Detective Inspector Joona Linna Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Detective Inspector Joona Linna is the protagonist of the Joona Linna series of novels that have been in publication since 2011. The Joona Linna books are a blend of the psychological thriller and police procedural genres.

Get notified when Lars Kepler releases a new book at

Order of Detective Inspector Joona Linna Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hypnotist (By: Lars Kepler) 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Nightmare ( By: Lars Kepler) 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Fire Witness ( By: Lars Kepler) 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Sandman ( By: Lars Kepler) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Stalker ( By: Lars Kepler) 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Rabbit Hunter (By: Lars Kepler) 2017 Description / Buy
7 Lazarus ( By: Lars Kepler) 2020 Description / Buy
8 The Mirror Man (By: Lars Kepler) 2020 Description / Buy
9 The Spider (By: Lars Kepler) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

There is some debate as to whether Lars Kepler, the author, does an effective job of combining these two genres. In fact, some readers have complained that a lot of the police procedural aspects are sacrificed because the author would rather prioritize the exploration of the character relationships at the center of these books.

The Detective Inspector Joona Linna series kicks things off with The Hypnotist. A surprising number of readers will tell you that they first encountered Lars Kepler’s work and the Joona Linna series through The Sandman.

The Sandman is the fourth novel in the Joona Linna series and it is often commended for standing on its own, availing a story that not only digs deep into the protagonist’s past but which can also be read on its own, without prior knowledge of the books that came before.

However, the Detective Inspector Joona Linna series actually starts with The Hypnotist. It is here that readers first meet Joona Linna. When a triple homicide occurs, Detective Linna insists upon investigating the case.

However, the killer left little in the way of useful clues. Even more disturbing is the fact that the only survivor, a boy, was stabbed so many times that he lapsed into shock. When Linna learns that the boy’s sister might be alive and in danger, he forces a resistant doctor out of retirement, imploring him to use his hypnotic abilities to learn the secrets about the killer the boy might have locked away in his mind.

What Linna and the doctor learn pits them against a deadly killer that will stop at nothing to see them silenced.

Detective Inspector Linna was a military man before enrolling at the police academy and eventually landing a position at the police department in Stockholm. His difficult childhood gives Linna an empathetic personality that allows him to understand the minds of criminals.

Because Linna knows how to see his targets more as humans and less like monsters, he is better equipped to resolve some of the most complicated murder cases to ever assault Sweden.

The Joona Linna books are pretty dark and atmospheric. While the author doesn’t go out of his way to shock with gore, he doesn’t shy away from the darkness and the violence of his stories.

It is worth mentioning that Lars Kepler is actually two people: a husband and wife team.

Best Detective Inspector Joona Linna Books

The Joona Linna novels are most commonly criticized for the unlikeable characters and protagonists Lars Kepler frequently creates, not to mention some of the irrational decisions his hero makes, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Fire Witness: A girl called Miranda was killed. She was only fourteen at the time and she was alone in her room at the institution for young women when they found her. No one else saw what happened; no one except for Flora.

But Flora wasn’t there when the murder happened. She didn’t even know Miranda. So she knows what happened but no one has any reason to believe her. If she wants to see the killer caught and punished, Flora must convince Detective Inspector Joona Linna that she is a true medium.

The Sandman: More than a decade ago, the notorious murderer Jurek Walter killed Mikael and his sister, or so everyone thought. When Mikael is found wandering outside Stockholm thirteen-years-later, Joona Linna’s life is thrown into chaos.

Linna made great sacrifices to see Jurek captured and incarcerated. But now Mikael says he and his sister were being held by someone else, a figure called the Sandman. Convinced that Jurek has an accomplice, Linna must get the psychiatric patient to talk if he wants to rescue Mikael’s sister.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also like the “Commissario Brunetti” Series by Donna Leon. Guido Brunetti is a suave detective of considerable investigative intelligence who works as commissario of police in the serene, floating city of Venice. There is little in the way of violent crime in Venice. But when it does emerge, Guido is expected to solve it.

Another great series is the “Hanne Wilhelmsen” Series by Anne Holt. Hanne Wilhelmsen is a police investigator in Olso, Norway. She works with partner Haken Sand to unravel violent crimes and catch demented killers. These books are most commonly commended for providing a distinct snapshot of the unique nature of crime in Norway.

What Is The Next Book in The Detective Inspector Joona Linna Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Detective Inspector Joona Linna Series. The newest book is The Spider and was released on May, 25th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *