Trial and Retribution Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Trial & Retribution is a series of British Crime Procedural novels from Lynda La Plante. Lynda has garnered a reputation for her hard-hitting television crime dramas. Born and raised in Liverpool, Lynda began her journey as an actress with the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Get notified when Lynda La Plante releases a new book at

Order of Trial and Retribution Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Trial and Retribution ( By: Lynda La Plante) 1997 Description / Buy
2 Trial and Retribution II ( By: Lynda La Plante) 1998 Description / Buy
3 Trial and Retribution III ( By: Lynda La Plante) 1999 Description / Buy
4 Trial and Retribution IV ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2000 Description / Buy
5 Trial and Retribution V ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2002 Description / Buy
6 Trial and Retribution VI ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2002 Description / Buy
7 Alibi (By: Lynda La Plante) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

It wasn’t until she produced a couple of television screenplays that her reputation as a crime writer of note was cemented. The author has been writing novels since 1987. Though, it wasn’t until she created her own production company and began to produce highly rated television shows like Mind Games and The Governor that her name began to gain traction with global audiences.

Lynda’s Trial & Retribution books are often compared with the American Television series Law and Order. The books present harrowing crimes and then explore the manner in which the victims of these crimes react, not to mention the complicated steps the police must take to find the perpetrator.

Special focus is given to Detective Superintendent Michael Walker and District inspector Pat North.

Walker is a respected police officer, a man that is acknowledged for his ability to follow his gut instinct straight to the doorstep of the bad guys. Walker’s defining feature is his passion. Walker cannot abide the idea of criminals walking free.

And there is nothing he will not do to put the men and women he believes are guilty behind bars. More often than not, Walker will break the rules and push the boundaries of the law to see justice done.

Walker is a stark representation of the central theme of these Lynda La Plante books. Lynda’s goal is to show readers what police officers have to do, how far they have to go to produce the evidence necessary to see a criminal convicted.

For this reason, some emphasis is given to the events that take place in the courtroom, when suspects are brought before a judge and jury and prosecutors are given the task of using police evidence to prove them guilty.

A driving fact of the Trial & Retribution books is the guilt and the anger that assaults Walker whenever his evidence is unable to sway the judge, and the men and women he’s certain are guilty go free.

Walker is left pondering the options that are left to him in these situations, especially when certain cases where thrown out of court because of the misconduct of the police.

Pat North typically plays the role of Walker’s love interest. Their relationship is fraught with complications because of Walker’s romantic history and Pat’s timid personality.

Trial & Retribution Books into Movies/TV

A Trial & Retribution television drama series premiered in 1997 on ITV. The show was directly overseen by Lynda La Plante who was riding on the glory of the success she had achieved with Prime Suspect, another television series.

The television show starred David Hayman as DS Michael Walker and Kate Buffery as DI Pat North. The show ended in 2014.

Best Trial & Retribution Books

Lynda La Plante’s prior success is such that people have always compared her Trial & Retribution series to her previous works, a comparison that hasn’t always ended positively for Trial & Retribution, with some of the best books in the series including:

Trial & Retribution IV: DS Michael Walker was always willing to do whatever it took to get the right man behind bars. But now a criminal has used a claim of police misconduct to get his appeal granted. Now everyone wants to know if DS Walker framed an innocent man.

This novel finds DS Walker and DI Pat North’s relationship taking a negative turn, this at a time when they are finally living together. Her attempts to acquire leadership training in preparation for leadership roles down the line see Pat North assigned the task of investigating DS Walker for misconduct.

Trial & Retribution V: When the remains of a teenager are found at a North London house, DS Mike Walker isn’t happy to be assigned the case. Not only is the case too low profile for his liking but Walker doesn’t like being partnered with the ex-boyfriend of Pat North, his current partner.

Meanwhile, Pat is struggling to juggle the rigors of her swift ascension through the ranks with the mental strain of losing her bay. Walker’s current case only adds to the stress in their relationship.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “DI Jack Frost” Series by R.D. Wingfield is another good read. Jack Frost is sloppy, untidy and very poor with paperwork. He is also highly intelligent, at least with regards to solving mysteries. The detective inspector is exactly what Denton, England needs to keep the criminal off the streets.

You’ll probably also enjoy the “Kate Burkholder” Series by Linda Castillo. Kate Burkholder left her Amish roots behind in the wake of a harrowingly violent experience. Now Kate is compelled to go back to her hometown and serve as Chief of Police, using her wealth of experience to bring criminals to justice.

What Is The Next Book in The Trial And Retribution Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Trial And Retribution Series. The newest book is Alibi and was released on May, 7th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *