The Mediator Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Mediator is a series of Paranormal YA novels written by Meg Cabot. The books follow the exploits of a young girl who can see ghosts.

Get notified when Meg Cabot releases a new book at

Order of Mediator Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shadowland / Love You To Death ( By: Jenny Carroll) 2000 Description / Buy
2 Ninth Key / High Stakes ( By: Jenny Carroll) 2001 Description / Buy
3 Reunion / Mean Spirits ( By: Jenny Carroll) 2001 Description / Buy
4 Darkest Hour / Young Blood ( By: Jenny Carroll) 2001 Description / Buy
5 Haunted / Grave Doubts ( By: Meg Cabot) 2003 Description / Buy
6 Twilight / Heaven Sent ( By: Meg Cabot) 2005 Description / Buy
7 Young Blood (By: Meg Cabot, Jenny Carroll) 2008 Description / Buy
8 The Proposal ( By: Meg Cabot) 2016 Description / Buy
9 Remembrance ( By: Meg Cabot) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The story kicks things off in Shadowland, the first novel in the series. Suze, the primary protagonist, is making the move from New York to California.

Her mother just got remarried. And fortunately for Suze, she actually likes Andy. It was because of Andy’s work that the family migrated to California.

But the man makes her mother happy. So Suze is more than willing to make the transition. At first, the heroine is too busy identifying the differences between New York and California to note any of the strange occurrences plaguing her new home.

It isn’t until the girl reaches her room that she sees him, Jesse, a ghost. The undead are nothing new to Suze. As a mediator, they come to her whenever some earthly quarrel prevents them from moving on.

And Suze is normally ready and willing to assist wherever she can if only to push her supernatural visitors out of her life as quickly as possible.

But Jesse is different, a fact that Suze observes. He doesn’t want anything from her and yet he won’t go away either. And it isn’t like Suze can turn to her family for help. They can’t see him.

The protagonist thought that Jesse was merely a bump on her road to a new exciting life in California. She had no idea that Jesse’s arrival was merely the first in a series of occurrences that would turn her life upside down.

The Mediator series tells Suze’s story as she tries to find the perfect balance between her social life and her duties as a psychic.

Even though they deal with the supernatural, these novels are definitely written with young readers in mind.

Meg Cabot places a lot of emphasis on the growing pains that assault her heroine, the challenges she faces at her new school, the awkward dynamics she has to navigate as she makes new friends and enemies, and difficulties that a new stepfather with three stepbrothers typically bring to the table.

Even when the spotlight is thrown onto Suze’s paranormal abilities, most of the ghostly plots are interspersed with conflicts related to Suze’s growing feelings for Jesse, a handsome boy that is very much dead.

When Meg Cabot wrote these novels in the early 2000s, she had every intention of telling an extensive arc of eight or so books.

But the Mediator titles failed to gain any momentum in terms of sales figures. So the author ended the story earlier than she had intended.

Each new installment in the series finds Suze dealing with a new ghost that needs her help to move on to the afterlife.

Best The Mediator Books

These novels might have collapsed under the weight of poor sales figures but most people that have read them have nothing but praise for Cabot, with some of the best books in the series including:

Darkest Hour: Jesse has been the cause of so much heartache for Suze. But his drama is about to make her life even worse.

The psychic is roused one random night to find a 19th Century ghost holding a dagger to her throat.

The woman in question was Jesse’s fiance back when they still drew breathe. Now she wants Suze to stop the construction going on in the backyard. But Suze is more interested in solving Jesse’s century-old murder.

Twilight: Suze thought she understood the extent of her powers. But now she’s learning that she has the capacity to determine who becomes a ghost, essentially changing the course of history.

With her abilities, Suze could change Jesse’s destiny but that would mean removing him from her life forever, and she doesn’t know if she can live with such consequences.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Thunder Road” Series by Katie McGarry as well. These novels tell the stories of the young boys and girls who are drawn into the exciting world of a motorcycle club known as the Reign of Terror. The Reign of Terror brings with it a sense of family and purpose. But it is also a chain that will happily crush the embers of love wherever they ignite.

The “Undead” Series by MaryJanice Davidson is another good one. Betsy Taylor lost her job and then her life, all in the same week. Then she rose from the dead and her new acquaintances told her that she was destined to defeat a power-hungry vampire.

What Is The Next Book in The Mediator Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Mediator Series. The newest book is Remembrance and was released on February, 2nd 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *