Matthew Corbett Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Matthew Corbett is the chief protagonist in the Matthew Corbett series of novels by Robert McCammon. The first novel published in the series featuring the Corbett character was the 2002 published “Speaks the Nightbird”. The series of novels are best described as historical fiction mysteries.

Get notified when Robert R. McCammon releases a new book at

Order of Matthew Corbett Series Robert R. McCammon

# Read Title Published Details
1 Speaks the Nightbird ( By: Robert R. McCammon) 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Queen of Bedlam ( By: Robert R. McCammon) 2007 Description / Buy
3 Night Ride (By: Robert R. McCammon) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Mister Slaughter ( By: Robert R. McCammon) 2010 Description / Buy
5 The Providence Rider ( By: Robert R. McCammon) 2012 Description / Buy
6 The River of Souls ( By: Robert R. McCammon) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Freedom of the Mask ( By: Robert R. McCammon) 2016 Description / Buy
8 Cardinal Black ( By: Robert R. McCammon) 2019 Description / Buy
9 The King of Shadows (By: Robert R. McCammon) 2022 Description / Buy
10 Seven Shades of Evil (By: Robert R. McCammon) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Matthew Corbett is a professional investigator living in the tail end of the 17th century, a time when the forces of evil and good are at war in colonial America. The towns and countryside of American are plagued with a range of tragedies, that most residents believe to be as a result of witchcraft. When we are first introduced to the lead in the series, he is a young assistant/clerk to the itinerant judge Isaac Woodward. Over the course of a few years, he develops a passion for justice and love and is sent by his employers to a range of locations to uncover truth and confront evil forces threatening the innocent.

The first novel in the series “Speaks the Nightbird” is set in 1600 Carolinas, where the residents of Fount Royal are convinced that their city is cursed due to its many tragedies. Seeking a scapegoat, their wrath falls on Rachel Howarth, a beautiful widow that they demand be executed for practicing witchcraft. Isaac Woodward is the itinerant judge who they select to preside over the case. The young and astute clerk Mathew Corbett, who believes the young woman is innocent, assists him.

The judge promptly finds the woman guilty and sentences her to death at the stake. Desperate to exonerate a woman he had fallen in love with, what follows is an incredible story as Corbett embarks on his own investigation that sees him confront a malevolent force that would stop at nothing to claim innocent lives in Fount Royal. The novel is an excellent narrative that goes on to show just why Robert McCammon has won so many prestigious awards over the years.


Speaks the Nightbird: The first novel in the series is undoubtedly one of the most popular. The masterpiece is a tale of murder and mystery that transports one to Fount Royal, where shady characters and sordid dealings are the order of the day. It comes with gray brushstrokes of sober sadness, bright orange humor, blue electrifying romance, lurid red gushes of horror, infuriating justice, seething passion, crackling dialogue, and rollicking adventure. Matthew Corbett the lead in the series takes one on an historical adventure back to the 17th century that will enthrall both the historical and mystery fiction buff alike.

Freedom of the Mask: The sixth novel in the series is another fan favorite featuring Matthew Corbett the 17th century investigator. After he leaves on what was deemed a straightforward yet very lucrative mission in Charles Town, Corbett is gone too long. His friend Hudson Greathouse sets out to find his friend, only to find him en route to London and suspected of killing a young woman on Professor Fell’s Pendulum Island. Matthews’s condition only deteriorates as arriving in London he is charged with the murder of Anton Mannerheim an influential count that lands him in the infamous Newgate Prison. Full of danger and adventure the the Matthew Corbett character in the novel has been called the earliest version of “James Bond”.

Mister Slaughter: The third novel in the series is another excellent novel set in Colonial America of the 17th century. Mathew Corbett’s newest adventure is set in New York City, where he goes on an incredible journey of personal discovery, violence, and horror. Together with Hudson Greathouse of the Herrald Agency of London, they have taken a hazardous and unusual mission to escort Tyranthus Slaughter, a notorious mass murderer from a penitentiary in Philadelphia to New York. The novel is a classic portrait of a fledgling nation and the archetypal psychology of a serial killer.


Fans of the Matthew Corbett series of novels will also love the “Gaius Petreius Ruso/Medicus Investigation” series of novels by Ruth Downie. These are historical novels set in Roman Britain where Gaius Petreius Ruso a military doctor is transferred to the port city of Deva and has to deal with a range of dark accusations.

Matthew Corbett fans also love the “Sugawara Akitada” Series of novels by I.J. Parker. The series of novels follow the adventures of Sugawara no Akitada, an amateur sleuth that works solving mysterious and complex murder mysteries in 11th century Japan.

What Is The Next Book in The Matthew Corbett Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Matthew Corbett Series. The newest book is Seven Shades of Evil and was released on October, 31st 2023.

4 thoughts on “Matthew Corbett”

  1. Just finished “The King Of Shadows”. This series is amazing. Every time a new book in this series is published I re-read all the Corbett books. Mr. McCammon please keep adding new Matthew Corbett novels.

  2. The next book is finished. The King of Shadows. It is scheduled for release in the first part of 2022. I believe the book after that, book 9, is supposed to be a short story book with those characters, followed by the 10th and final book, Leviathan. A truly fantastic series!

  3. PLEASE keep writing Matthew’s series!!!
    I have not been so happy with books like I am with Matthew’s ever!
    Please keep going!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *