Jason Bourne Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Jason Bourne refers to a series of novels that were initially written by Robert Ludlum. The name also refers to the protagonist of the series. When Robert died in 2001, Eric Van Lustbader was assigned the task of taking over from where he stopped and continuing the legacy of Jason Bourne.

Order of Jason Bourne Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Bourne Identity ( By: Robert Ludlum) 1980 Description / Buy
2 The Bourne Supremacy ( By: Robert Ludlum) 1986 Description / Buy
3 The Bourne Ultimatum ( By: Robert Ludlum) 1990 Description / Buy
4 The Bourne Legacy ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2003 Description / Buy
5 The Bourne Betrayal ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2007 Description / Buy
6 The Bourne Sanction ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2008 Description / Buy
7 The Bourne Deception ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2009 Description / Buy
8 The Bourne Objective ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2010 Description / Buy
9 The Bourne Dominion ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2011 Description / Buy
10 The Bourne Imperative ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2012 Description / Buy
11 The Bourne Retribution ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2013 Description / Buy
12 The Bourne Ascendancy ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2014 Description / Buy
13 The Bourne Enigma ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2016 Description / Buy
14 The Bourne Initiative ( By: Eric Van Lustbader) 2017 Description / Buy
15 The Bourne Evolution ( By: Brian Freeman) 2020 Description / Buy
16 The Bourne Treachery ( By: Brian Freeman) 2021 Description / Buy
17 The Bourne Sacrifice ( By: Brian Freeman) 2022 Description / Buy
18 The Bourne Defiance ( By: Brian Freeman) 2023 Description / Buy
19 The Bourne Shadow ( By: Brian Freeman) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When the Jason Bourne series begins in The Bourne Identity, the first book in the series, Jason Bourne is a mysterious man that wakes up in the Mediterranean Sea. He has no idea who he is, where he came from, how he ended up in the sea and why he was shot in the head.

The book then allows readers to follow Jason on his journey to self-discovery. The Jason Bourne series is fairly large in scope, revolving around shadowy organizations with powerful capabilities that are either out to kill Jason or which he must fight against because of the nature of their operations.

As far as many readers are concerned, the Jason Bourne series only constitutes the three original novels written by Robert Ludlum, with the additional novels written by Eric Van Lustbader often discarded as filler.

The original Jason Bourne books largely focus on Jason’s attempts at discovering the truth about his past. He slowly but surely peels the layers away, discovering that Jason Bourne isn’t even his real name and that he once had a full life as a different man, not to mention a wife and children.

Jason’s search eventually leads him into contention with Medusa, an elite Special Forces organization that turned him into a killing machine. Jason’s story more or less stops when he is shot in the head, losing all his memories. A brand new story then starts up at this point, with Jason being reborn as a wholly different person who isn’t too comfortable with the things he did as an assassin. While he isn’t necessarily remorseful in every case, Jason is written as having decided to pursue a life outside the intelligence community, especially once he regains the pieces of his past.

However, those who trained him and those who he fought alongside are not so keen on letting him be.

Jason Bourne Books into Movies

The Jason Bourne series first leaped off the page when the first book, the Bourne Identity, was adapted into a television film. That was back in 1988 and the film starred Jaclyn Smith and Richard Chamberlain.

In 2002, a more popular adaptation of the book, starring Mat Damon, hit the cinemas, becoming the first of a series of live-action movies that have been largely received well.

Best Jason Bourne Books

Jason Bourne has always been a character with an edge, a hero with dangerous skills looking to leave his violent past behind, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Bourne Supremacy: Jason Bourne is an expert assassin that keeps trying and failing to forget his former life. The memories of his past keep surfacing. And unfortunately, Bourne is going to need every ounce of those memories and the skills they bring to the table if he is to stop a ruthless killer that has undertaken the Bourne identity with the intention of wreaking havoc.

If Jason wants to stop him, he must become immersed in the world of international espionage, creating new alliances and uncovering dubious CIA plots.

This book delves into the mind of Jason Bourne. It shows the different personalities that live inside Jason and the manner in which he can wear and shed them with ease as he attempts to live the life of both a family man and a ruthless, remorseless assassin.

The Bourne Ultimatum: David Webb is living the good life as a husband, professor, and father. He abhors the idea of wearing the Jason Bourne persona again. But that is what he must do when the most dangerous terrorist in the world calls Jason Bourne out to partake in one more confrontation.

Jason must go back into the seedy belly underbelly of espionage to bait his foe and, hopefully, put him down once and for all.

This book pushes Jason Bourne to his limits, testing his mettle.

Other Book Series You May Like

A great Bourne-like novel and an originator of the genre is the “James Bond” Series by Ian Flemming. These books follow the exploits of an operative of MI6, a super spy that fights super villains and shadowy organizations that are working to either rule or destroy the world.

Another great series by Robert Ludlum is the “Covert-One” series. These books explore the lives of the men and women who work for an agency of the United States Government called Covert One, technical experts and political professionals who fight everything from conspiracies to corruption.

What Is The Next Book in The Jason Bourne Series?

The next book in the The Jason Bourne Series by Robert Ludlum is The Bourne Shadow and will be released on July, 16th 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *