Oxford Time Travel Books

The Oxford Time Travel series by award winning author Connie Willis, are books that deal with time travel. The people that travel throughout time, are history students at a future version of the University of Oxford. Rather than just read about what happened long ago from books, these people actually get to go there and see it for themselves. There are both novellas and novels to the series.

Order of Oxford Time Travel Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fire Watch 1984 Description / Buy
2 Doomsday Book 1992 Description / Buy
3 To Say Nothing of the Dog 1998 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first novel in the series, Doomsday Book is a rarity in the time travel genre as it stars a female character, rather than a male. In this world, time travel is restricted to the parts of time that could be altered. This is done by not allowing visits to certain times or locations. The machine will either not function at all, or take the traveler to the wrong point in time (it will either be off by five years or five minutes). This is called slippage. Even some periods that could be accessed could be deemed to dangerous to go to, by some people. The title of the book refers to a record of the Great Survey of parts of Wales and the majority of England that took place in the year 1086.


Connie Willis’s works have won quite a few awards, especially Hugos and Nebulas. The books in this series are no different. To Say Nothing of the Dog won a Hugo Award and a Locus Award, in 1999. Doomsday Book alone won the Locus, Arthur C. Clarke, Nebula, and Hugo. Fire Watch won best novelette at the Hugo Awards and Nebula Awards. Blackout/ All Clear won a Hugo, a Nebula, and a Locus. This is not even to mention the novels that were only nominated for awards.


This next section is for those readers looking to get into the Oxford Time Travel series written by Connie Willis. It will go over the novels Doomsday Book and To Say Nothing of the Dog.

Doomsday Book: This is the first novel in the Oxford Time Travel series that was released in the year 1992. Kivrin has no trouble coming up with an alibi for why she is traveling alone, or getting treated for the diseases that are in the fourteenth century. This on site study of a very nasty and deadly time in the history of humans is easy for her. But not as easy for her instructors (who are in the twenty first century). They have to go through a lot of calculations and monitoring of where Kivrin is supposed to be going. It is a painful undertaking, something not to be taken lightly. Something goes wrong and leaves Kivrin stranded in this long ago time, while her teachers try to get her back to her own time. This is a time of superstition and a time of fear, making Kivrin an angel that brings hope in a deadly period.

To Say Nothing of the Dog: This is the second novel in the Oxford Time Travel series that was released in the year 1997. Ned Henry needs to go to bed, and badly. He needs sleep. This is due to him going back and forth between the twenty-first century and the 1940s so that he can find something called the bishop’s bird stump. All he knows so far about it, is that it is a Victorian atrocity. That and it is part of an attempt to breathe new life in to the famous Coventry Cathedral that was destroyed by Nazis in an air raid over a century ago. Another time traveler, named Verity Kindle, brings back (on accident) something from another time. Ned must go to the Victorian era to help put things right. Not only to save the project, but also to help keep history from being changed.


The “Broken Earth” series written by N. K. Jemisin. This series of novels is set on a planet that has only one continent called Stillness. The inhabitants endure something called a fifth season that involves a climate change of vicious proportions, this takes place every few centuries.

“Rivers of London” series written by Ben Aaronovitch. The first book in the series did really well, got great reviews from critics and earned a Galaxy National Book Awards nomination in the New Writer of the Year category. It involves a young officer who deals with a ghost and is pulled into work in a division that deals with magic and supernatural.

What Is The Next Book in The Oxford Time Travel Collections?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Oxford Time Travel Collections. The newest book is To Say Nothing of the Dog and was released on January, 1st 1998.