Reckoners Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

“The Reckoners” is a series of popular young adult fantasy novels by Brandon Sanderson the American author. The first novel of the series was “Steelheart” that Sanderson first published in 2013 to much critical acclaim. Brian announced that the series will be a trilogy with the 2016 published “Calamity” the last novel in the series.

Get notified when Brandon Sanderson releases a new book at

Order of Reckoners Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Steelheart ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Mitosis ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Firefight ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2015 Description / Buy
4 Calamity ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series is about a post-apocalyptic world that suddenly has a mysterious object starts to orbit the planet. Out of nowhere, random people start attaining super natural powers that make them immune to laws of physics. Some people imbued with these powers have taken it upon themselves to enslave or prey upon their fellow men, resulting in a catastrophic collapse of contemporary forms of governance. But one man will not give in and joins an underground movement to resist the oppressors.

“Steelheart” the first novel of the series is set a decade past where a sudden burst in the sky above the planet had given random women and men supernatural powers. These people are now called Epics as they crush any resistance to their will, have an incredible desire to suppress, and do not have any friends among ordinary people. But the Reckoners are a shadowy group of people determined to fight off the oppression of the epics. They spend their time studying the weaknesses of their enemies so that they can finally eliminate them one by one.

David a young man joins the Reckoners determined to eliminate the invincible Epic – the so called Steelheart. Steelheart had killed his father years back and David has been studying his subject looking for an opportunity to take him out. It is a great novel that shows why the author won the Best Young Adult Speculative Fiction Award in 2013.


“Steelheart” the first novel of the series was nominated for the Best Young Adult Fantasy 2013, the 2013 Goodreads Choice Awards, and won the 2013 Best Young Adult—Speculative at the Whitney Awards. “Firefight” was nominated for the Best Young Adult Fantasy at the Goodreads Choice Awards while “Calamity” won the Best Young Adult Dragon Award at Dragon Con 2016.


The adaptation of “Steelheart” the first novel of the series is set to be made into a movie.


Firefight: The second novel of the series is one of the best novels of the series. David is looking for answers in Restored Babylon that had once been called Manhattan. Regalia, a high ranking Epic rules the city but David is sure that taking back Babylon Restored will give him everything he needs. Entering a city run by such a vicious Epic is a huge gamble, but one that David is willing to take.

By killing “Steelheart” who had inhabited his revengeful heart, he had left a hole which had to be filled with another Epic. Firefight is the perfect Epic to fill that hole as he David is so obsessed with him and will undertake a dangerous and dark quest to kill his mark.

Calamity: The third novel of the series is an incredible novel that tells of the day calamity befell the world. David’s life has been controlled by his quest to resist the Epics since that historic day. He lost his heart to Firefight and his father to Steelheart, but now he is going after a most dangerous enemy that once used to be his biggest ally – Regalia.

David had always known of his secret but had kept it even when he was struggling to suppress his paranormal powers. But now he has disappeared and become what he was meant to become – an enemy of ordinary humans and most of all the killer of Epics, the man David. But for David all he wants to do is get back his once great friend from the darkness.

Steelheart: The first novel of the series is obviously one of the best. An exciting introduction to the pioneer antagonist Steelheart and his battles against the protagonist David makes for great reading.


Many fans of “The Reckoner” series of novels also liked the “Dred Chronicles” by Ann Aguirre. These are fantasy fiction novels that has been called “Prison Break” in Space. It is more of a prison ship on the Jax Universe where only the strongest survive savage retribution, hostile territories, and warring factions.

Fans of “the Reckoner” series also like the “Magic Ex Libris” Series of novels by Jim C. Hines. These are fantasy fiction novels about Libriomancers who are persons that can draw information, knowledge, and objects from any book in the world.

What Is The Next Book in The Reckoners Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Reckoners Series. The newest book is Calamity and was released on February, 16th 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *