Tawny Man Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

This Series is an astounding set of books where in the novels the character goes through tragedy ,injury and heartbreak. Robin Hobb is an American fantasy writer who is widely known for her series which are set in The Realm of the Elderlings. This 1st book in The Tawny Man trilogy is called Fool’s Errand. The series starts 15 years after the happenings in The Farseer Trilogy were determined.

Get notified when Robin Hobb releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Tawny Man Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fool's Errand ( By: Robin Hobb) 2001 Description / Buy
2 Golden Fool ( By: Robin Hobb) 2002 Description / Buy
3 Fool's Fate ( By: Robin Hobb) 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

15 years have gone- by since the conclusion of the Red Ship War against terrifying Outislanders. After the war , Fitz has roamed the world together with his wolf and Wit-partner, Nighteyes, they finally settle in a tiny cottage which is very far from Buckkeep and the Farseers . The world starts to crush again as The Witted are persecuted due to their bonds with animals. A young Prince known as Dutiful has goes missing just before his important diplomatic wedding to a princess from Outislander. Fitz is told to bring Dutiful back in time for the wedding. Though it seems like a fool’s errand, but the dangers awaiting signal the end of the Farseer reign.


Below is a comprehensive description of two of the best books that are found in Tawny Man Series by Robin Hobb:

Golden Fool: The applauded Farseer and Liveship Traders series established Robin Hobb as one of the best imaginative experts of world-class fantasy. Now, in Book two of her most spectacular trilogy yet, Hobb continues with the soul-shattering account of Fitz Chivalry Farseer. With breathtaking magic, rich characters, and sweeping action, the book brings out the reluctant adventurer deep into the disagreement in an epic of salvation, sacrifice, and indefinable treachery.

The prince is rescued from his Piebald kidnappers and the court resumes with its usual rhythms. A return to isolation is not possible for Fitz Chivalry Farsee. Although he is gutted by the loss of his wolf bond mate, Nighteyes, he must stay at Buckkeep and continue with his tasks as an apprentice assassin to chade. Fitz Chivalry poses as Tom Badgerlock who is a bodyguard to Lord Golden therefore becoming the eyes and ears behind the walls. Because his old mentor is failing visibly, he is obliged to take on more burdens as he tries to guide a kingdom that is everyday drifting closer to civil strife .

Prince Dutiful’s engagement to the Narcheska Elliania who is the princess of Out Islands is filled with tensions. Narcheska herself looks like she is hiding many secrets. Then, amid the Piebald start to threaten and the increasing oppression of the Witted, Fitz Chivalry must make sure that the Prince’s secret is betrayed by no one as the secret that could collapse the Farseer throne. Just as the prince, Fitz also possesses a “beast magic.”

In the meantime, Fitz Chivalry must tell the Prince about the magic which is a hereditary and addictive magic of the Farseers. In the process, they find out that within Buckkeep there is a person who has a wild and more powerful talent for it, but he is an enemy to Fitz and thus this may have dreadful results for all.

Only Fitz’s lasting friendship with the Fool is the only relief. But their friendship is shattered when unforeseen visitors from Bingtown disclose devastating secrets about the Fool’s past. Now, Fitz’s biggest challenge is to survive the unavoidable and violent path that is laid out for him by fate.

Fool’s Fate: Fitz is firmly ensconced in the court of the queen. Together with Chade who is his mentor and the simple minded but highly Skilled Thick, Fitz struggles to help Prince Dutiful on a quest that can secure peace with the Outislands and also help Dutiful to marry Narcheska Elliania.

The Narcheska sets the prince a task of beheading a dragon that trapped in ice on the island of Aslevjal. Not all of the Outislands clans support their effort. Are there any darker forces work Elliania’s demand? The Fool has foretells that he will die on the island of ice, Fitz plans to leave his best friend behind. But fate can’t be easily be rebelled.

The writing of the book is very outstanding and the world that Hobb creates is also magnificent. It is a world that you would not mind living in forever…


If you love Tawny Man Series by Robin Hobb, you might also enjoy the “Origin Mystery” Series authored by A.G. Riddle which is a series with three books namely The Atlantis Gene, The Atlantis Plague, and The Atlantis World. You may also love The “EarthCent Ambassador” series written by EM Foner.

What Is The Next Book in The Tawny Man Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Tawny Man Series. The newest book is Fool's Fate and was released on November, 1st 2003.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *