The MacGregors Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The MacGregors is a series of romance novels written by Nora Roberts. The books follow the exploits of a rich and powerful family whose members will stop at nothing to find love and happiness.

Get notified when Nora Roberts releases a new book at

Order of The MacGregors Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Playing The Odds ( By: Nora Roberts) 1985 Description / Buy
2 Tempting Fate ( By: Nora Roberts) 1985 Description / Buy
3 All The Possibilities ( By: Nora Roberts) 1985 Description / Buy
4 One Man's Art ( By: Nora Roberts) 1985 Description / Buy
5 For Now, Forever ( By: Nora Roberts) 1987 Description / Buy
6 Rebellion ( By: Nora Roberts) 1988 Description / Buy
7 In from the Cold (Short Story) ( By: Nora Roberts) 1990 Description / Buy
8 The MacGregor Brides ( By: Nora Roberts) 1997 Description / Buy
9 The Winning Hand (By: Nora Roberts) 1998 Description / Buy
10 The MacGregor Grooms ( By: Nora Roberts) 1998 Description / Buy
11 The Perfect Neighbor ( By: Nora Roberts) 1999 Description / Buy
12 MacGregor Ever After (By: Nora Roberts) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Nora Roberts is one of the most successful authors in publishing history. She has spent decades writing steamy tales of love and sex featuring alpha males and strong heroines.

The MacGregors series is just one in a long list of family sagas from Roberts’ bibliography.

It is within the confines of Playing the Odds, the first novel in the series, that readers meet the MacGregors and their patriarch, Daniel.

Roberts would probably describe Daniel MacGregor as a lovable, meddling rascal. Daniel lived a life most people can only dream of. He attained great wealth, found love in the arms of a beautiful woman and nurtured a collection of healthy, ambitious children.

But now, rather than sitting back and enjoying the luxuries and comforts of old age, Daniel is determined to guide his children towards fulfilling futures. He believes he knows what they need to attain satisfaction.

And it is that belief that drives him to throw Serena, his only daughter into Justin Blade’s life.

The hotel owner had never met Serena before the events of Playing the Odds. He and Daniel were great friends. And when the old man sent Justin on a Caribbean Cruise, the gambler had no way of knowing that Daniel had arranged an encounter between him and his daughter.

Not that Justin took offense with the arrangement. Once he met Serena, he made it his mission in life to win her heart. Of course, it didn’t take him long to realize that Serena was just as stubborn as her father and that it would take a little more work than he had anticipated to claim her for himself.

For Daniel, setting Serena up with Justin was just the start. He wouldn’t rest until every single one of his children had found true happiness.

The MacGregors series explores the love lives of the various MacGregor children. Each novel introduces a new MacGregor sibling. “Playing the Odds’ is Serena MacGregor’s novel.

The spotlight switches to Caine MacGregor in Tempting Fate, the sequel. This pattern continues until every single MacGregor sibling has been catered for.

The formula at the heart of the individual novels isn’t particularly unique. The heroes are alpha males. The heroines are strong but vulnerable women. The two always fall for one another from the moment they meet.

But they must first overcome their own personal demons before they can admit their feelings for one another.

The individual MacGregor installments can be read independently of their sequels or prequels because they each focus on the exploits of a new couple. But some of the characters tend to crossover.

For instance, Caine MacGregor, the hero of the second novel, begins his romantic journey when he meets Diana Blade, sister to Justin Blade, Serena’s husband, and Caine’s brother-in-law.

The MacGregors Awards

Rebellion won an RT Reviewers Choice Award in 1988.

Best The MacGregors Books

These novels have been commended for taking the same old literary romance formula and giving it new life, with some of the best books in the series including:

The MacGregor Brides: Daniel MacGregor is ninety-years-old. But that doesn’t mean he is ready to rest on his laurels. This time, he is determined to see his three granddaughters married off. It is through his meddling that Laura and Royce, Gwen and Brandon, and Julia and Cullum are introduced to one another.

The MacGregor Grooms: Daniel, the ninety-year-old patriarch of the MacGregor family successfully hitched his granddaughters to the perfect men.

But anyone who thought that he would finally rest after that success is very wrong. Now Daniel has turned his sights on his grandsons. They are still single and quite stubborn about their bachelor status.

But Daniel doesn’t care. He will stop at nothing to find them the perfect women.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also enjoy the “Nantucket Brides” Series by Jude Deveraux. If you have followed Jude Deveraux’s work diligently, then you are familiar with the Montgomery/Taggert story. These novels take readers to a magical Massachusetts island from where they can follow a new generation of Montgomery-Taggerts.

Another good series is the Virgin River Series by Robyn Carr. Virgin River is a small, quaint town. Within its confines, people meet, fall in love and shed the loads that have weighed them down for so long.

What Is The Next Book in The Macgregors Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Macgregors Series. The newest book is MacGregor Ever After and was released on January, 24th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *