Savages Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Savages is a series of crime fiction novels written by Don Winslow. The books follow the exploits of two friends fighting to survive as drug dealers in an increasingly hostile environment.

Get notified when Don Winslow releases a new book at

Order of Savages Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Savages ( By: Don Winslow) 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Kings of Cool ( By: Don Winslow) 2012 Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Savages Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Kings of Cool ( By: Don Winslow) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Savages ( By: Don Winslow) 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Ben and Chon couldn’t be more different from one another. First introduced in ‘Savages’, the first book in the series, Ben is the pacifist of the two. A Buddhist with a unique code of honor and an obsession with the concept of karma, the environmentalist and philanthropist does not necessarily look like a criminal.

However, Ben seems to have a talent for plants and chemistry. A while back, he realized that by putting those two passions together, he had the ability to create the highest grade marijuana on the market.

Ben proceeded to enter into a partnership with Chon, with the pair carving out a career in Southern California as the only drug dealers of significance. By the time the Savages series kicks off, Ben and Chon are living the high life.

While they haven’t exactly checked every box on their list of financial goals, the boys are doing pretty well, and that isn’t only because of Ben’s efforts. Despite his intellectual prowess, Ben would never have succeeded in getting their operation off the ground if not for the contribution of Chon.

Chon was in the military. His time in Afghanistan armed him with all the skills he would ever need to survive in the world. It also left him cold and hollow. Chon doesn’t think much of humanity.

As far as he is concerned, most people are just savages hiding under the façade of politeness and courtesy. Chon does what he can to bend the rules and prove how ineffective they are when it comes to maintaining law and order.

And when push comes to shove, he plays the role of muscle, breaking whatever heads need breaking in his efforts to protect Ben and keep their business operational.

The pair is joined in their activities by Ophelia, the free-spirited girl they share between them.

Ben and Chon try to generally stay under the radar, doing what they can to meet the needs of the rich locals but rarely rocking the boat. Their peaceful way of life is threatened when they attract the attention of Mexican drug dealers who want a piece of their lucrative pie.

Savages Books into Movies

Savages, the first novel in this Don Winslow series, was turned into a movie of the same name by Oliver Stone. Don Winslow helped write the script.

Savages Awards

Don Winslow was a finalist for the Dilys, Barry, and Steel Dagger Awards for Savages. He was also a finalist for the Gold Dagger Award for The Kings of Cool.

Best Savages Books

The Savages books are dark crime dramas with plenty of humor, suspense, sex, and violence, with the best titles in the series including:

Savages: Ben and Chon are drug dealers operating out of Laguna Beach. They sell Marijuana. Ben is the brains of the operation. His marijuana is the highest grade the industry has ever seen. He is also a philanthropic pacifist who has only survived the harsh realities of life because of Chon.

Chon was in the military. He is a hard man with a cynical view of life. He is also the muscle of the team. He protects Ben and Ophelia, the beautiful girlfriend they share.

Chon and Ben’s lives take a dark turn when a Mexican Cartel decides to take their business.

The Kings of Cool: Savages introduced readers to Ben and Chon, two successful drug dealers living the high life with their girlfriend Ophelia. Then they drew the attention of a Mexican Drug Cartel and that forced them into a fight for survival.

The Kings of Cool is a prequel to Savages. The book takes readers back to the 1960s and follows Ben, Chon, and Ophelia during their earliest days. Don Winslow explores their lives as they take on crooked cops and ruthless drug dealers.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Jesse Stone” Series by Reed Farrel Coleman is a great read. Jesse Stone once had lucrative prospects for a career in Major League Baseball. But then a tragic incident changed everything. Now Jesse must carve out a new life for himself even as he solves the crimes and murders that come his way.

Be sure to check out the “Kenzie and Gennaro” Series by Dennis Lehane. Kenzie and Gennaro are Private detectives working out of an old church belfry in the ghettos of South Boston. They take on simple cases that keep taking unexpectedly complex turns.

What Is The Next Book in The Savages Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Savages Series. The newest book is The Kings of Cool and was released on June, 19th 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *