Bailey Flanigan Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Bailey Flanigan is the name of a series of Christian fiction novels written by Karen Kingsbury. The books follow the exploits of a young girl who finally leaves home to pursue her dreams.

Get notified when Karen Kingsbury releases a new book at

Order of Bailey Flanigan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Leaving ( By: Karen Kingsbury) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Learning (By: Karen Kingsbury) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Longing ( By: Karen Kingsbury) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Loving ( By: Karen Kingsbury) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Karen Kingsbury is a Christian fiction darling. Her books are adored by readers from all over the world who enjoy the message of Jesus Christ that permeates every story that Karen tells.

Bailey Flanigan was first introduced to readers in the Firstborn series. At the time, she was merely one member of the Flanigan family. The Firstborn novels explored the struggles and triumphs of the entire Flanigan clan but Bailey always stood out.

Karen’s readers couldn’t get enough of the spunky, level-headed girl. So the author listened to their cries and brought the heroine back in Sunrise and even Above the Line.

However, as with the Firstborn series, Bailey was still just a supporting character in those books. And yet her fanbase had only grown stronger. Karen’s followers wouldn’t stop hounding her about the prospect of bringing their favorite member of the Flanigan family back to the page.

The Bailey Flanigan series was supposed to be an answer to those pleas. This is the first series in Karen Kingsbury’s bibliography to focus solely on Bailey Flanigan.

The novels take place in the same universe as the previous Flanigan and Baxter books. So people that read Karen’s previous work are more likely to enjoy the novels. At the very least, they will have a deeper understanding of Bailey’s character because they have followed her adventures for so long.

Every time Bailey appears, Karen emphasizes the strong bond the protagonist has with her family. So Leaving, the first novel in the series, immediately shakes things up by having Bailey leave her home, her family, and everything she has ever known.

The heroine always dreamt of succeeding on Broadway. So when she gets an opportunity to land the acting roles of a lifetime, she does not hesitate to move to New York.

However, life in the big city is filled with challenges. Bailey is determined to hold onto her faith and to spread the message of Jesus Christ in every circle she enters. But the people she encounters are not quite as inviting to her message as she would like.

Additionally, Bailey has to contend with all the relationships that will strain and eventually break because she left home.

The Bailey Flanigan series takes a deep and detailed look at the Flanigan’s favorite daughter. A central aspect of the novels is the heroine’s connection to Cody. For the longest time, Cody was touted as the love of Bailey’s life.

But in this series, both Cody and Bailey begin to doubt their future. Cody, in particular, becomes the target of a number of personal assaults that drive him to conclude that he might not be good enough for Bailey.

There are Karen Kingsbury fans who love these books for their spiritual message and sweet stories. You also have readers who hate the fact that Bailey is a little too perfect.

Best Bailey Flanigan Books

While everyone can appreciate and enjoy these books, the Bailey Flanigan story was written with longtime fans of Karen Kingsbury in mind, with some of the best books in the series including:

Learning: Bailey and Cody are both doing well. Bailey is making headway with her acting while Cody is coaching a high school football team. But neither party is particularly happy because they have no one with whom they can share their triumphs.

For Cody, in the absence of Bailey and the support she normally brings into his life, this is particularly troublesome because he is about to face the sort of tragedy against which he is incapable of coping.

Longing: Cody and Bailey have been estranged for so long that Bailey has finally given in to her attraction to Brandon Paul, a Hollywood star. The more time they spend together, the stronger her feelings become, the more certain Bailey becomes that her time with Cody might be well and truly over.

But Bailey isn’t the only one moving on. Cody has grown closer to a woman who understands him better than anyone ever could. And yet, like Bailey, Cody cannot stop thinking about his one true love.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another good read is the “Home to Collingsworth” Series by Kimberly Rae Jordan. These books tell the stories of the Collingsworth sisters and the struggles of love and romance they encounter within the borders of the town their family founded.

You may also enjoy the “Wildflowers” Series by Leah Banicki. Angela Fahey is an herbalist in 1848 that is struggling to find a purpose in life. The times are not kind to women and Angela hasn’t known much freedom. She hopes to change everything by heading west with a husband she doesn’t like.

What Is The Next Book in The Bailey Flanigan Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Bailey Flanigan Series. The newest book is Loving and was released on March, 27th 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *