Codex Alera Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

J. Butcher is the author of Codex Alera series. The fantasy series revolves around the rise of a young man called Tavi in the kingdom of Alera. Kingdom Alera in the series is said to be similar to Roman Empire. Each Aleran has dominant powers over furries. Furries are spirits or some elemental forces. The First Lord of the Aleran Kingdom is now old and struggling to maintain a firm grip on his realm to avoid the outbreak of civil war. Tavi, the protagonist, is considered unusual due to lack of any command over the furries. However, he must use his knowledge to save the Alera.

Get notified when Jim Butcher releases a new book at

Order of Codex Alera Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Furies of Calderon ( By: Jim Butcher) 2004 Description / Buy
2 Academ's Fury (By: Jim Butcher) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Cursor's Fury ( By: Jim Butcher) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Captain's Fury ( By: Jim Butcher) 2007 Description / Buy
5 Princep's Fury ( By: Jim Butcher) 2008 Description / Buy
6 First Lord's Fury ( By: Jim Butcher) 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Alera is a greater part of the continent occupied by the Icemen and linked to another continent by Marar through the land bridge, which also happens to be the position of the Calderon Vale. The Canim live over the ocean in the western region and are responsible for regular and bloody conflicts in the coastal areas.

The characters- Codex Alera

The series Codex Alera features several main characters. Some of the main characters are;

Tavi- also known as Captain Rufus and he is the only Aleran without the unique gifts. He is the son of Gaius Septimus.

Amara- is a retired cursor, a strong windcrafter and the wife to Count Bernard. She is also Tavi’s best friend and unable to bear any child which causes a great distress in her relationship with Bernard.

Bernard- he is Tavi’s uncles and a father figure. He is portrayed to be strong just like his sister and has a wood fury and earth fury.

The author of the series Codex Alera was inspired by a betting challenge by an associate of Del Rey Online Writers Workshop. The series features six different novels. The first book Furies of Calderon was released on 5 October 2004; the second Academ’s Fury was released on 5 July 2005 while the last installation of the series First Lords Fury was done on November 24th, 2009.


Jim Butcher novel Skin Game was nominated for the Hugo Award for the best novel. Also, Welcome to the Jungle book was also nominated for Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story.


Furies of Calderon: For hundreds of decades, the inhabitants of Alera have lived in harmony and always united against the threatening and aggressive races that live in the world. They have been able to achieve the unity by the use of their strong individual bonds with the furies.

Unfortunately, Gaius Sextus, the pioneer leader of Alera is aging quickly and lacks a successor to his position. This makes the greedy houses of power race against each other with hopes of a succession of the position of power. However, this one trigger could spark a civil war.

On the other end, farther away from the Calderon vale, young Tavi is struggling with his absence of fury-crafting. He has no fury to aid him neither light lamps nor help him fly. On his homecoming to the valley, he is bound to discover that his fate is far much greater than what he had imagined.

He manages to save the life of Amara- a runaway slave who is also an undercover agent for Gaius Sextus. As the war between the loyalists to the empire with the rebels and furies with other furries,- Amara will soon find out that Tavi’s courage and his resourcefulness is a power mightier than any fury and one that can calm the waves of the war.

Academy Furry: For many years, people have utilized the furies of fire, air, wood, water, metal, and earth for protecting their land against invasions. However, no furies can save them from the dangers they face from within. The first Lord has been weakened by an attack from the sea and should he fall, then war would be inevitable. Tavi is tasked with the responsibility of fending off treachery within and the assassination attempts of the first Lord.


Readers of the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher also love “The Riyria Revelations” Series­- a fantasy series written by Michael J. Sullivan and published between 2011 and 2012.

“The Legend of Eli Monpress” series- a literary series written by Rachael Aaron and featuring a fictional character Eli Monpress the greatest thief of all time and a wizard.

What Is The Next Book in The Codex Alera Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Codex Alera Series. The newest book is First Lord's Fury and was released on November, 26th 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *