Women’s Murder Club Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Women’s Murder Club book series is a group of women who work together to solve murders and crime in the “Mystery Murder Club” series of novels by James Patterson. The novel 1st to Die written in 2001 introduced the Murder Club group to readers. The books are best described as mystery detective novels.

Get notified when James Patterson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Women's Murder Club Series By: James Patterson, Andrew Gross, Maxine Paetro

# Read Title Published Details
1 1st to Die ( By: James Patterson) 2000 Description / Buy
2 2nd Chance (By: James Patterson, Andrew Gross) 2002 Description / Buy
3 3rd Degree (By: James Patterson, Andrew Gross) 2004 Description / Buy
4 4th of July (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2005 Description / Buy
5 The 5th Horseman (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2006 Description / Buy
6 The 6th Target (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2007 Description / Buy
7 7th Heaven (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2008 Description / Buy
8 The 8th Confession (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2009 Description / Buy
9 The 9th Judgment (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2010 Description / Buy
10 10th Anniversary (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2011 Description / Buy
11 11th Hour (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2012 Description / Buy
12 12th of Never (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2013 Description / Buy
13 Unlucky 13 (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2014 Description / Buy
14 14th Deadly Sin (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2015 Description / Buy
15 15th Affair (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2016 Description / Buy
16 16th Seduction (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2017 Description / Buy
17 The 17th Suspect (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2018 Description / Buy
18 The 18th Abduction (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2019 Description / Buy
19 The 19th Christmas (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2019 Description / Buy
20 The 20th Victim (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2020 Description / Buy
21 21st Birthday (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2021 Description / Buy
22 22 Seconds (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2022 Description / Buy
23 The 23rd Midnight (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2023 Description / Buy
24 The 24th Hour (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Bookshots: Women's Murder Club By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Trial (Short Story) ( By: James Patterson) 2016 Description / Buy
2 The Medical Examiner ( By: James Patterson) 2017 Description / Buy
3 23 1/2 Lies (By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Women’s Murder Club brings together women of different professional skills, to fight some of the most elaborate murders in San Francisco. The group consists of Jill Bernhardt, Claire Washburn, Cindy Thomas, and Lindsay Boxer, who are later joined by Yuki Castellano, a defense attorney. The series brings to light the lives of the women including issues such as Lindsay Boxer’s pregnancy, marriage, and medical issues.

The prolog in the first book of the series shows a depressed Lindsay Boxer who is a suicidal because of losing a love interest on a case nicknamed the Honeymoon Murders. The first chapter begins with Phillip Campbell a deranged psychopath killing a newlywed couple at the Grand Hyatt. The chapter then cuts to Lindsay getting the news that she has Negli’s Aplastic anemia, a deadly and rare blood disease. It is during the doctor’s appointment that she gets a call about the Hyatt murders. Soon after the second pair of bodies is found, then a third in Cleveland Ohio.

During the investigations, Lindsay and her friends get to know Assistant D.A. Jill Bernhardt, who becomes part of the team attempting to solve the bizarre murders. What follows is a rollercoaster of twists and turns intertwined with personal struggles that ultimately leads to a shocking finale.


The first book in the series 1st to Die was adapted into a film in 2003 and featured Tracy Pollan as the lead. In 2007, it was announced that 20th Century Fox would syndicate all of the books into a TV police procedural drama going by the name Women’s Murder Club. The TV series aired on ABC from October 2007 to May 2008, and had Angie Harmon in the starring role with James Patterson as co-executive producer.


1st to Die, the first novel in the series, is the most popular. In this book, Patterson provides a deeper emotional context to Lindsay Boxer, the protagonist who learns that she has a deadly disease, while she also has to deal with a double homicide and her new detective partner Chris Raleigh. Finding the burden too much to bear by herself, she turns to her friend Claire for some friendly advice. She soon ropes in Cindy, a reporter looking for an interesting story for her paper and later Nicholas Jenks a crime writer with a penchant for dangerous and kinky sex games, and finally Jill the DA.

Another incredible book in the series is the 9th book in the series The 9th Judgment. When a gunman murders a young mother and her child in a shopping mall, all Lindsay Boxer has to go on with is an ambiguous message in red lipstick scrawled on a vehicle’s windshield. The same night the wife of Marcus Dowling an A-list actor is killed by a burglar who makes away with millions of dollars’ worth of jewels, throwing San Francisco into a panic. Meanwhile, Lindsay’s desire for her partner is growing but with each case, she is forced to put her life on hold and try to save the city. 9th Judgment is Patterson at his enthralling and irresistible best.

7th Heaven, the seventh book in the series, starts with an unexplained fire in a home in one of the city’s leafy suburbs in which a married couple dies. As fire after fire continues to burn down the houses of the wealthy, Lindsay and her partners have to find clues to unravel the mystery. Meanwhile, Michael Campion, California’s golden boy has been missing for a month, and the Murder Club believes his disappearance is somehow connected to the fires and related murders. Suddenly the flames are coming too close to home, and Lindsay has to solve one of the hardest dilemmas she has ever had to, while torn between two men and frightened for her life.


Many Women’s Murder Club fans may also like the “Kovac and Liska” series of books by Tami Hoag. The novels take more of a humorous rather than emotional approach with Nikki Liska a wisecracking detective and her partner Sam Kovac, a no-nonsense detective who work solving crimes in Minneapolis Minnesota.

If you enjoyed the Women’s Murder Club series, you might also like the “Rizzoli and Isles” series by Tess Gerritsen. Maura Isles is a Boston Police Department medical examiner that teams up with Jane Rizzoli a detective to solve a series of mysterious murders in their city.

What Is The Next Book in The Women's Murder Club Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Women's Murder Club Series. The newest book is The 24th Hour and was released on May, 6th 2024.


1 thought on “Women’s Murder Club”

  1. This series is too predictable and full of stereotypes for me. Also it’s too unbelievable. I like drama, but it must be the style of writing or maybe the stories themselves that just aren’t doing it for me.

    Of course the female protagonist is making her way through the ups and downs of life, but of course she has a deadly disease too? Come on. Everything else piled on top of that just continues to make the book more unbelievable. I only read the first in the series but do not plan on reading more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *