A Series of Unfortunate Events Books

A Series of Unfortunate Events are children books written by bestselling author Daniel Handler using pseudonym Lemony Snicket. The novels follow wavy lives of Sunny Baudelaire and Violet Klaus.

Order of A Series of Unfortunate Events Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Bad Beginning 1999 Description / Buy
2 The Reptile Room 1999 Description / Buy
3 The Wide Window 2000 Description / Buy
4 The Miserable Mill 2000 Description / Buy
5 The Austere Academy 2000 Description / Buy
6 The Ersatz Elevator 2001 Description / Buy
7 The Vile Village 2001 Description / Buy
8 The Hostile Hospital 2001 Description / Buy
9 The Carnivorous Carnival 2002 Description / Buy
10 The Slippery Slope 2003 Description / Buy
11 The Grim Grotto 2004 Description / Buy
12 The Penultimate Peril 2005 Description / Buy
13 The End 2006 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of A Series of Unfortunate Events Companion Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Blank Book 2004 Description / Buy
3 Behind the Scenes with Count Olaf (Short Story) 2004 Description / Buy
4 The Notorious Notations 2006 Description / Buy
5 The Beatrice Letters (Short Story) 2006 Description / Buy
6 Horseradish 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

After the death of their parents in a fire, the two children are placed under the care of their murderous relative Count Olaf who tries to steal their inheritance and later arranges several disasters as the two sons try to flee. As the plot line progresses, the Baudelaires continues to confront various mysteries surrounding their family and conspiracies that involve a secret society known as V.F.D which has connections to both Olaf and their parents as well.

Absurdist sexuality characterizes the series, and Victorian Gothic tones and the books are remarkably known for their sarcastic storytelling, dark humor and anachronistic elements and numerous literary and cultural illusions. These books have been classified ass meta-fictional and postmodern writing, while the plot evolution in the later novels is cited as an examination of the psychological process of change from the innocence of childhood to the complexity of maturity. Since the release of the debut novel The Bad Beginning, in 1999, the books have achieved tremendous popularity as well as commercial success globally spawning a video game, a film, a TV series on Netflix and assorted merchandise. Overall the thirteen books in the series have sold over 65 million copies and have been translated into 41 languages.


Lemony Snicket has won and also been nominated for various awards due to her proficiency in the publication world. The Bad Beginning, the series opener, has won multiple awards including the Nevada Young Readers Award, Colorado Children’s Book Award, and the Nene Award. The book sequels have garnered multiple nominations and awards. Among these being IRA/CBC Children Choice Awards, received for The Hostile Hospital, The Wide Window, and The Vile Village. The Penultimate Peril also won the 2006 Quill Book Award and Nickelodeon Kid’s Choice Award’s. Subsequently, The Ersatz Elevator was listed a Book Sense 76 Pick.


Netflix collaborated with Paramount Television and in November 2014 announced that it had plans to adapt the series into an original television series with a total number of 26 episodes, three seasons with two episodes dedicated to each single novel. In 2016 Patrick Warburton and K. Todd Freeman were featured as Lemony Snicket and Mr. Poe. The first season is made up of eight episodes that covered the first four books and premiered on Netflix on Jan 13th, 2017. The series was renewed for a second season, and it is expected that the second season will consist of ten episodes that will adapt book five to nine of the series and a third last season which will adapt the remaining books.

Subsequently, a video game based on the film and the books were released in 2004 by Activision and Andrenium Games for the GameCube, PlayStation 2, Xbox, PC, and Game Boy Advance. Furthermore, a board game based on the books was released in 2004 by Mattel.


These are two best books in the A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket, The Bad Beginning, and The Reptile Room.

The Bad Beginning: For Baudelaire life has not been easy on them for the last few days. Their latest misfortune that befell them recently was truly heartbreaking. However, these children are so strong, intelligent and brave even though they don’t have anyone else in their lives except each other. In this first book in the series, they are sent to live with their cousin named Count Olaf after living with Mr. Poe, a man in charge of the orphan’s affairs. These brave children, however, discover that their cousin intends to get his hands on their inheritance. In this first book, he attempts to marry Violet by pretending that it is the storyline of his latest play; however, the plan fails when Violet uses her left hand to sign the marriage document.

The Reptile Room: In the second book, the narrator introduces the readers to the Baudelaire’s spending their time in the company of some beautiful and exciting animals and that of their giddy uncle. Their cousin once again finds his way into their lives and get the children to refer to him using some assumed name. Some interesting words are introduced and also defined in the context of the narrator. The three children make use of their skills, (bookworm, and biter, respectively inventor) to solve the problem of not letting Olaf gain control of them.


If you like reading A Series of Unfortunate Events novels, you will find these two series appealing to you, “Artemis Fowl” series by Eoin Colfer and “Book of Time” series by Guillaume Prevost.

What Is The Next Book in The A Series Of Unfortunate Events Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The A Series Of Unfortunate Events Series. The newest book is The End and was released on October, 13th 2006.