Fox Investigates Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Fox investigates is a series of mystery novels written by Adam Frost. Frost is a British author from Epping who has garnered a reputation for his contributions to Children’s literature. A former student of Buckhurst Hill County High School, the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge, Frost made a bit of a splash in 2006 when he published Ralph the Magic Rabbit.

Get notified when Adam Frost releases a new book at

Order of Fox Investigates Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Brush with Danger ( By: Adam Frost) 2015 Description / Buy
2 Whiff of Mystery ( By: Adam Frost) 2015 Description / Buy
3 A Web of Lies ( By: Adam Frost) 2016 Description / Buy
4 Taste for Adventure ( By: Adam Frost) 2016 Description / Buy
5 A Trail of Trickery ( By: Adam Frost) 2016 Description / Buy
6 A Dash of Poison ( By: Adam Frost) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author proceeded to deliver numerous other children’s books in the years that followed, most of them utilizing animals as characters, before finally publishing A Brush with Danger’ in 2015.

A Brush with Danger is the first book in the Fox Investigates series. The book deals with a stinky piece of cheese, a mysterious letter, and a valuable painting. Wily Fox takes center stage as a detective working with the Wily Fox Detective Agency to solve mysteries and bring larger than life bad guys to justice.

A Brush with Danger finds Wily charged with finding and retrieving a stolen work of art. Wily Fox is no slouch and mysteries such as the one presented before him are only marginally challenging. However, there are nefarious forces at play, entities with antagonistic intentions that Wily must overcome if he is to accomplish his mission.

The Fox Investigates books are essentially James Bond for children. Adam Frost wrote the books with eight to nine-year-old readers in mind. That might explain why the books are rarely longer than two hundred pages.

The stories that Frost writes are succinctly told. Wily Fox is the cunning detective with extraordinary skills who must face off against bears with plans for great evil and hamsters that boast ninja skills.

Wily Fox must use his cunning and special gadgets to overcome great odds. There’s plenty of action and adventure, though the mystery is never sacrificed in favor of more exciting undertakings.

It would be accurate to describe Fox Investigates as the perfect introduction to the mystery genre for younger readers. Frost endeavors to keep young readers engaged with Wily Fox’s ridiculous escapades. But attentive audiences will also be engrossed by the clues Frost presents and which they can attempt to solve alongside Detective Wily.

Some critics have recommended these books to teachers who are looking for effective ways to entice their young students to read.

Fox Investigates Awards

The first book in the Fox Investigates series was shortlisted for the Teach Primary Awards. That was in 2016.

Best Fox Investigates Books

The Fox Investigates series stands out because its contents appeal to young readers of both genders, with some of the best books in the series including:

A Brush with Danger: Wily Fox is a detective that will stop at nothing to solve a mystery. And this time, he has set his sights on Dimitri Gottabottomitch. With a case on hand involving a piece of cheese, a painting, and a mysterious letter, Wily will undertake a journey that will take him from Paris to Moscow as he attempts to catch his foe.

But the brown bear is no slouch and is just as determined to throw Wily off his scent. Wily Fox must act quickly to solve the case of the priceless painting. And if he isn’t careful, he just might fall prey to an art attack.

A Taste of Adventure: Wily Fox is back, and this time he is up against a foe that might be a little more tenacious than he can handle.

Megachef is all the rage, a TV Cookery show whose popularity is on the rise. Questions are raised when it becomes clear that a conspiracy is at play; a conspiracy designed to see good chefs voted off the show and the bad ones promoted to the finals.

Unwilling to allow the corruption rife amongst the judges to ruin his show, the producer hires Wily Fox to get to the bottom of things. Wily must fight a deadly ninja to get to the truth.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great book for kids is “The Supernatural Pet Sitter” by Diane Moat. These books tell the story of Pepper Neely. Neely is a gnome living in a world filled with werewolves, witches and all manner of magical creatures. Neely is an animal lover and she uses her gnome powers to look after the animals in her neighborhood. Every once in a while she will solve a mystery.

Be sure to check out the “Topaz the Conjure Cat” Series by Pat Frayne. Topaz is a yellow conjure cat that lives in a world filled with elves, fairies, gnomes and various other fanciful creatures. The last of his kind, Topaz uses his powers to solve mysteries and protect his friends.

What Is The Next Book in The Fox Investigates Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Fox Investigates Series. The newest book is A Dash of Poison and was released on March, 16th 2017.

1 thought on “Fox Investigates”

  1. The author of this article nails this series perfectly when they describe it as “James Bond for children”. I’ve interested numerous kids and friends with kids to this series and they always end up thanking me for it. The books are a great transition between the “picture book” and “chapter book” eras of a kid’s reading progress. There are plenty of pictures, almost like a graphic novel, but the reading is written for advanced ages. Perfect for reading to your kids or letting them read on their own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *