Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Lorien Legacies series followed the exploits of nine teenagers, the only survivors of a race of aliens that had been driven to the edge of extinction.

Order of I Am Number Four: The Lost Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Six's Legacy 2011 Description / Buy
2 Nine's Legacy 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Fallen Legacies 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Search for Sam 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Last Days of Lorien 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Forgotten Ones 2013 Description / Buy
7 Hidden Enemy 2014 Description / Buy
8 Five's Legacy 2014 Description / Buy
9 Return to Paradise 2014 Description / Buy
10 Five's Betrayal 2014 Description / Buy
11 The Fugitive 2014 Description / Buy
12 The Navigator 2015 Description / Buy
13 The Guard 2015 Description / Buy
14 Legacies Reborn 2015 Description / Buy
15 Last Defense 2016 Description / Buy
16 Hunt for the Garde 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When their world was destroyed by the evil Mogadorians, the remnant Lorien fled to earth with special guardians called Cepan. There they hid, waiting and training in the hope that they would awaken their special abilities in time to stop the next Mogadorian attack.

That first series, written by Pittacus Lore, centered on Number Four, also known as John Smith. After Numbers 1 to 3 were killed by Mogadorians, John came to prominence when he not only survived a Mogadorian assault but also revealed aspects of his extraterrestrial heritage to the world at large.

For years, the other Lorien Survivors had lived a hopeless existence. John’s emergence proved to them once and for all that they were not alone.

He also gave them hope that they could fight back against the Mogadorians and win, but only if they found one another and presented a united front.

Pittacus Lore wrote seven novels in the Lorien Legacies series. While Number 4 always played a prominent role in the story, the various installments also introduced the other survivors of his crew, with the author going so far as to give a few of them dedicated POVs.

Most of the other supporting characters always boasted personalities that were a stark contrast to Number 4 whose strength, stability and determination set him apart. The fact that the foibles of his alien colleagues were the result of the trauma they had suffered earlier on was hinted at but never truly explored, not until Patticus Lore wrote and finally published Six’s Legacies, the first novel in the Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files Series.

Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files is an amalgamation of various novellas which delve into the adventures the other Lorien survivors endured before they met Number 4.

Six’s Legacy, for instance, takes readers back to the events that cost six her Cepan. Six was already quite the badass when readers met her in the original Lorien Legacies series.

But she wasn’t always so strong and indomitable. Once upon a time, Six was just another girl looking to find a semblance of normalcy. But then she was captured along with her Cepan Katarina and the things she had to do to survive scarred her.

Most of the Lost Files novellas are short, rarely longer than 150 pages. Their objective is to simply fill in the gaps that were introduced in the Lorien Legacies series. Rather than introducing new concepts and ideas, they merely build upon what Patticus Lore created the first time around.

For that reason, people who know the Lorien Legacies story will appreciate them immensely.

Best Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files Books

This series has a special place in the hearts of Patticus Lore fans who enjoy delving into the minutiae of the lives their favorite Lorien Legacies heroes and heroines lived before they encountered number 4, with some of the best books in the series including:

Nine’s Legacy: Nine wasn’t the nicest of boys when readers met him. In fact, he was a bit of a jerk, unnecessarily reckless and way too ferocious. But that wasn’t his fault. Before his world collapsed, Nine was a very different person.

Fallen Legacies: By the time the Lorien Legacies series started, Numbers 1 to 3 were already dead, slain by the Mogadorians. Little was revealed of who they were or what they did.

The Fallen Legacies throws light on that particular mystery, putting readers into the perspective of a Mogadorian General’s son.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also like the “Beyonders” Series by Brandon Mull. Jason Walker was bored with life. He wanted excitement, something to eliminate the predictability of his existence. Then an incident at the zoo ended with Jason stranded in Lyrian, a magical world ruled by a Wizard Emperor who uses fear to keep his subjects in line.

The “Unwanteds Quests” Series by Lisa McMann is another good read. Alex and Aaron Stowe gave Quill and Artime peace in “The Unwanteds” series. In this sequel, their twin sisters are ready to pursue their own adventures.

Fifer and Thisbe are quite young but their abilities are far greater than those of Alex, their brother. In fact, Fifer and Thisbe are so strong that their lack of control keeps dragging them into all sorts of trouble.

What Is The Next Book in The I Am Number Four: The Lost Files Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The I Am Number Four: The Lost Files Series. The newest book is Hunt for the Garde and was released on May, 30th 2016.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *