The Grisha Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Grisha refers to a series of action-adventure fantasy novels written by Leigh Bardugo. Grisha also refers to a race of beings that inhabit the Grisha Trilogy.

Order of Grisha Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shadow and Bone / The Gathering Dark 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Witch of Duva 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Too-Clever Fox 2013 Description / Buy
4 Siege and Storm 2013 Description / Buy
5 Little Knife 2014 Description / Buy
6 Ruin and Rising 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Demon in the Wood 2014 Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Grisha Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Demon in the Wood 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Witch of Duva 2012 Description / Buy
3 Shadow and Bone / The Gathering Dark 2012 Description / Buy
4 Siege and Storm 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Too-Clever Fox 2013 Description / Buy
6 Little Knife 2014 Description / Buy
7 Ruin and Rising 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Grishaverse Series By: Leigh Bardugo

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Lives of Saints (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
3 Demon in the Wood 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Shadow and Bone’, the first novel in the Grisha series, was actually Leigh Bardugo’s first published novel. The book takes readers to the Kingdom of Ravka, the primary setting of the Grisha Trilogy.

Alina Starkov, Bardugo’s protagonist, lives in Ravka. Ravka was once a mighty nation. But then the Shadow Fold manifested; a strip of land swallowed by darkness that cut the kingdom into two.

Perpetually dark, barren, and brimming with monsters called Volcra, the Shadow Fold separated Ravka from the sea, leaving the kingdom vulnerable to the whims of its enemies.

When readers first meet Alina, she is undertaking an expedition through the shadow fold to the sea. Disaster strikes when her regiment falls prey to an attack by the Volcra. Her best friend is killed but Alina manifests an incredible power that helps her survive the assault.

The incident reveals to the heroine that she is one of the Grisha, citizens of Ravka with incredible powers led by a being known as the Darkling. When word of Alina’s new power gets around, she is immediately dragged away to the capital where she will be trained by the Darkling and deployed in the battle against the oppression of the Shadow Fold.

The Grisha series chronicles Alina’s journey as she contends with her fellow Grisha, most of whom bear a mean streak, comes to terms with her destiny and juggles the complexities of love.

The Grisha books are fairly typical of the YA genre. Alina, like so many YA heroines, is a relatively ordinary teenager who goes to great lengths to emphasize how unremarkable she is.

This is despite the fact that everyone else thinks she’s smart, sassy, and sexy. Alina, like every YA heroine, discovers a power that immediately makes her special, not only catapulting her into her society’s spotlight but also placing her at the center of a love triangle.

Leigh Bardugo, the author, based her setting for the Grisha Trilogy on the Russian Empire from the 1800s. She borrowed a lot of elements from Russian Culture, tradition and history.

It only took her 37 days to query agents and land a publisher for the first Grisha novel.

Grisha Awards

The first novel in the Grisha Trilogy was nominated for a Romantic Times Book Award and a South Carolina Children’s Book award.

Grisha Books Into Movies

Shadow and Bone, the first Grisha Novel, was optioned for a possible movie adaptation by David Heyman who bought the rights to the book in 2012. Heyman produced the Harry Potter Films.

Best Grisha Books

These novels are both praised and criticized for utilizing those tropes common to the YA genre, with some of the best books in the series including:

Siege and Storm: Alina was just a normal teenage girl when an expedition into the Shadow Fold went wrong and she discovered her magical powers. Learning that she is the sun summoner has since made her a target.

She would love nothing better than to ignore her destiny. But the Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrible new power. Alina must return to her country and stop the Darkling without succumbing to his game.

Ruin and Rising: Ravka has fallen to the power of the Darkling. Broken and afraid, Alina has sought protection from the zealots who worship her. If she wants to rescue Ravka from the control of the Shadow Throne, Aina must create new alliances.

She must put old rivalries to rest, find the firebird and discover the Darkling’s secrets. Only then can she hope to understand her connection to the Darkling and the power she wields.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Graceling Realm” Series by Kristin Cashore is another good read. These books take place in a fantastical realm where monsters roam the land. There are people called Gracelings who have special powers that allow them to kill and control others with ease. The protagonists must maneuver political and social obstacles to bring peace and balance. These books often attract interest because of the author’s anti-marriage, pro-casual sex message.

Be sure to check out “The Lunar Chronicles” Series by Marissa Meyer. These novels take popular fairy tales like Cinderella and Snow White and retell them in a futuristic world that has cyborgs and androids.

What Is The Next Book in The Grisha Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Grisha Series. The newest book is The Demon in the Wood and was released on June, 18th 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *