Family Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Family is a series of children’s adventure novels by the British author Enid Blyton, arguably one of the best children’s fiction author ever. The first novel in the Family series of novels was the 1945 published novel, The Caravan Family. The novels are classified as children’s adventure books.

Order of Family Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Caravan Family ( By: Enid Blyton) 1945 Description / Buy
2 The Saucy Jane Family ( By: Enid Blyton) 1947 Description / Buy
3 The Seaside Family ( By: Enid Blyton) 1950 Description / Buy
4 The Pole Star Family ( By: Enid Blyton) 1950 Description / Buy
5 The Buttercup Farm Family ( By: Enid Blyton) 1951 Description / Buy
6 The Queen Elizabeth Family ( By: Enid Blyton) 1951 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Family series of novels feature the family of the three siblings Mike, Belinda and Ann. The families relax by moving out of their home and going on fun adventurous trips. Whether it be going to the Perfect Sea-gull Cove, bobbing down a narrow canal on a houseboat, or going on a summer cruise, you can be sure that the families will be having the adventure of their lives.

The first novel in the series, The Caravan Family reminds us that there is nothing as good as a countryside caravan holiday. Ann, Belinda, and Mike together with their father and mother spend their summer holiday in a set of flashy caravans. They come to learn the country ways and how to be country children. Some of their adventurous activities in the city involve collecting firewood and eggs, churning butter, and milking a cow.

The novel is a classic Enid Blyton novel with no tragic events and most important of all, a moral lesson that comes with a happy ending. What makes the novel such a great read is the charming nature of its characters and setting, which are all the more relatable, through the simplicity.


The Caravan Family: The first novel is one of the most highly regarded novels in Enid Blyton’s Family series of novels. Wish fulfillment is a critical component that gives the novel its charming flavor. The novel features a fabulous array of childhood holidays that most modern children would die for. In five years, the family lives for half a year on a country farm, visits one of the most beautiful of beaches set in a perfect cove, takes two summer cruises abroad, lives on a narrow boat while sailing the canal, and lives in two gaily-painted caravans. What makes the novel such a great read is the dream come true feeling that offers a thrust and sense of excitement to the novel. It also provides the same sense of escapism that you would expect to find in the longer holiday adventure titles that target a more mature audience.

The Seaside Family: This is another incredible novel in the Family series. The Caravan family has gone to holiday at the sandy and beautiful Sea-Gull Cove, where they have parked their caravans next to the water. But a miserable Benjy Johns has joined the family and is threatening to put a damper on the holiday. Similar to Enid’s earlier characters such as Connie of the “Enchanted series”, the task is to teach the uptight Benjy the correct way of behavior before, he can become a full-fledged member of the holiday caravan. But nothing is easy when it comes to the newest member, who is as headstrong and outspoken as they come. He dismisses their caravan way of life asserting that he believed only gypsies lived in caravans. The three siblings react with typical shock expected of children who find that their playmates do not share in their enthusiasm for something – be it a toy, a pet, or a house. The big question is, Will Benjy be able to enjoy the delights of the caravan family or will he be doomed to a life of pouting?

The Buttercup Farm Family: This is another fantastic holiday series by Enid Blyton. The Children Belinda, Ann, and Mike are over the moon when their father buys them two caravans that they can live in. They travel to Buttercup Farm on their caravan, where they have many wonderful adventures, after their parents leave to go to America on business. It is an excellently told narrative that showcases the maturity of the characters as they age.


Fans of the family series of novels also loved the “Diamond Brothers” series of novels by Anthony Horowitz. These are detective thriller novels featuring Nick Diamond a thirteen year old, who works with his dimwitted older brother, that is probably the world’s worst private detective. Family series fans also recommend the “Sophie” series of novels by Nancy N. Rue. Sophie is a 12-year-old with exceptional sleuthing skills that she uses to unearth long-buried family secrets, heinous plots, and conspiracies, while having a little romance on the side.

What Is The Next Book in The Family Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Family Series. The newest book is The Queen Elizabeth Family and was released on January, 1st 1951.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *