Otherworlds Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Otherworlds is a series of short stories and novellas written by Jonathan Moeller. The series tells stories of fantasy and magic set in different times and worlds and also featuring different sets of characters.

Get notified when Jonathan Moeller releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Otherworlds Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Devil's Agent ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Mirrored Knight (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The King of Tears Unnumbered (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Sacrifices (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Tournament of Thieves (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
6 Threefold Gift (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Inexorable (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
8 Blood Artists (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
9 Driven (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
10 Dragons' Wrath (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
11 Knights' Quest (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
12 Bound to the Eye (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first novella in the series, The Devil’s Agent, tells Paul Krieger’s story. Paul is a published author when readers first meet him. But he isn’t happy in the least. Paul believes that he is a loser because all his books have only been self-published.

The man wants to become a real writer. And for Paul, that means having a real publisher accept his manuscripts and then turn them into actual books that people can buy off bookshelves.

But every attempt Paul has made to get into the publishing industry has failed. So when a man called Mr. Woland who just so happens to be the Devil’s literary agent offers to take Paul on as a client, the writer has no other choice but to accept.

Initially, Paul is over the moon at the thought of finally attaining his dreams. But then horrible things begin to happen, first to his close friends and family, and then to the world at large.

It immediately becomes clear to the author that he might have beaten off far more than he can chew.

The Devil’s Agent is counted as the first novella in the series because the title was the first one the author released to his fans. However, you do not have to read The Devil’s Agent first.

All the stories and novellas in the Otherworlds series stand on their own. There is no overarching story stretched out across multiple titles. Each novella and short story has its own unique plot with a brand new cast of heroes, villains, and supporting characters.

As such, you do not have to read anyone novel in the Otherworlds Series to understand the stories that came before or after. You don’t even have to read these books in order if you don’t want to.

Even though Jonathan Moeller’s fans only became aware of the Otherwords books in the early 2010s, the stories in the series were actually first published years earlier. In the beginning, the author wrote, edited and published two short story collections.

The goal was to sell them separately. Like most authors, Jonathan assumed that the collections would be a big hit. However, together, both collections only sold a little over a hundred copies in almost three years.

So it didn’t take the author long to conclude that his experiment had failed. And once he came to this realization, he changed tactics. Jonathan decided to break the collections apart, the goal being to publish the stories individually rather than attempting to sell them as part of a single volume.

The author initially made them available for free on his website as part of a segment he called Free Fiction Tuesday.

He eventually did away with the segment but all the stories eventually made their way to the internet.

There is no real rhyme or theme to the Otherworlds series. The stories and novellas are drastically different, featuring everything from knights and elves to pirates and devils.

Best Otherworlds Books

The Otherworlds series is one of Jonathan Moeller’s least popular collections of novels, though his diehard fans love everything he puts out, with some of the best books in the series including:

Sacrifices: People from all over the world congregate at the Sorcerer’s Carnival because its fun. But Maerlus isn’t like any of them. There is plenty of adventure to be had at the carnival, and no doubt every guest in attendance will take full advantage of the amenities on offer.

But Maerlus has bigger problems. He came to the carnival to play a game of chess, one with his soul at stake. So he cannot afford to lose focus.

Dragons’ Wrath: This one book actually has two stories within. One story follows the exploits of a dragon hunting a terrible creature in Chicago that has the power to end the world.

The second story finds a dragon contending with the notion of its destiny in the grander scheme.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another series to check out is the “Stonehaven League” Series by Carrie Summers. Devon Walker had no real prospects in life. But then her gaming achievements earned her a salaried position as a player for the company that created Relic Online, the hottest game in the world.

When Devon logs into Relic Online using the latest virtual reality technology, she does not expect the resulting sensations to feel so real.

You may also like “The Coven” series by Chandelle LaVaun. Tegan thought she was just a normal girl. Then she discovered that she was a witch and a powerful one at that. Now Tegan must learn to control her powers even as she tries to make sense of her place in the Coven that wishes to control her.

What Is The Next Book in The Otherworlds Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Otherworlds Series. The newest book is Bound to the Eye and was released on November, 9th 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *