Maggie O’Dell Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Maggie O’Dell” series is written by author Alex Kava. Maggie O’Dell stars in this suspense series; she is a smart, funny, crime profiler, and just an all around lovely woman. She stares down, through the missions she takes on, criminals that would take her life in an instant.

Order of Maggie O'Dell Series

1A Perfect Evil2000Description / Buy
2Split Second2001Description / Buy
3The Soul Catcher2002Description / Buy
4At the Stroke of Madness2003Description / Buy
5A Necessary Evil2006Description / Buy
6Exposed2008Description / Buy
7Black Friday2009Description / Buy
8Damaged2010Description / Buy
9Hotwire2011Description / Buy
10Fireproof2012Description / Buy
11Stranded2013Description / Buy
12Before Evil2017Description / Buy
13Goodnight, Sweet Mother2017Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Maggie O'Dell Series

1Before Evil2017Description / Buy
2A Perfect Evil2000Description / Buy
3Split Second2001Description / Buy
4The Soul Catcher2002Description / Buy
5At the Stroke of Madness2003Description / Buy
6A Necessary Evil2006Description / Buy
7Exposed2008Description / Buy
8Black Friday2009Description / Buy
9Damaged2010Description / Buy
10Hotwire2011Description / Buy
11Fireproof2012Description / Buy
12Stranded2013Description / Buy
13Goodnight, Sweet Mother2017Description / Buy

Order of Maggie O'Dell Collections

1Off the Grid2016Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

This series started in the year 2000, when “A Perfect Evil” was released, it was also Alex’s first novel that she had published. The series comes from Alex’s love of true crime stories. She gets reliable details from experts in different areas, as she is not a detective herself. Ryder Creed is a dog handler and the star of a spin off series that Maggie is a minor character in.


For those readers looking to get into the “Maggie O’Dell” series by Alex Kava, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “A Perfect Evil”, “Split Second”, and “Exposed”.

A Perfect Evil: This is the first novel in the “Maggie O’Dell” series and was released in the year 2000. Platte City, Nebraska’s citizens are paralyzed after three little boys are killed in a brutal fashion. They realize that the man executed for the crimes was just a copycat, and another murder makes them realize that the actual killer still out there.

Sheriff Nick Morrelli knows that the case needs to be solved quickly, but Maggie O’Dell narrows in on the true evil behind the murders. It is a revelation that is much more frightening when Morrelli’s very own nephew disappears.

Maggie knows that the killer enjoys himself while killing and the way he is able to stay a step ahead of her. It makes things more personal as the hours tick by. Somewhere out there, is a killer and he has a perfect and pure evil filled heart.

Split Second: This is the second novel in the “Maggie O’Dell” series and was released in the year 2001. The Collector has the ritual of collecting his victims and then disposes of them in very heinous ways. Maggie has tracked him for two years, and it concludes with their playing cat and mouse. Albert Stucky escapes from prison and has a new game set up for Maggie to play.

Some say that Maggie is not as sharp at profiling as she once was. Since she got Stucky, she has been battling a lot of guilt and having nightmares about the victims she could not save. She is no longer in the field with Stucky loose once more. She realizes that it will not be long before she gets pulled back in, as she is the only one that is able to see so clearly into the madman’s mind. That is just what he is counting on this time around.

Stucky’s trail of victims gets closer and closer to Maggie herself, and gets put back onto the case under Special Agent R. J. Tully’s supervision. They both race against time to try to catch the killer that keeps one step ahead. She finds that she is pushed to her limit. Is her desire to catch this killer become too personal and one of vengeance? Has Stucky’s goal been to make her a monster?

Exposed: This is the sixth novel in the “Maggie O’Dell” series and was released in the year 2008. Maggie and Assistant Director Cunningham think that they are responding to a threat that was made at Quantico. They walk right into a trap, instead. Before they know what is going on, they are left to a killer’s mercy, one that can hit anyone at any time. No one is able to predict who will be next, not until it is too late anyway.

The way the killer works, it would seem he knows a lot about the way criminal minds work. He incorporates things from killers he admires: something the Unabomber left, a phrase that was used by the Beltway Snipers, and a method of delivery that was similar to the one that the Anthrax Killer used. The weapon he uses is a deadly virus, one that is all but invisible and it is something no one expected. The victims are chosen with a vengeful precision, not random at all like they appear to be. The vaccine has never been tested and it is limited.


Be sure to check out the “Baltimore” series by Karen Rose. Set in Baltimore, Maryland, this is a part of her ongoing romantic suspense novels. All of them are in the same fictional universe she created and have their connections.

Another great series is the “Will Trent” series by Karin Slaughter. Will Trent stars in these books and works at the Georgia Bureau of Investigation working their major cases. Later, he was recruited to work in their Special Criminal Apprehension Team.

What Is The Next Book in The Maggie O'dell Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Maggie O'dell Series. The newest book is Goodnight, Sweet Mother and was released on December, 1st 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *