Treasure Hunters Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Treasure Hunters is a middle-grade adventure series by James Patterson, the best-selling author of I Funny and Worst Years of My Life that is packed with humor and action. The series tells a tale about four siblings who decide to follow in the footsteps of their treasure-hunting father after he goes missing from their sheep. The story is told from the viewpoint of 12-year-old Bick with the support of his twin sister. The kids hatch out a plan to fulfill their father’s final mission which was to find a missing artifact as well as find a treasure that could help rescue their kidnapped mother. On their adventure, they meet unsavory middlemen, killer surfers, and rival treasure hunters and therefore have to devise plans to survive. The series features plenty of intrigues and over-the-top characters and situations which make it a fun read.

Get notified when James Patterson releases a new book at

Order of Treasure Hunters Series By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein

# Read Title Published Details
1 Treasure Hunters (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Danger Down the Nile (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Secret of the Forbidden City (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2015 Description / Buy
4 Peril at the Top of the World (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2016 Description / Buy
5 Quest for the City of Gold (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2017 Description / Buy
6 All-American Adventure (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2019 Description / Buy
7 The Plunder Down Under (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2020 Description / Buy
8 The Ultimate Quest (By: James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first novel in the series, Treasure Hunters was published in 2013 and begins with the disappearance of the kids’ parents. The kids have never been involved in any serious treasure hunt before, but they now decide to go on the biggest treasure hunt of their lives. They follow clues left by their father to sail from the Caribbean to New York City to finish the quest of their missing parents while still finding out if they could be still alive.


While Patterson has won no awawards for the Treasure Hunters series he has won various other awards. James Patterson has clearly distinguished himself as one of the best authors in the industry as shown by his high worldwide novel sales, the Guinness World Record for the most number-one New York Times bestsellers and numerous awards. His first novel, The Thomas Berryman Number won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel despite being turned down by many publishers. He also received the National Book Foundation’s Literarian Award in 2015 for his passion for helping kids become passionate in reading. Other Awards to his name include BCA Mystery Guild’s Thriller of the Year, Children’s Choice Award and International Thriller of the Year Award.


Treasure Hunters does not have a movie adaptation. However, many of James Patterson’s novels have been turned into movies. Kiss The Girls (1997) was Patterson’s first movie adaptation which featured Morgan Freeman as Alex Cross. He discovers that his niece was missing and consults with a police Detective Nick Ruskin and finally concludes that the disappearance was the work of Casanova, an insane killer. Along came a spider which featured Morgan Freeman as an actor was released into theaters in 2001. Alex Cross (2011) featured Tyler Perry who works as a detective for the Detroit Police Department. His case puts him on a collision with Mathew Fox who takes the character of Picasso.

Others include 1st To Die (2003), Child of Darkness, Child of Light from the novel virgin, Miracle on the 17th Green (1999), Suzanne’s Diary For Nicholas (2005), Maximum Ride, and Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life. He has also credits for a TV series, women’s Murder club.


The first book, Treasure Hunters offered a breathtaking introduction to this adventure series. However, the sequels to this novel, Danger Down the Nile, released in 2014, offered a more hair-raising, thrilling read. The Kidd family is on a rescue plan for their mother who is kidnapped by pirates. The plan takes them as far as the Nile River where they have to cope with angry hippos, wilderness diseases, and other bad guys. Peril at the Top of the World that was released in July 2016 is also another awesome read. Here, the siblings head to Russia to search for missing priceless paintings by Rembrandt and Leonardo da Vinci. While on the hot trail of the thieves, the siblings encounter sneak attacks, double-crossing, and dangerous chases in the sinister St. Petersburg streets.


Many who read this series of books might also be interested in Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson which tells the tale of young boy who finds a treasure map in a dead man’s chest. He takes up the role of cabin boy and goes in search of pirate gold. The Hobbit by J.R Tolkien is another thrilling adventure read about the respectable and reserved hobbit Bilbo Baggins who sets out on a journey to win a treasure that is guarded by the dragon Smaug.

What Is The Next Book in The Treasure Hunters Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Treasure Hunters Series. The newest book is The Ultimate Quest and was released on May, 23rd 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *