Order of Lord John Grey Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lord John and the Private Matter 2003 Description / Buy
2 Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade 2007 Description / Buy
3 Lord John and the Hand of Devils 2008 Description / Buy
4 The Scottish Prisoner 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Lord John Short Stories

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lord John and the Hell-Fire Club (Short Story) 1998 Description / Buy
2 A Plague of Zombies (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first Lord John book, Lord John and the Hellfire Club was published in 1998, and the series has been incredibly well received by critics and readers.

Lord John Grey Awards

The Outlander series won an award from EW Magazine for having the best opening line, and the television series won the People’s Choice Award for Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Cable Drama in 2015 against nominees such as Doctor Who and The Walking Dead.

Lord John Grey Books into Movies

The Outlander book series was developed into a British-American television drama, which was produced and developed by Ronald D. Moore and Sony Pictures Television. The show premiered in August of 2014 and is currently on its second season. The show has received an incredibly popular consensus and has won several awards, such as Critics Choice and People’s Choice in 2014, and actors in the series have won Best Actress on Television by Saturn Awards.

Best Lord John Grey Books

The Lord John series is a four book series by Diana Gabaldon, and is a spin off of the Outlander series, which was a hugely popular book series in the 90’s. The best books to introduce you to the Lord John series would be the first three books of the series: Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Hand of Devils, and Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade.

These books are the perfect way to introduce you to the main character of Lord John. Although Lord John was a recurring character in the Outlander series, this subset series focuses much more closely on the intricacies of his life, and the struggles he faces as a homosexual man living in the time when homosexuals could be killed for their actions.

Lord John and the Private Matter: The first book, Lord John and the Private Matter introduced the reader to Lord John Grey, the son of a noble family, the soldier, and the honourable and intelligent man, who must hide his homosexuality for fear of destruction. The book follows Lord John in his investigation of a murdered woman, and is the perfect way to introduce you to this powerful series. There is a lot intrigues that happen in the course of these intrigues that keeps the reader glued to each page.

Lord John and the Hand of the Devils: The second book of the series, Lord John and the Hand of Devils is a collection of smaller novellas that follow Lord John through his toils and tribulations in a formidable collection of short stories. Although this book is not one solid novel, each novella goes a long way in bringing the character to the reader and inspiring empathy towards the protagonist.

Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: The final book that is perfect for introducing you into the world of the incredible Lord John is Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade. This book is the second full-length book of the series, and focuses much more closely on the family life and army career of the protagonist so that the reader can develop a full understanding of the character. Through politics, battle, and family we follow Lord John to unravel the secrets behind what makes Lord John the man that he is.

Other Book Series You May Like

If you love the Outlander and Lord John series’ then we can recommend a few other books that you’re bound to love just as much.

“Human Croquet” follows the lives of the members of the enigmatic Fairfax family, and follows their history throughout the 16th Century and onwards. This book is a winner if you love a bit of old fashioned mystery.

“A Year and a Day” chronicles a historical romance between warrior, Lynx, and a Scottish lady. With many twists and turns, this book is high drama, and high on our list of recommendations.

“To Tame a Wild Heart” echoes that of the Lord John series. The protagonist is a healer, but there are some supernatural elements to her skills. If you love historical books with a little twist, then this one is an excellent book for you.

What Is The Next Book in The Lord John Grey Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Lord John Grey Series. The newest book is The Scottish Prisoner and was released on February, 1st 2011.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.