Alex Kava Books

Alex Kava is the penname of an American woman of letters whose birth name is Sharon M. Kava. Kava, who is a quinquagenarian, was born in June 1960, and her birthplace is Silver Creek upon Nebraska. For her undergraduate studies, Alex Kava went to the Omaha-based College of Saint Mary wherein she got a bachelor’s degree; Kava graduated in 1982 from the said institution wherein she pursued art and English, hard on the heels of clinching a scholarship. Alex Kava has worked in various sectors including the advertising industry and other sectors such as graphic designing, public relations, and in a healthcare setting.

Order of Maggie O'Dell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Perfect Evil 2000 Description / Buy
2 Split Second 2001 Description / Buy
3 The Soul Catcher 2002 Description / Buy
4 At the Stroke of Madness 2003 Description / Buy
5 Exposed 2008 Description / Buy
6 Black Friday 2009 Description / Buy
7 Hotwire 2011 Description / Buy
8 Damaged 2011 Description / Buy
9 Damaged 2011 Description / Buy
10 Fireproof 2012 Description / Buy
11 Stranded 2013 Description / Buy
12 Off the Grid 2016 Description / Buy
13 Before Evil 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Ryder Creed Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Breaking Creed 2014 Description / Buy
2 Silent Creed 2015 Description / Buy
3 Reckless Creed 2016 Description / Buy
4 Lost Creed 2018 Description / Buy
5 Desperate Creed 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Alex Kava Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 One False Move 2004 Description / Buy
2 Whitewash 2007 Description / Buy
3 A Breath of Hot Air 2010 Description / Buy
4 Slices of Night 2017 Description / Buy
5 Goodnight, Sweet Mother 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Alex Kava Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Storm Season 2012 Description / Buy
2 Off the Grid 2016 Description / Buy


# Read Title Published Details
1 Slices of Night 2011 Description / Buy
2 Storm Season 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In her teenage, Alex Kava penned short fiction on the blank side of calendars. However, she started writing on a serious note in the mid-1990s. Incidentally, Kava has co-authored literary work with American authors J. T. Ellison and Erica Spindler. Even then it was not until 2000 when Alex Kava debuted; the debut has since been expounded to form the aptly named Maggie O’Dell series which comprises of eleven main works and, in general, has 19 works, including omnibuses and sequels and prequels. There are about sixty editions of Kava’s debut novel. However, the first edition was originally published in June 2000, entitled A Perfect Evil. Kava’s debut is shelved under the mystery (particularly crime subgenre), thriller, suspense, and fiction genres.

As the title of the series points out, Maggie O’Dell is the featured central character in the first book, A Perfect Evil, and the entire Maggie O’Dell series. Meet protagonist Maggie O’Dell. O’Dell is a veteran FBI agent who specializes in offender profiling. She is attracted to her partner, despite the fact that she is married.

The first book authored by Alex Kava, A Perfect Evil, revolves around a series of murders wherein the presumed serial murderer was gunned down previously. However, it is belatedly realized that the real serial killer is still on the prowl. Maggie O’Dell teams up with Sheriff Nick Morrelli in their quest for nabbing the culprit. Matters are complicated by the mysterious disappearance of Morrelli’s nephew, evident that the culprit luxuriates in outdoing the duo. The ensuing story as the duo tries to unmask an intelligent killer renders it thrilling and suspenseful in equal measure.

Alex Kava Awards

Alex Kava has been awarded a few literary awards and her books have been featured in bestselling listings compiled by major publications. For instance, Alex Kava published a novel titled Stranded. The 2013 novel, which is the eleventh in the Maggie O’Dell series, clinched two awards. In 2013, the said book clinched the Florida Book Award, in the Popular Fiction category, wherein it got the Bronze Medal Award. In 2014, Kava bagged the Nebraska Book Award, in the Fiction category, courtesy of the 2013 book named Stranded.

Alex Kava’s 2007 book titled Whitewash was referred to as a notable thriller by the book-oriented online publication called January Magazine. Moreover, Kava’s 2001 novel called One False Move featured in the 2006 selections of One Book One Nebraska.

Best Alex Kava Books

The following are the best books in Alex Kava’s bibliography. The first one is the aforementioned novel entitled A Perfect Evil.

One False Move: The second one is the novel titled One False Move. This is all about a mother and son, two seasoned con artists; an overconfident former murder convict sweet-talks them into an ill-fated bank robbery, prompting the trio to run for it.

Stranded: The third one is the award-winning book named Stranded. This book revolves around a serial killer who targets hapless travelers and truck drivers. The killer has been meticulous in his killings for tens of years; he disposes his victim’s bodies carefully. However, protagonist Maggie O’Dell and his colleague chance upon the corpse of a youthful woman and, beside it, evidence in form of a map. The clued law enforcer launch a countrywide manhunt aimed at a remorseless madman hellbent on killing over and over again.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked the books authored by Alex Kava also liked the following series of books. The first one is called “The Malones”, authored by Erica Spindler. This series predominantly features protagonist Stacy Killian, a homicide investigator. The second one is called “Taylor Jackson” series, penned by J. T Ellison. Comprising of eight books, this series features protagonist Taylor Jackson, a homicide lieutenant pursuing serial murderers. The third one is named “Jo Beckett” series, authored by Meg Gardiner. This tetralogy features protagonist Jo Beckett, a San Francisco-based forensic psychiatrist.

When Does The Next Alex Kava book come out?

Alex Kava doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Desperate Creed and was released on August, 8th 2019. It is the newest book in the Ryder Creed Series.