Cormoran Strike Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Cormoran Strike is a fictitious character named after and appearing in the Cormoran Strike series of crime books written by Robert Galbraith, a pen name of J.K. Rowling. The first book portraying the character Cormoran Strike was first published in 2013 titled The Cuckoo’s Calling, and the books series are shelved under the crime fiction and mystery literary genre.

Get notified when Robert Galbraith releases a new book at

Order of Cormoran Strike Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Cuckoo's Calling (By: Robert Galbraith) 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Silkworm (By: Robert Galbraith) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Career of Evil (By: Robert Galbraith) 2015 Description / Buy
4 Lethal White (By: Robert Galbraith) 2018 Description / Buy
5 Troubled Blood ( By: Robert Galbraith) 2020 Description / Buy
6 The Ink Black Heart (By: Robert Galbraith) 2022 Description / Buy
7 The Running Grave (By: Robert Galbraith) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Cormoran Strike had a stint in the military and is a decorated former soldier. Even then he is battling post-traumatic stress disorder and has physical injuries for his time in the military. The launch pad of the book series is the seemingly suicide of a supermodel whose life is fraught with troubles. Cormoran Strike comes in in the context whereby the supermodel’s brother, John Bristow, gives scant credence to suicide and him as a private investigator instead, to delve into the matter.

The first book in this book series, Cuckoo’s Calling, starts with the location where the supermodel, Lula Landry, has met her death in what at first glance appears as a result of drug overdose. Then it segues into Strike’s final moments in his military career. He has survived a land mine during a tour of duty in the Middle East but, unfortunately, his leg has been badly wounded. Worse still, he is transitioning from military to civilian life and is not only broke but also has few career prospects. Strike’s fledgling business, with creditors breathing down his neck, is reinvigorated when Bristow seeks his investigation services.

Strike’s initial actions involve interviewing those he deem close to Landry including her body guard, chauffeur, and kith and kin. In so doing, Robert Galbraith lives up to her (she is actually a female) whodunit signature, and won her the Los Angeles Times Book Prize in 2013 for the mystery/thriller genres.

Robert Galbraith Awards

The Cormoran Strike book series has won different awards. Robert Galbraith’s first book in the Cormoran Strike series, The Cuckoo’s Calling, won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. In 2015, Galbraith was nominated for the Gold Dagger Award for The Silkworm. By the same token, Career of Evil was shortlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2016.

Robert Galbraith Books into TV/Movies

Plans are at an advanced stage to adapt the Cormoran Strike series into film. For instance, in late 2014, there were reports that the series would be made into an upcoming drama series for BBC One. According to the reports, Bronte Film and TV has been mandated with the production while Rowling will serve as the executive producer. Sarah Phelps and Ben Richards will reportedly do the screen adaptation for the books in the series. Actor Sam Burke will play the role of private investigator Cormoran Strike.

Best Robert Galbraith Books

The Cuckoo’s Calling
The Silkworm

The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm are two of the best books in the Cormoran Strike series. On the one hand, The Cuckoo’s Calling was published to rave reviews. Incidentally, a mere 1,500 copies before news leaked on the writer’s identity. However, its position on the Amazon went up by over 5,000 places several hours and topped the bestselling list after the actual name of the writer was revealed. What’s more, the cost of some signed copies is as much as $6000, especially in the initial edition. On the other hand, the copies which The Silkworm sold exceeded the former in the wake of the reconciling the pseudonym Robert Galbraith with J.K. Rowlings.

Unlike subsequent books in the Cormoran Strike series, these two books have garnered many reviews on Good Books. For instance, The Cuckoo’s Calling has received over 295,000 ratings and more than 25,000 reviews. Similarly, The Silkworm has received over 123,000 and 12,000 ratings and reviews, respectively.

Other Books You May Like

Robert Galbraith fans also like the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series, Jackson Brodie series, and Veronica Mars series. “Chief Inspector Armand Gamache” is a multi-award winning mystery series by Louis Penny; it revolves around a Quebec policeman investigating homicide in a neighborhood upon Three Pines. Kate Atkinson‘s “Jackson Brodie” is a literary series about a British private detective and ex-policeman investigating and unearthing curiously and jaw-dropping cases. “Veronica Mars” is a mystery series by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham: a private detective who has been treading water until she comes into her first major job and seeks out to reveal the dark underbelly of Neptune, California.

What Is The Next Book in The Cormoran Strike Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Cormoran Strike Series. The newest book is The Running Grave and was released on September, 26th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *