Molly Malone Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Molly Malone Mystery is a series of suspense mystery novels written by Maggie Sefton. The books tell the story of a widow whose efforts in the political capital of the United States place her on a collision course with a deadly cabal.

Get notified when Maggie Sefton releases a new book at

Order of Molly Malone Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Deadly Politics ( By: Maggie Sefton) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Poisoned Politics ( By: Maggie Sefton) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Bloody Politics ( By: Maggie Sefton) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Molly Malone never liked Washington, D.C. She was married to a congressman so she had little choice but to put up with it. But the moment her chance came, Molly left, abandoning all the scandals and the betrayals.

The heroine never expected life to lead her right back to Washington’s doors. But that is exactly what happened. Molly came back a widow with no real prospects for the future. Fortunately, her niece, Karen, was just around the corner.

The two of them had always been close, and when Molly came calling, Karen was happy to help her land a position in the office of a freshman senator. Molly wanted nothing better than to settle into her routine and to give her life the purpose it so desired.

She also hoped to steer clear of all the backstabbing that characterized DC. But her hopes were quickly dashed when someone shot Karen dead. Molly should have mourned and then left it at that.

But her instincts told her that there was more going on than even the police seemed to realize. So she put her ear to the ground, tracing Karen’s final days and digging into her personal life in the hopes of finding some clue that would explain why anyone would want her niece dead.

What Molly found not only challenged her view of the world but it placed her life in mortal danger.

Molly Malone’s first mystery, her attempt at solving her niece’s murder, is explored in Deadly Politics, the first novel in the Molly Malone Mystery series. Maggie Sefton writes cozy mysteries.

That is the reputation she has garnered over the years. So there are people who don’t know what to make of the Molly Malone series which is so much edgier than the stories the author typically writes.

Though, Molly Malone actually feels a lot like Maggie Sefton’s other heroines. She might be a little older and quite cynical, but she is also an accountant—though she never does any real accounting in these books—and she has an addiction to caffeine that she cannot quite break.

People who are familiar with the author’s bibliography will recognize those traits from her other works.

When readers first meet the heroine, Molly is struggling to start her life over in Washington DC. She gets to do just that when her niece dies and she learns about a shadowy organization working in secret to mold the future of the United States.

Molly spends the rest of the series sparring with this new enemy. This is as she comes up against additional mysteries and murders that she feels compelled to solve.

Best Molly Malone Mystery Books

These novels are most commonly criticized for their weak prose and poor dialogue, with some of the best books in the series including:

Deadly Politics: Someone shot Karen dead. The police think it was just another mugging gone wrong but Molly isn’t so sure. Molly abandoned Washington DC a long time ago because she couldn’t stand the scandals.

But events conspired to bring her back. Her niece, Karen, got her a job in the office of a freshman senator. At the time, Molly had no idea that Karen was having an affair with her boss.

When the young woman died, Molly decided that it was time to finally shine a spotlight on Karen’s lover.

Bloody Politic: Someone slashed Natasha’s throat. The junior congressional staffer was on her way to give Molly an important research document when she died. And she wasn’t even the first person connected with the research to meet a gruesome end.

Molly can’t help but think that someone might be targeting her and her colleagues; if her suspicions are right, then she needs to find the powerful players pulling the strings behind the scenes before it’s too late.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Kylie Berry” Series by A.R. Winters is another great read. When Kylie Berry’s life implodes, she leaves her horrible ex-husband and their dreadful marriage behind to start over in the small town of Camden Falls. There, Kylie has to take over the running of her cousin’s café, even though she cannot cook. This is as she solves all the murders that keep popping up on her doorstep.

You may also enjoy the “Dewberry Farm” Series by Karen MacInerney. Lucy Resnick takes all the money she has and moves to Buttercup, Texas where she proceeds to buy her grandmother’s farm. Lucy, a former Houston Reporter, wants to live a peaceful and quiet life. But murder and mystery seem to find her around every corner she turns.

What Is The Next Book in The Molly Malone Mystery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Molly Malone Mystery Series. The newest book is Bloody Politics and was released on November, 1st 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *