World War II: 1939-1945 Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

1939-1945 Series otherwise known as the World War II is a series of novels by award-winning historical novelist Jeff Shaara. The first novel in the series was the highly popular title “The Rising Tide” that was first published in 2006.

Get notified when Jeff Shaara releases a new book at

Order of World War II: 1939-1945 Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Rising Tide ( By: Jeff Shaara) 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Steel Wave ( By: Jeff Shaara) 2008 Description / Buy
3 No Less Than Victory ( By: Jeff Shaara) 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Final Storm ( By: Jeff Shaara) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The World War II series of novels follows the happenings of the Second World War. The series of novels is an intimate portrait of the tireless efficiency of the officers of the war such as Bernard Montgomery, George Patton and Dwight D. Eisenhower, and the ordinary soldiers working under them. The series is set in the deserts and desolate hills from Europe to Africa to Asia, where allied forces battle crafty Nazi generals such as Rommel.

“The Rising Tide”, the first novel in the series is one of the most poignant chronicles of the Second World War. Shaara captures the painstaking detail, historical perspectives and immediacy, as Hitler takes most of Europe leaving England struggling to survive. The tide turns with the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, which drives the US into the war and gives Britain a last hope for survival.

The novel tells the battle stories of the rugged Sicily countryside and the unforgiving deserts of North Africa, as told by some of the most known and the most obscure of participants. What follows is an intimate and unprecedented telling of the war as the American and British forces unleash the paratrooper on the soft underbelly of the Nazi machine. “The Rising Tide” is an excellently told novel that shows just why the author won the 2005 W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction.


“The Steel Wave”, the second novel in the series was declared a 2009 Notable Book by The American Library Association’s Reference and Users Services Association.


The Rising Tide: The first novel in the series is one of the very best of novels that Jeff Shaara ever wrote. Dwight D. Eisenhower starts out as an obscure administrator to become one of the most tireless and efficient generals, qualities that ultimately won the war for the allies. The author portrays the clashing personality and styles of generals from Omar Bradley to Mark Clark and George Patton as they confront General Rommel, otherwise known as the Desert Fox.

Never told by many writers of World War II, General Rommel is a battlefield genius whose exploits that inflicted one of the most humiliating defeats on the allies, making for some interesting reading. Shifting perspectives from the commanders to the paratroopers to the tank drivers, Shaara brings to life the tragedy and heroism of the World War II battlefield.

The Steel Wave: The Notable award-winning second novel in the series “The Steel Wave” picks up where the first left off. Eisenhower commands a unique blend of allies that must prove they have what it takes to fight together and defeat the might of the German machine. Meanwhile, General Rommel brilliant as he is must fight a war on two fronts; an increasingly insane Adolf Hitler at home, and the formidable allies on the French coast. Telling the stories of generals, GIs, and paratroopers, Shaara excellently tells the story of the most critical juncture of the war that shaped the course of the war, and ultimately the history of the world.

No Less Than Victory: The third novel of the series is a brilliant portrayal of the harrowing and unforgettable final act of World War II. Shaara presents one of the most riveting narrative through the eyes of the young GIs, Patton, and Eisenhower who confront the last of the German forces. Some of the soldiers they face up to include Gerd von Rundstedt and Albert Speer, Hitler’s golden boy. The novel takes one on a journey chronicling the end of a lunatic’s dreams and the undying spirit of the soldier to take him on.


Most fans of the World War II series also love “The Corps” Series of novels by W.E.B. Griffin. The series of novels follows the adventures of a fighting corps of men from Korea to World War II to U.S. Marine Corps.

Many fans of the World War II series enjoyed the “U.S. Civil War” series of novels by Harold Coyle. The novels are a gripping narrative of the two brothers in New Jersey, who cannot afford to choose sides in the Civil War, if they are to maintain their business, wealth, and power.

What Is The Next Book in The World War Ii: 1939-1945 Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The World War Ii: 1939-1945 Series. The newest book is The Final Storm and was released on May, 17th 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *