Paul Madriani Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Paul Madriani refers to a series of novels written by Steven Martini. The books follow a defense attorney operating out of California.

Get notified when Steve Martini releases a new book at

Order of Paul Madriani Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Compelling Evidence ( By: Steve Martini) 1992 Description / Buy
2 Prime Witness ( By: Steve Martini) 1993 Description / Buy
3 Undue Influence ( By: Steve Martini) 1994 Description / Buy
4 The Judge ( By: Steve Martini) 1996 Description / Buy
5 The Attorney ( By: Steve Martini) 2000 Description / Buy
6 The Jury ( By: Steve Martini) 2001 Description / Buy
7 The Arraignment (By: Steve Martini) 2002 Description / Buy
8 Double Tap ( By: Steve Martini) 2005 Description / Buy
9 Shadow of Power ( By: Steve Martini) 2008 Description / Buy
10 Guardian of Lies ( By: Steve Martini) 2009 Description / Buy
11 The Rule Of Nine ( By: Steve Martini) 2010 Description / Buy
12 Trader of Secrets ( By: Steve Martini) 2011 Description / Buy
13 The Enemy Inside ( By: Steve Martini) 2015 Description / Buy
14 The Second Man ( By: Steve Martini) 2015 Description / Buy
15 Blood Flag ( By: Steve Martini) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Paul Madriani Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Surfing the Panther (Short Story) (By: Linda Fairstein, Steve Martini) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Paul Madriani primarily works with criminal cases, though he has been known to dabble in civil law. The attorney stands out because of the impressive nature of his investigative skills. Paul is the one attorney that can always see the most minute pieces of the complicated puzzles that come his way, and he has garnered a reputation for eliciting successful results out of some truly difficult cases.

Crucial to Paul’s work are the people in his life. They include his law partner Harry, his estranged wife Nikki, and daughter Sarah. Paul initially lives in Sacramento but he eventually makes the move to San Diego.

When Paul Madriani is first introduced in Compelling Evidence, the first book in the Paul Madriani series, he is a rising star looking to conquer the legal arena as a corporate lawyer. Things take a terrible turn when Paul’s short-lived affair with the wife of a senior partner at his firm comes to light.

Paul loses everything, including his place at the firm. However, his past mistakes draw him back into the fold when one of the senior partner’s at his former law firm is murdered and his wife, the same woman with whom Paul was having an affair, asks him to act as her defense attorney.

Any thinking man might have chosen to stay as far away from the case as possible. However, since his dismissal, Paul Madriani had tried and largely failed to attract new clients as a solo lawyer. To survive, Paul is forced to accept his former lover’s request, this thrusting him into contention against an eager District Attorney who is determined to get Paul’s client the death penalty.

The 1992 novel was supposed to be a standalone story. However, it was such a massive success that the author was convinced to write another novel in the Paul Madriani story, this opening the way for the Paul Madriani series.

Each new Paul Madriani book finds the defense attorney making new enemies as his prominence rises in the legal field.

Paul Madriani Books into Movies/TV

Steve Martini has had the pleasure of seeing two of his novels receive live action adaptations. The first was Undue Influence, a book from 1994 that became a two-part TV Miniseries which aired on CBS in 1996.

The Second was The Judge, a 1996 novel that also became a two-part TV Miniseries in 2001.

Best Paul Madriani Books

Steve Martini never expected to write so many Paul Madriani books, but the stories of his first few novels had a far greater impact on readers than he expected, with some of the best books in the Paul Madriani series including:

Undue Influence: Paul Madriani is a defense attorney whose sister-in-law is fighting her way through an unpleasant custody battle with her ex-husband. When the ex-husband and his new young wife are murdered, Paul is drawn into a complicated situation.

The fourth Paul Madriani novel finds Paul fighting to keep the sister of his late wife out of prison. With her ex-husband’s trophy wife dead, the desperate woman is suspected of having been driven by the bitter nature of her custody battle to commit murder.

Paul fights to protect her against the accusations of a determined female prosecutor with a lot to prove. Paul is drawn into the messy situation because, on her death bed, his wife made him promise to take care of her sister.

The Judge: Judge Armando Acosta is in a spot of trouble. He solicited a prostitute, or so it is claimed, and now he is being indicted for it. When Paul Madriani is forced to take the case, he thinks he has a fighting chance of winning.

Things grow complicated when the officer that arrested Judge Acosta ends up dead; now Paul cannot help but wonder if the judge was involved in the murder.

The fifth book in the Paul Madriani series finds Judge Acosta in a situation where he must turn to Paul Madriani, his least favorite lawyer, for help.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Knight and Moon” Series by Janet Evanovich is another beloved series. Emerson Knight is rich, handsome, introverted and rather brilliant. Riley Moon is an aggressive Harvard graduate with a determined attitude. The duo combines their exceptional talents to solve thrilling mysteries.

Fans also enjoy the “Risk Agent” Series by Ridley Pearson. Grace Chu and John Knox are a Chinese Forensic Expert and an American War Veteran who execute freelance undercover missions all over the globe.

What Is The Next Book in The Paul Madriani Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Paul Madriani Series. The newest book is Blood Flag and was released on May, 17th 2016.

3 thoughts on “Paul Madriani”

    1. It seems like he uses them as a placeholder on future titles that have never been released. But there is no book called Unti by Steve.

  1. Wow, this is a blast from the past. I remember reading this back in the 90s and early 2000s and was surprised to see that they are still going strong. The books I read back in the day like Undue Influence were great legal thrillers. There are lots of twists and turns throughout with some big time surprises.

    Can anyone tell me if it’s still like this today? I want to read some of the more modern ones, but I’m not sure. It looks like quite a long layoff in the middle there. The early ones were just so darn good I might go in and read the new ones anyway.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *