Pine Cove Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

As a humorist, Christopher Moore has more in common to Dave Marry and P.J O’Rourke than P.G Woodhouse and the Marx Brothers. A majority of Christopher Moore’s comedy is a social satire since the author likes taking aim at materialistic doctors, corrupt politicians, tourist towns, and new age religion. Many at times, Moore’s satire is biting and unique, but many at times the author tends to get a little bit lazy relying on a more trodden path. Humor is usually not an easy task, but a novelist, Christopher Moore succeeds most of the time; thus he evokes guffaws from time to time and also nods after a succession of sentences. Among the recent list of satirists, it is only Mark Leynar who can rival Christopher Moore’s ability, to mix the eccentric with farce.

Get notified when Christopher Moore releases a new book at

Order of Pine Cove Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Practical Demonkeeping ( By: Christopher Moore) 1992 Description / Buy
2 The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove ( By: Christopher Moore) 1999 Description / Buy
3 The Stupidest Angel ( By: Christopher Moore) 2004 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Pine Cove Awards

None of the books in the Pine Cove series has been nominated for any major literary awards.

Pine Cove Books into Movies

The Pine Cove book series has been selected and is to be adapted for a screenplay. The project is still in the development stages; thus very little information about the project has been released to the public.

Best Pine Cove Books

Practical Demonkeeping: The first book in the Pine Cove book series. This installment is not only good-natured, but it is also funny and exceedingly complicated. This is a tale, which matches a human eating demon against the citizens of an exceedingly small town in California and his rather reluctant master. As the first novel from the already established author Christopher Moore and this time around, the author throws in more twists. In this book, Moore introduces the reader to one, Travis O’Hearn, who is a 20-year-old, who more than 70 years ago was saddled by a demon known as Catch. The catch gave the twenty-year-old, Travis Eternal youth and lots of problems. There are instances when the demon Catch is under the control of Travis; however, whenever he is hungry, Travis is unable to control him.

Travis is more than determined to get out of the deal; thus he goes on a mission to find an incarnation which he will use to return the demon, Catch back to hell. August Brine, the purveyor of fine wine, tackle and baits and the King of Djinns are on Travis side. Other characters who well the cast past the overflowing include Jenny, the waitress, and Robert her estranged and alcoholic husband, an old and tough Mavis, who is the proprietor of the Slug Bar, Effron, the retired woodcarving codger and Amanda, his wife, and Billy Winston, the hotel night auditor.

The Last Lizard Melancholy: The second installment in the Pine Cove mystery series. Just like the first installment, the Last Lizard Melancholy is set in Pine Cove, a sleepy coastal town. Most of the residents in this town are refugees who are trying to get away from the stresses that most residents of Los Angeles experience. Thus, the inhabitants of this town rely on medication, a combination of Prozac and Valium, and therapy for their well-being. One of the local police officers, Constable Theophilus Crowe, lives in a never-ending euphoria by constantly using his smokeless bong, Sneaky Pete. The author has managed to create an exceedingly beautiful picture, though as before this is a picture, which did not last long.

The town’s nuclear plant develops a tiny leak, while at the same time, Mavis Sand, the proprietor of the Slug Saloon, advertises that he is looking for a blues singer and promises to increase her weekly profit. Another plot is the one, which involved one of the local homemaker, who hanged herself, thus in the process prompting Val Riordan, the town psychiatrist, to reexamine her prescription policy and also change her prescription to placeboes without them knowing. All these initial shocks end up becoming fully-fledged tremors, which rocked the small community to its core, thus changing everything in the process. All this could be a baseline for a tragedy; however, the author knows the fact that a jump over and two hop-skips to comedy.

Other Book Series That You May Like

If you are a fan of the Pine Cove series, then you are going to love “The Walking Drum” by Louis L’Amour. As an author, L’Amour has been widely known for his ability to capture the drama and spirit of the authentic American West. This time around, the author guides the readers to an exceedingly distant frontier; the fascinating lands of the 12th Century. Scholar, warrior and lover, Kerbouchard is an audacious seeker of fortune and knowledge bound on an expedition of enormous challenge, danger, and revenge. Over the Russian steppes, across Europe and through the wonders of Constantinople, the protagonist is thrust into the passions, treacheries, dazzling wonders and violence of a magnificent time.

What Is The Next Book in The Pine Cove Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Pine Cove Series. The newest book is The Stupidest Angel and was released on October, 1st 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *