Under Suspicion Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Under Suspicion” series of novels is written by Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke. The first novel was written solely by Clark, but the sequels are collaborations with Burke. The series is about a program that airs on television that features cold case murders.

Order of Under Suspicion Series By: Mary Higgins Clark, Alafair Burke

# Read Title Published Details
1 I've Got You Under My Skin (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Cinderella Murder (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2014 Description / Buy
3 All Dressed in White (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2015 Description / Buy
4 The Sleeping Beauty Killer (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2016 Description / Buy
5 Every Breath You Take (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2017 Description / Buy
6 You Don't Own Me (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2018 Description / Buy
7 Piece of My Heart (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2020 Description / Buy
8 It Had to Be You (By: Alafair Burke, Mary Higgins Clark) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series began in the year 2014 when the first novel “I’ve Got You Under My Skin”.


For those readers looking to get into the “Under Suspicion” series by Alafair Burke, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “I’ve Got You Under My Skin”, “The Cinderella Murder”, and “All Dressed in White”.

I’ve Got You Under My Skin: This is the first novel in the “Under Suspicion” series and was released in the year 2014. Three year old Timmy saw the face of the man that killed his father. The killer still makes an appearance in Timmy’s dreams, even five years later; piercing blue eyes and all. Laurie is still haunted by something, too; before the killer left, he told Timmy that she was next, then him. Laurie deals with murder once again, as she produces a true crime television show focusing on cold cases. It is going to look into the case of Betsy Powell, who was killed twenty years ago. She was a socialite that was suffocated while in her bed. The murder happened after a party that was thrown to celebrate her daughter and her three friends graduation. It made the news nationwide. It is sure to be a hit, as she gets the surviving guests to cooperate. Each of the friends are hiding secrets, and this is something that Laurie is able to tell right off when filming starts.

The Cinderella Murder: This is the second novel in the “Under Suspicion” series and was released in the year 2014. Laurie Moran is pleased that her pilot for her show “Under Suspicion” (the show is a reality drama) is a hit. The very first episode helps to solve a case. The show recreates the crimes with those affected; the crimes they look into are unsolved murders. She has another case that she would like to do, it is called the Cinderella Murder. A multi-talented and gorgeous student at UCLA, named Susan Dempsey, was found killed; it raised many questions. Her vehicle was parked a few miles from where her body was found. Why is that? Did she ever get to audition at the home of an up and coming director? Susan’s boyfriend does not want to talk about their relationship, which is odd. Did her disappearing have something to do with a controversial church that was on campus? Was there something going on between Susan and her computer science teach; or were they close because she was brilliant in the field? Susan was missing a shoe when she was found, why is that? Alex Buckley (host of the show and a lawyer) helps in the case. Laurie is sure this will bring the show great ratings. Former suspects are Hollywood elite and billionaires in the tech industry.

All Dressed in White: This is the third novel in the “Under Suspicion” series and was released in the year 2015. Amanda Pierce was getting ready to marry her college boyfriend in a grand ceremony in Palm Beach. It was set to take place at the The Grand Victoria Hotel. All the guests and both families are there, and Amanda goes missing. Five years later, and in New York, Laurie finds this story to be a great episode for her show. They try to recreate what happened that night; they get Amanda’s family and friends to help out. They hope to shed new light on what happened, just like they have done in the other episodes of the show. Everyone has a theory about why Amanda went missing. There is a jealous sister, Amanda’s fiance (that married a bridesmaid), playboy groomsmen; there are even rumors about Amanda (the beloved bride) herself.


Women’s Murder Club” series by James Patterson (with Andrew Gross and Maxine Paetro). This series is set in the city of San Francisco, and stars a group of women that solve crimes together. Each woman works in a different profession that relates to crime solving.

“Regan Reilly” series by Carol Higgins Clark. This character features some elements that are nods to Clark’s real life. Regan has a mother that is a famous author, just like Carol’s mother Mary. Regan enjoyed the great life and went to private schools, before becoming a private detective.

What Is The Next Book in The Under Suspicion Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Under Suspicion Series. The newest book is It Had to Be You and was released on April, 16th 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *