John Gardner’s Bond Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

John Gardner‘s Bond is the main character in a series of spy thriller novels written by an English author John Gardner. The author began the publication of John Gardner’s Bond series in 1981 when Licensed Renewed the first book in the series was published. The series lasted sixteen books concluding in 1996 when Cold Fall was published.

Order of James Bond (Extended) Series

1Colonel Sun ( By: Kingsley Amis)1968Description / Buy
2License Renewed ( By: John Gardner)1981Description / Buy
3For Special Services ( By: John Gardner)1982Description / Buy
4Icebreaker ( By: John Gardner)1983Description / Buy
5Role of Honor ( By: John Gardner)1984Description / Buy
6Nobody Lives Forever ( By: John Gardner)1986Description / Buy
7No Deals, Mr. Bond ( By: John Gardner)1987Description / Buy
8Scorpius ( By: John Gardner)1988Description / Buy
9Licence to Kill ( By: John Gardner)1989Description / Buy
10Win, Lose or Die ( By: John Gardner)1989Description / Buy
11Brokenclaw ( By: John Gardner)1990Description / Buy
12The Man from Barbarossa ( By: John Gardner)1991Description / Buy
13Death Is Forever ( By: John Gardner)1992Description / Buy
14Never Send Flowers ( By: John Gardner)1993Description / Buy
15SeaFire ( By: John Gardner)1994Description / Buy
16GoldenEye ( By: John Gardner)1995Description / Buy
17Cold Fall ( By: John Gardner)1996Description / Buy
18Zero Minus Ten ( By: Raymond Benson)1997Description / Buy
19Tomorrow Never Dies ( By: Raymond Benson)1997Description / Buy
20The Facts of Death ( By: Raymond Benson)1998Description / Buy
21The World is Not Enough ( By: Raymond Benson)1999Description / Buy
22High Time to Kill ( By: Raymond Benson)1999Description / Buy
23Doubleshot ( By: Raymond Benson)2000Description / Buy
24Never Dream of Dying ( By: Raymond Benson)2001Description / Buy
25The Man With the Red Tattoo ( By: Raymond Benson)2002Description / Buy
26Die Another Day ( By: Raymond Benson)2002Description / Buy
27Devil May Care ( By: Sebastian Faulks)2008Description / Buy
28Carte Blanche ( By: Jeffery Deaver)2011Description / Buy
29Solo ( By: William Boyd)2013Description / Buy
30Trigger Mortis ( By: Anthony Horowitz)2015Description / Buy
31Forever and a Day ( By: Anthony Horowitz)2018Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


These are two best books in John Gardner’s Bond series by John Gardner’s Bond, License Renewed, For Special Services and Icebreaker.

License Renewed: James Bond is one of the famous names in the entire universe. In the first book in the series, we are introduced to John Bond fighting to save the world from probably one of the most lethal antagonist yet, Dr. Anton Murik. The doctor is a nuclear physicist the inventor of what he calls “Murik Ultra Reactor.” The scientist claims that his reactor is not only capable of providing power, but it’s also capable of safely disposing of waste. Unfortunately, the scientist was mocked and for the design of the reactor and kicked out of the company.

After several years, the M16 discovered that the physicist was meeting with the world most wanted terrorist Franco. In response, John Bond is sent to look into the matter and is shocked when he discovers that Dr. Anton has world annihilation planned.

The main theme in the series debut book is never given up and plays a huge role in Bonds mentality as well. The characterization is brilliantly done; thanks to John Gardner’s skillful of the fascinating characters in the novel is Caber, an aggressive Scotsman working for Murik.

John Bond makes contact with the physicist where he fakes a coincidental meeting- informing Dr. Anton that he is a mercenary looking for work. Later Bond joins the scientist in at Murik’s request and is contracted to kill Franco for reasons unknown. Franco has in turn been instructed by Dr. Anton to kill Lavender Peacock his younger ward because she is the true heir to Anton’s fortune which could be proved by the secret documents Anton kept safe in his house.

Dr. Anton plans on hijacking some nuclear plants across the world with the help of Franco’s terrorist. And to ensure that Franco can never be associated with this deal, Anton hires Bond to kill Franco. What follows is a race to save the world from a nuclear meltdown that could see human beings wiped out from the face of the earth.

For Special Services: The second book in the series picks up from where the first book in the series, License Renewed left off.

Plane hijacking around the world has become popular such that the MI-6 teams up with the SAS to put an end to the hijackings. The story opens up with Bond placed as the lead man for one of the anti-hijacking teams. When the terrorists try to steal a shipment aboard, Bond and the operatives spring into fast-paced action and put an end to the aggressors. But before one of the hijackers dies, he mumbles a word that leaves everyone shocked.

Bonds all-time nemesis has raised from the ashes, and what’s more, a man named Blofeld is the man in charge. Bond is tasked with providing the answers to the puzzle. The primary focus of the story is finally answering the puzzling question “Who is Blofeld?” and overall this concept is handled very well. Blofeld is an evil mastermind and one of Bonds greatest rivals.

Icebreaker: In the third book in the series, the ever indestructible John Bond is back in another action-packed mission. A very deadly mission approached in cohort with John’s opposite numbers from the US, Israel and Soviet Union in the desolate arctic wastelands of Lapland.

Yet if increasing fascism is the common enemy, then who is really to be feared? Is it the voluptuous Israeli or the breezy American who is acting like a double agent? Are the Finns using John bond to break KGB’s on their fragile national autonomy? Never has John encountered such an agitating bunch of collaborators or been subjected to such bewildering lethal shocks.


If you love John Gardener Bond series then you should give these two book series a shot; “Raymond Benson’s Bond” series by Raymond Benson and “James Bond” series by Ian Fleming.

What Is The Next Book in The James Bond (extended) Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The James Bond (extended) Series. The newest book is Forever and a Day and was released on May, 31st 2018.

1 thought on “John Gardner’s Bond”

  1. I read the first book in this series, “Licensed Renewed” out of sheer curiosity. Could a different author fully encapsulate the world of Bond? The simple answer is no. The longer answer is yes and no: you have all the classic Bond tropes such as gadgets and good vs. evil, but the book didn’t enthrall me until the last third. Will I give the rest of the series a shot? Not sure at this point. Good effort by the author but didn’t hit it out of the park.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *