The Iron Druid Chronicles Books

The Iron Druid Chronicles is a series of urban fantasy books that follow the exploits of a druid attempting to live a normal life in Tempe, Arizona.

Order of Iron Druid Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hounded 2011 Description / Buy
2 Hexed 2011 Description / Buy
3 Hammered 2011 Description / Buy
4 Tricked 2012 Description / Buy
5 Two Ravens and One Crow 2012 Description / Buy
6 Trapped 2012 Description / Buy
7 Hunted 2013 Description / Buy
8 Grimoire of the Lamb (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
9 Shattered 2014 Description / Buy
10 The Chapel Perilous 2014 Description / Buy
11 The Demon Barker of Wheat Street 2014 Description / Buy
12 Two Tales of the Iron Druid Chronicles (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
13 Staked 2016 Description / Buy
14 Besieged 2017 Description / Buy
15 Scourged 2018 Description / Buy
16 First Dangle and Other Stories 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Written by Kevin Hearne, the Iron Druid Chronicles play out over a series of full-length novels and short stories. The books are narrated from the first person perspective of Atticus O’Sullivan.

The primary protagonist of the series, Atticus is over two thousand years old when readers meet him in Hounded, the first novel in the Iron Druid Chronicles. And after centuries of turmoil, Atticus would like to think that he has finally found peace.

The proprietor of an occult bookshop and master to an Irish wolfhound, the tattooed Irishman easily passes for a 21-year-old. And while his handsome visage does attract the odd look, Atticus has succeeded in keeping his head down.

It isn’t until an ancient god comes knocking on his door that Atticus realizes the truth: the past can never stay buried. Atticus made numerous enemies over his long life and some of them have come to collect.

Fortunately for the Irishman, he isn’t without power. As the last druid in the world, Atticus O’Sullivan can draw upon the strength of the earth to fuel his magic. He is also in possession of a powerful magical sword called Fragarach; a magical sword that some gods would kill to possess but with which Atticus never parts.

The Iron Druid Chronicles tell Atticus’ story. His world is one filled with the supernatural; where witches, ogres, werewolves, vampires and the like walk the earth.

Atticus never goes looking for trouble, but trouble always finds him. The dangers that haunt Atticus’ home are not always of his own creation. Sometimes, the wrong elements move in, driven by nefarious goals and personal grudges.

And when innocent lives are threatened, Atticus has no qualms about jumping into the fray and using his strength to maintain peace and order. On more than one occasion, though, the druid will go looking for trouble, many times because he wishes to help a friend.

Atticus is joined on his adventures by a goddess of death, and a team of werewolf and vampire attorneys.

The Iron Druid books have been commended for taking the tropes of the urban fantasy genre and breathing new humorous life into them. They have also been criticized for their sexist portrayal of female characters, most of whom are emotionally unstable sex objects who take every opportunity to throw themselves at Atticus.

Best The Iron Druid Chronicles Books

The Iron Druid Chronicles books have a strong following of readers that appreciate the distinct style Kevin Hearne injects into the urban fantasy genre, with some of the best titles in the series including:

Tricked: Atticus O’Sullivan has made his fair share of mistakes. But he’s lived for over two millennia so that is hardly surprising, and it is his most recent errors that have proven most problematic.

When angry thunder gods come looking for revenge against the last druid in the world, Atticus puts his cunning to good use by convincing a clever trickster god to help him trick the thunder gods into thinking that they killed him.

What Atticus thought was a highly convenient turn of events goes sour when he learns that his savior of a trickster god has forced him into conflict with bloodthirsty shapeshifters in the desert.

Hunted: Artemis and Diana are the goddesses of the hunt, and they have set their sights on Atticus because of a slight for which they blame him. Atticus has been alive for two thousand years so he knows a thing or two about survival.

However, Artemis and Diana are hardly the only threat hounding the last druid on earth. There’s also Loki, a Norse god with plans to unleash Ragnarok who is determined to first remove Atticus from the board.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another book series to check out is the “Alex Verus” Series by Benedict Jacka. Alex Verus is a mage who runs a magic shop in London. He is also part of an invisible world were the supernatural walk, and his ability to predict the future has made Alex highly sought after by those individuals looking to execute missions with impossible odds.

You may also enjoy the “Sword of Shannara Trilogy” by Terry Brooks. These books follow the exploits of Shea and Flick Ohmsford, and their family line as they do battle against dark lords and warlocks in an effort to save the Four Lands from destruction.

What Is The Next Book in The Iron Druid Chronicles Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Iron Druid Chronicles Series. The newest book is First Dangle and Other Stories and was released on June, 5th 2019.