Spencer Quinn Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Spencer Quinn is the pen name of an American penman. The author’s legal name is Peter Abrahams. Quinn, who was born in June 1947 in Massachusetts, is a sexagenarian. He schooled at Williams College. His bountiful writing career was influenced by notable literary figures including Russian-American scribbler Vladimir Vladimirovich Nabokov, American-Canadian author Kenneth Millar, and English novelist Henry Graham Greene.

Get notified when Spencer Quinn releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Chet and Bernie Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dog On It 2008 Description / Buy
2 Thereby Hangs a Tail 2009 Description / Buy
3 To Fetch a Thief 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Dog Who Knew Too Much 2011 Description / Buy
5 A Fistful of Collars 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Sound and the Furry 2013 Description / Buy
7 Paw and Order 2014 Description / Buy
8 Scents and Sensibility 2015 Description / Buy
9 Heart of Barkness 2019 Description / Buy
10 Of Mutts and Men 2020 Description / Buy
11 Tender is the Bite 2021 Description / Buy
12 It's a Wonderful Woof 2021 Description / Buy
13 Bark to the Future 2022 Description / Buy
14 Up on the Woof Top 2023 Description / Buy
15 A Farewell to Arfs 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Chet and Bernie Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Cat Was Involved (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Iggy Chronicles, Volume One (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Tail of Vengeance (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Santa 365 (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
5 Short Tails 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Bowser and Birdie Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Woof 2015 Description / Buy
2 Arf 2016 Description / Buy
3 Bow Wow 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Queenie & Arthur Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ruff vs. Fluff 2019 Description / Buy
2 Paws vs. Claws 2019 Description / Buy
3 Bark vs. Snark 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Spencer Quinn Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Right Side 2017 Description / Buy
2 Mrs. Plansky's Revenge 2023 Description / Buy

Spencer Quinn Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Up All Night 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Spencer Quinn’s childhood was instrumental in his writing ambition. For example, he was a voracious reader from a tender age and his grandmother ensured that he had a constant supply of book, especially during summer. Quinn, who has had a stint as a TV producer and is domiciled in Cape Cod, started penning standalone books, then started writing the young readers’ niche, before his work segued into authoring series of books.

Among Spencer Quinn’s earliest books is Lights Out! which was published in 1994. However, Quinn is famed for the Chet and Bernie Mystery series wherein the narrator is a canine. There are more than thirty editions of the first book in the serialized Chet and Bernie Mysteries. The first book’s foremost edition was initially published in 2008, titled Dog on It, and the entire series is shelved as mystery, thriller, humor, and animal fable genres.

The first book in the Chet and Bernie Mystery series, Dog on It, features two protagonists called Chet and Bernie. Incidentally, both main characters are dogs and the book is set in Tucson, Arizona. The former is a canine narrator in the series while the latter is a private detective. Bernie is a divorcee and saddened by the fact that he was not granted his son’s custody rights. He also operates a fledgling organization called Little Detective Agency but business is at all-time low. Fortunately for the duo, they take a leisurely walk at night when they chance upon a distressed neighbor called Cynthia Chambliss whose teenage daughter, Madison, is apparently missing. Chambliss pays them handsomely to find Madison but, surprisingly, the daughter surfaces before disappearing again. With a little sleuthing, they realize that Madison has associated herself with the Russian mafia. And if Chet and Bernie do not tread softly, they may not walk out on a limb.

Spencer Quinn Awards

Books authored by Spence Quinn clinched or have been nominated for prestigious prizes. They have also been praised by equally notable authors. For instance, in 2010, Quinn clinched the Edgar Award in the Best Young Adult category, thanks to his 2009 book entitled Reality Check. In 2005, his 2005 novel called Down the Rabbit Hole clinched the Agatha Award in the Best Children’s category; the said book was also, in 2007, nominated for the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award.

Furthermore, his book called Lights Out! secured Spencer Quinn a nomination for the Best Novel section of the Edgar Awards. In 2006, his book called Oblivion was among the nominees for the Shamus Award, specifically in the Best P.I. Hardcover Novel category. Celebrated author Stephen King opined that, in the context of the suspense niche, Spencer Quinn is his preferred American writer.

Spencer Quinn Books into Movies

The Fan, a book which Spencer Quinn published in 1995, has since been adapted for the screen. The crime film, which was directed by Tony Scott, was released in 1996; and starred Robert De Niro, who played as Gil Renard, alongside Wesley Snipes who appeared as Bobby Rayburn.

Best Spencer Quinn Books

These are Spencer Quinn’s best three books by virtue of winning an award or film adaptation.

Reality Check: The first one is Reality Check; it features an intelligent and famed American football star, called Cody, whose life in out-and-out fine until his heartthrob is transferred to a far-flung boarding school, prompting him to stop schooling; then problems come in his train.

Down the Rabbit Hole This book features protagonist Ingrid who is fingered for murder for her ill-timed and ill-fated visits, prompting her to start sleuthing so as to exonerate herself.

The Fan: This book features Bobby Rayburn, who has a bright future at Sox baseball team, and a doomed salesman-cum-divorcee called Gil Renard, who is looking up to Rayburn for what eventually becomes an impossible salvation.

Other Book Series You May Like

Die-hard fans of books authored by Spencer Quinn books also enjoyed reading these ones. The first one is the “Andy Carpenter” series authored by David Rosenfelt. The featured protagonist, Andy Carpenter, is an attorney and has a great love for animals and people, something which sees him, together with a dog called Tara, save them from being sentenced to death. The second one is called “Dog Lover’s Mystery” and is penned by Susan Conant. The main character is Holly Winter, who is a Massachusetts-based journalist-cum-dog trainer.

Another sought-after series is titled “Rachel Alexander & Dash” which is penned by Carol Lea Benjamin. It revolves around Rachel Alexander and her dog named Dashiell, who team up for crime-solving missions. The dog assists Rachel in winning the trust of those she meets in her quest and in solving criminal cases by scenting.

When Does The Next Spencer Quinn book come out?

The next book by Spencer Quinn is A Farewell to Arfs and will be released on August, 6th 2024. It is the newest book in the Chet and Bernie Mysteries Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *