The Foreworld Saga Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Foreworld Saga is a set of novels written by a bestselling American author of nonfiction, science fiction, and fantasy novels. The series is an alternate history epic one that spans centuries and continents. The Foreworld Saga is about a secret order known as OMVI that is bound to protect humankind. The series includes SideQuests and The Mongoliad trilogy. The SideQuests are novellas or stand-alone stories that build on the encounters of the OMVI.

Get notified when Neal Stephenson releases a new book at

Order of Foreworld Saga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Katabasis ( By: Joseph Brassey) 0 Description / Buy
2 Sinner (Short Story) ( By: Mark Teppo) 2001 Description / Buy
3 The Mongoliad: Book One (By: Neal Stephenson) 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Mongoliad: Book Two (By: Neal Stephenson) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Dreamer (Short Story) ( By: Mark Teppo) 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Lion in Chains (Short Story) ( By: Neal Stephenson) 2012 Description / Buy
7 The Shield-Maiden ( By: Michael Tinker Pearce, Linda Pearce) 2012 Description / Buy
8 The Mongoliad: Book Three (By: Neal Stephenson) 2013 Description / Buy
9 Seer (Short Story) ( By: Mark Teppo) 2013 Description / Buy
10 The Book of Seven Hands: A Foreworld SideQuest (Short Story) ( By: Barth Anderson) 2013 Description / Buy
11 The Assassination of Orange (Short Story) ( By: Joseph Brassey) 2013 Description / Buy
12 Hearts of Iron ( By: Scott James Magner) 2013 Description / Buy
13 Tyr's Hammer (Short Story) ( By: Michael Tinker Pearce, Linda Pearce) 2013 Description / Buy
14 Tyr's Hammer: A Foreworld SideQuest ( By: Michael Tinker Pearce) 2013 Description / Buy
15 Marshal versus the Assassins: A Foreworld SideQuest ( By: M. Harold Page) 2013 Description / Buy
16 Blood and Ashes: A Foreworld SideQuest (Short Story) ( By: Scott James Magner) 2014 Description / Buy
17 The Beast of Calatrava (Short Story) ( By: Mark Teppo) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


These are two best books in The Foreworld Saga series by Neal Stephenson, The Mongoliad (2012) and The Mongoliad: Book Three (2013).

The Mongoliad: The Mongoliad is a fictional story set in the Foreworld Saga. It was initially released in a serialized format online, and via a series of Android and IOS applications but was later re-edited and restricted for a definitive edition published via Amazon Publishing imprint and in Kindle format.

The Mongoliad is an epic story within an epic that is set in the 13th century. The novel features a band of mystics and warriors who raise their weapons of war to save Europe from the invasion by the bloodthirsty Mongol. Inspired by their true leader, these mystics and warriors embark on an epic journey and unravel the history of hidden knowledge and the conflict among powerful societies responsible for shaping world’s events for millennia.

However, the saga approaches the modern world through a wading route. In the late 19th century, an expert in historical swordsmanship and exotic languages Sir Richard Burton is approached by a bewildering group of English martial arts fanatics about translating a collection of ancient manuscripts. Unfortunately, he dies before he finishes his translation work and his efforts were thought to be lost in time until a recent discovery by a team of newbie archaeologists in the ruins of Trieste, Italy. From this collection, a beautiful tale of The Mongoliad was recreated.

The first book in the series attempts to answer the question why the Mongol groups stopped their invasion across Europe. It is an epic story of historical fiction narrated as two parallel stories.

The first story follows a group of knights known as Ordo Militum Vindicis Intactae. They are joined by Cnan, a binder which acts as their guide and also as the readers view into the group. Being an outsider, she is keen about the order and how they live their day to day life, and it is this curiosity that allows the readers to explore that same interest.

The second story is narrated from the Mongol palace where Ogedei, the son of Gengis Khan rules the whole of Mongol empire. Each chapter in the book alternates between the two stories, and within each chapter, the story moves convincingly from one character to another. The first book in the series is full of unforgettable characters, high adventures, and unflinching battle scenes and it ignites a dangerous quest where blades and willpower are tested, and the scope of world-building is redefined.

The Mongoliad started as a social media experiment, combining a serial storytelling technique with a unique level of association between the audience and the authors during the creative process. Since its original release, the story has been rewritten, restarted, and edited under the care of its authors to establish a more cohesive reading experience.

The Mongoliad: Book Three: This is the final book in the Mongoliad trilogy by Neal Stephenson and narrates the gripping personal stories of the medieval freedom fighters to form a memorable, imaginative recounting of a time in history when a world in trouble only relied on the courage of its people.

The power of the Holy Roman Empire Frederick II hangs over the shatters Roman Church as the Cardinals are unable to elect a new pope. Only a mad priest and the Binders have the hope of reuniting the church against a group of invaders.

The third in the series by Neal Stephenson features three plotlines. First, there is the simple priest who is severely wounded during a defeat by the Mongols, the Shield-Brethren and a small group of Shield-Brethren who travel into Mongol territory.


If you like The Foreworld Saga, then you will like these two novel series, “The Scourge” series by Roberto Calas and “Alamut” Series by Judith Tarr.

What Is The Next Book in The Foreworld Saga Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Foreworld Saga Series. The newest book is The Beast of Calatrava and was released on February, 10th 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *