Regan Reilly Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Regan Reilly Series is the work of Carol Higgins Clark. The books fall perfectly within the Cozy mystery genre and follow the exploits of a private investigator by the names of Regan Reilly.

Carol Higgins Clark was always going to cause a stir when she finally decided to produce her own novels. The author comes from a family that is heavily steeped in literature and mystery.

And as the daughter of famed mystery author Mary Higgins Clark, everyone expected big things from her. Interestingly enough, Carol initially had her eye on acting and she pursued it with a passion.

Order of Regan Reilly Mystery Series By: Carol Higgins Clark, Mary Higgins Clark

# Read Title Published Details
1 Decked ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 1991 Description / Buy
2 Snagged ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 1993 Description / Buy
3 Iced ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 1994 Description / Buy
4 Twanged ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 1997 Description / Buy
5 Deck the Halls (By: Mary Higgins Clark, Carol Higgins Clark) 2000 Description / Buy
6 Fleeced ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2001 Description / Buy
7 Jinxed ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2002 Description / Buy
8 Popped ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2003 Description / Buy
9 The Christmas Thief (By: Mary Higgins Clark, Carol Higgins Clark) 2004 Description / Buy
10 Burned ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2005 Description / Buy
11 Hitched ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2006 Description / Buy
12 Laced ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2007 Description / Buy
13 Zapped ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2008 Description / Buy
14 Cursed ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2009 Description / Buy
15 Wrecked ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2010 Description / Buy
16 Mobbed ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2011 Description / Buy
17 Gypped / Scammed ( By: Carol Higgins Clark) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

However, Carol’s mistake was in spending so much time helping her mother with her writing duties. She would often type and re-type Mary’s transcripts. She would even make certain changes to the transcripts under the supervision of her mother. And it wasn’t long before all that exposure to her mother’s work infected Carol Higgins Clark with the writing bug.

Of course, anyone in Carol’s situation might have shied away from writing. After all, considering the fame that her mother had garnered and the fact that every book Mary wrote was a bestseller, Carol wouldn’t have been rebuked for refusing to undertake the difficult task of breaking out from under Mary Higgins Clark’s shadow.

Yet, Carol wasn’t afraid to undertake this challenge and eventually produced ‘Decked’ in 1992. The first book in the Regan Reilly series, ‘Decked’ saw Private Investigator Regan Reilly attend a class reunion in England only for the emergence of her former roommate’s body to upend things.

The Regan Reilly series is Carol’s primary source of fame as an author. The series perfectly manifests the differences between Carol’s writing style and that of her mother. Even though both Carol and Mary write suspense, Mary’s books have always been darker, angsty and almost harrowing.

Carol likes to inject humor into her work and her novels are almost playful. Whether it was an intentional choice or merely an organic manifestation of her personality, the humorous nature of the Regan Reilly books has allowed Carol to secure her own unique legacy within the publishing industry, independent of the image of her mother.

The Regan Reilly series suffers from an overabundance of POVs. Carol Higgins Clark has also been accused of being a little wordy when writing the books, not only exploring the perspectives of too many characters but also going on and on about irrelevant subjects.

Regan Reilly Awards

For her efforts in writing the Regan Reilly series, Carol has received an Agatha Award nomination (1992) and an Anthony Award nomination (1993).

Best Regan Reilly Books

The biggest problem Caro Higgins Clark faces is the constant comparisons with her mother; though, she has slowly but surely built her own identity, with some of the best books in the Regan Reilly series including the following:

Decked: Regan Reilly did not think that she would have to put her Private Investigator hat on when she went to her class reunion in England. But that was before her roommate’s dead body turned up.

The first book in the Regan Reilly series introduces Regan to readers. As the daughter of a mystery writer, Regan is pretty sure of herself, certain that she has what it takes to be a successful private investigator.

However, when a former roommate turns up dead during a class reunion in England, Regan has no time to put her skills to the test. Instead, a previous commitment forces her onto a transatlantic cruise. Fortunately for Regan, the clues to her former roommate’s murder are determined to follow her.

Snagged: When Regan Reilly attends a wedding at South Beach, she thinks that the only excitement that will come her way are the curious chats with Uncle Ritchie, the bride’s favorite relative. But then someone makes several attempts to kill Uncle Ritchie and Regan realizes that Miami might be in desperate need of her services.

The second book in the Regan Reilly series finds Regan playing bodyguard to a man in his seventies. Someone is out to get Uncle Ritchie and Regan keeps getting in their way.

Other Book Series You May Like

Peridale Café Mystery Series by Agatha Frost: These books by Agatha Frost explore the exploits of an amateur female sleuth who, along with loving her cats and running her café, puts her fingers were they don’t belong in her efforts the murders that are afoot in her small village.

Under Suspicion Series by Mary Higgins Clark: This series by famed author Mary Higgins Clark follows Laurie Moran, a television producer who explores and solves cold case murders for a television program.

What Is The Next Book in The Regan Reilly Mystery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Regan Reilly Mystery Series. The newest book is Gypped / Scammed and was released on January, 1st 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *