Metsada Mercenary Corps Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Metsada Mercenary Corps is a series of science fiction novels written by Joel Rosenberg. The books follow the exploits of a group of soldiers that live on a world called Metzada that is primarily occupied by the descendants of Israeli Jews.

Order of Thousand Worlds Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ties of Blood and Silver ( By: Joel Rosenberg) 1984 Description / Buy
2 Emile and the Dutchman ( By: Joel Rosenberg) 1985 Description / Buy
3 Not For Glory ( By: Joel Rosenberg) 1988 Description / Buy
4 Hero ( By: Joel Rosenberg) 1990 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Before his death in 2011, Joel Rosenberg was primarily known for his fantasy novels. First making his mark on the publishing landscape via an article about Nuclear Power that he wrote for the New York Times and eventually contributing a few stories to publications like Amazing Science Fiction, it wasn’t until Rosenberg wrote the Guardians of the Flame series that his name gained any significant renown.

The books followed the exploits of a collection of students that had to survive in a fantasy setting. Rosenberg followed Guardians of the Flame up with Keepers of the Hidden Ways.

In between his successful run of fantasy novels, the author experimented with science fiction, eventually producing the Metsada Mercenary Corps series. Even though the series is called Metsada Mercenary Corps, Ties of Blood and Silver, the first novel has little to do with the idea of the Metsada Mercenary Corps.

The Metsada Mercenaries are just that, soldiers of fortune that sell their services to the highest bidder. The group follows a strict code of conduct that compels them to execute their missions to the best of their abilities regardless of the morality of clients that pay them.

Shaped by the Israeli Jewish ways of their ancestors, the mercenaries are driven by a desire to protect their people, and every cent they earn is funneled into efforts that will protect the world of Metzada.

Even though hints of their existence persist throughout the series, the mercenaries only appear in earnest in the third novel. The first book takes readers to Elwere, a city plagued by stark inequality.

Wealth is concentrated in the hands of only a few individuals who enjoy the luxuries of Elwere city while their poorer counterparts languish in the Lower City.

Ties of Blood and Silver could be read as a standalone novel because nothing of significance carries forward to its sequel. The same can be said for Emile and the Dutchman, the second novel in the Metsada Mercenary Corps series.

Though, with that particular sequel, a connection is eventually established between one of its protagonist and an enemy the Mercenaries face centuries in the future.

The Metsada Mercenary Corps series is most commonly praised for its world building. Joel Rosenberg goes to great lengths to explore the cultures and traditions of alien worlds. There is also an abundance of action and adventure, with complaints normally revolving around the character development aspects.

Best Metsada Mercenary Corps Books

The strongest aspect of the Metsada Mercenary books is Joel Rosenberg’s imaginative concepts and engaging writing style, with some of the best books in the series including:

Not for Glory: The soldiers of Metzada are the greatest mercenary unit their galaxy has ever seen. They have garnered their stellar reputation by adhering closely to a code of honor that was built upon the foundations laid by their Jewish ancestors.

When a Metzada Mercenary goes astray, his nephew takes upon himself the task of eliminating him.

The third novel in the Metsada Mercenary Corps series takes readers to a barren world whose inhabitants must fight to survive every day. Tetsuo Hanavi is a man that sets out to capture and kill Shimon Bar-El, his uncle. Shimon was a Metzadan general, one of the best soldiers in their world.

Once he betrays the codes, Tetsuo vows to make him pay, a task that won’t be easy to accomplish.

Hero: The Metsada Mercenaries might be the greatest soldiers in the galaxy but the war on Planet Neuva Terra just might push them to the breaking point. It will take the actions of a young fearful man to maintain the integrity and reputation of the corp.

Other Book Series You May Like

A great series to read is the “Dark Elf War” Series by William Stacey. An incident has caused magic to flow through the world once more. Cassie Rogan thought she was just another college dropout in her early twenties. Then she discovered her magical powers and found a new purpose.

Many readers also love the “Singularity” Series by David Beers. A long time ago, mankind created the world’s first artificial intelligence. After careful analysis, the AI decided that humanity had to change if it was to prevent disaster from befalling the earth. A millennia later, mankind is carefully regulated by the AI. Ceasar is one man that refuses to play by the rules.

What Is The Next Book in The Thousand Worlds Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Thousand Worlds Series. The newest book is Hero and was released on January, 1st 1990.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *