Tales of the Frostborn Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tales of the Frostborn is a series of epic fantasy books written by Jonathan Moeller.

Get notified when Jonathan Moeller releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Tales Of The Frostborn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Orc's Tale ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Soulblade's Tale ( By: Jonathan Moeller) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Mage's Tale (Short Story) (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Thief's Tale (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
5 The Paladin's Tale (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Traitor's Tale (By: Jonathan Moeller) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

They are offshoots of Moeller’s popular Frostborn series. However, while the Frostborn titles are full-length novels, the Tales of the Frostborn series primarily constitutes short stories and novellas.

When Jonathan Moeller wrote the first Frostborn novel, he knew that the series would eventually encompass fifteen volumes.

And if the author maintained his pattern of producing three novels in the series every year, he was certain that the entire story would come to an explosive end in 2017.

Over time, things changed. Characters he initially didn’t care for gained prominence while others faded into the background.

But the author will tell you that, at the end of the day, he was more than happy with the picture that finally took shape.

The Frostborn novels took readers to a world were Arthur Pendragon had led the remnants of Britain’s populace through a gate to a new world.

Arthur founded a new empire in a land inhabited by myths and monsters. A thousand years later, readers were introduced to Ridmark Arban, a hero whose actions saw him stripped of his rank, his magical sword, and his honor.

Abandoned by those he fought to protect, Ridmark spent the Frostborn series working to avert the reemergence of a force that threatened to destroy the world.

The Tales of the Frostborn series is set in the same universe. The Orc’s Tale, the first book in the series is only forty pages long.

At its heart is Kharlacht, a young orc who falls for the daughter of a cruel shaman. To prove his worth, Kharlacht must undertake a perilous mission that could claim his life.

Jonathan Moeller will be the first to tell you that you do not have to read Tales of the Frostborn.

The author has written a multitude of short stories set in the Frostborn universe. They all draw from the ideas and concepts that the author first introduced in the Frostborn books.

However, none of them actually feed back into the main Frostborn story. In other words, you do not have to read Moeller’s short stories to understand the goings on of Frostborn.

That being said, the author encourages his followers to give volumes like Tales of the Frostborn a chance especially if they want to know a little more about the Frostborn universe than the primary plot explores.

None of these novellas are connected. They each feature a new protagonist, supporting cast of characters, and antagonists.

Some of them actually take readers into Ridmark Arban’s past and dig into aspects of his background that were ever touched upon in the central story.

The novellas have been praised for being concise and straightforward and packing large amounts of story into a small number of pages.

Best Tales of the Frostborn Books

Even though the Tales of the Frostborn books have no bearing on the primary Frostborn story, they still have a number of enthusiastic followers, with some of the best titles in the series including:

The Traitor’s Tale: Antenora’s life took a dark turn centuries ago. She fell under the power of a curse but those were merely the consequences of her decision to betray Arthur and the Last Keeper of Avalon.

A thousand years later, Antenora is determined to turn things around, and the only thing standing in the way of her redemption is the Frostborn whose terrible power dwarfs her own magic.

The Thief’s Tale: Jager’s ancestors were great Halfling servants. And all Jager wants is to follow in their footsteps.

However, not quite as noble and honorable as he presumed, Jager’s masters have other plans.

Jager must overcome murder and deceit to achieve his purpose in life.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out “The Elder Stones Saga” Series by D.K. Holmberg. Haern is a headstrong young man who longs to escape the shadow of his father. Daniel is a member of the ruling family who will eventually sit on the Council from where he will lead the city.

Daniel and Haern must stand against the Forgers, an unstoppable enemy that will stop at nothing to destroy their city.

You may also like the “Sanctuary” Series by Robert J. Cane. In the world of Arkaria with its dragons and goblins and titans, Cyrus Davidson was a fairly ordinary adventurer whose life at a small guild took a sharp turn when the fighters of Sanctuary rescued him from a dragon.

What Is The Next Book in The Tales Of The Frostborn Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Tales Of The Frostborn Series. The newest book is The Traitor's Tale and was released on February, 26th 2015.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *