D.I. Kayli Bright Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

D.I. Kayli Bright is the name of a series of mystery suspense novels written by M. A. Comley. The books tell the story of a tenacious Detective Inspector that solves crimes.

Get notified when M.A. Comley releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of D.I. Kayli Bright Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Missing Children ( By: M.A. Comley) 2017 Description / Buy
2 Killer on the Run ( By: M.A. Comley) 2018 Description / Buy
3 Hidden Agenda ( By: M.A. Comley) 2018 Description / Buy
4 Murderous Betrayal ( By: M.A. Comley) 2018 Description / Buy
5 Dying Breath ( By: M.A. Comley) 2018 Description / Buy
6 The Hostage Takers (Short Story) ( By: M.A. Comley) 2018 Description / Buy
7 Taken (By: M.A. Comley) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kayli works for the Avon and Somerset Constabulary. Her partner is DS Dave Chaplin. Together, they serve their community as officers of the law.

When D.I. Kayli is first introduced in The Missing Children, the first novel in the series, she is tasked with resolving a kidnapping case.

Kayli has no idea what to expect when she is called to the scene of a brutal murder. The remains of a dead child shock the protagonist to the bone. But before she can come to terms with the incident, another child goes missing; Kayli and Chaplin must pull up their sleeves and find the trail of a vicious criminal.

The D.I. Bright Trilogy was unlike anything the author had ever written when the first novel was published in 2017.

M. A. Comley isn’t new to the mystery suspense landscape. But the D.I. Kayli Bright series stood out for her followers because it was so much darker than her previous novels.

The first book tackled issues of sexual abuse and child murder, and things only got worse with its sequels.

Comley showed an uncanny ability to drag readers into disturbing and unsettling scenarios without indulging in unnecessary blood and violence.

In a way, the author succeeded in walking that fine line between writing dark and gritty fiction whilst also producing mysteries for those readers who do not appreciate or enjoy gory stories.

Kayli, the author’s heroine, has been described by readers as feisty, gutsy, and tenacious. She has seen more on the job than most people could ever imagine. But in a way, she is still green.

Evil still shocks Kayli, especially seemingly senseless acts of violence. She hasn’t yet been so thoroughly inured to the darkness of the world as to casually brush cruel mysteries and murders aside.

But Kayli is strong. And she refuses to close her eyes to the savagery she stumbles upon, no matter how drastically it challenges her sensibilities.

In fact, the more spine-chilling the case Kayli encounters, the more determined she is to give the victim’s justice.

Each installment in the D.I. Kayli Bright series pits the heroine against a new case. The novels are primarily concerned with delving into the ordinary goings-on of Kayli’s work.

Readers follower her around as she collects evidence, interviews suspects, and connects the dots.

Every so often, the author will highlight Kayli’s personal life, specifically her relationship with her fiancé, a man working far away from home, and the ramifications of her work on her mental and physical health.

Best D.I. Kayli Bright Books

These novels have been praised for their strong, reliable but relatable heroine, with some of the best books in the series including:

Killer on the Run: When an accident occurs, DI Kayli isn’t convinced that careless driving is to blame. Her hunch is given weight when another accident is recorded on the same road. Now, Kayli is certain that she is dealing with something sinister.

But if she wants to crack the case, she must first identify the aspect connecting the two accidents at the center of the mystery. Sure, it makes all the sense in the world to categorize the culprit as a serial killer.

But she could also be faced with an ordinary case of road rage. Kayli must put all the pieces of the puzzle together even as her personal life unravels.

Hidden Agenda: Sarah Abel was last seen accepting a lift from home. She was found dead an hour later. Kayli must determine whether her death was the result of a burglary gone wrong or something more deliberate.

This is as she contends with the turmoil caused by the disappearance of her fiancé.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also like the Lorne Simpkins Series by M. A. Comley. Lorne Simpkins is a Detective Inspector with a failing marriage and an unsympathetic boss. She must put her personal struggles aside to catch the murderers that haunt her community.

Another great series is the “DI Sara Ramsey” Series by M. A. Comley. DI Sara Ramsey just moved to a new area. She must find her footing, gain a handle over the new team she’s been charged with commanding and protect her rural community from a killer.

What Is The Next Book in The D.i. Kayli Bright Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The D.i. Kayli Bright Series. The newest book is Taken and was released on March, 5th 2020.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *