Kevin Kerney Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Kevin Kerney refers to a series of detective novels written by Michael McGarrity. The books follow a disgruntled former police officer who keeps stumbling into mysteries and murders.

Get notified when Michael McGarrity releases a new book at

Order of Kevin Kerney Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tularosa (By: Michael McGarrity) 1996 Description / Buy
2 Mexican Hat (By: Michael McGarrity) 1997 Description / Buy
3 Serpent Gate ( By: Michael McGarrity) 1998 Description / Buy
4 Hermit's Peak ( By: Michael McGarrity) 1999 Description / Buy
5 The Judas Judge ( By: Michael McGarrity) 2000 Description / Buy
6 Under the Color of Law ( By: Michael McGarrity) 2001 Description / Buy
7 The Big Gamble ( By: Michael McGarrity) 2002 Description / Buy
8 Everyone Dies ( By: Michael McGarrity) 2003 Description / Buy
9 Slow Kill (By: Michael McGarrity) 2004 Description / Buy
10 Nothing But Trouble ( By: Michael McGarrity) 2005 Description / Buy
11 Death Song (By: Michael McGarrity) 2007 Description / Buy
12 Dead or Alive (By: Michael McGarrity) 2008 Description / Buy
13 Residue ( By: Michael McGarrity) 2018 Description / Buy
14 Head Wounds ( By: Michael McGarrity) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kevin Kerney was Chief of Detectives in Santa Fe. And he was pretty good at his job. But then a shooting forced him into retirement. His partner, Terry Yazzi, was to blame.

The man’s drinking disabled Kerney permanently. And yet when Terry came calling in Tularosa, the first novel in the series, Kerney did not hesitate to answer.

Kerney wasn’t particularly concerned about Terry’s wellbeing. But Sammy, Terry’s son and Kerney’s godson was a whole other matter.

When the American soldier went disappeared, Kerney immediately leaped into action, using his contacts in law enforcement to unravel the web of secrets and lies in New Mexico.

Little did he know that finding Sammy would only open the door for more detective work in the future, the kind that attracted car chases and bullet wounds.

The Kevin Kerney series explores Michael McGarrity’s experienced hero as he solves mysteries, foils crime rings and rights wrongs.

Kevin Kerney isn’t anything special, and in a way, that makes him more appealing to McGarrity’s readers.

The detective doesn’t have any hidden talents or special but quirky skills that set him apart as an investigator.

Kerney is just a man. His marriage ended in divorce and the explosive conclusion to his career left him with a physical ache he can never escape.

But the trick knee and the personal trials have done little to dull his edge. Kerney was born to solve mysteries and murders. And even though his disability forced him to retire, Kerney continues to lend his assistance to any case that needs it.

Each novel finds the detective tangling with a new mystery, a new villain and new allies. Sometimes, people will come looking for Kerney’s help.

Other times, he will insert himself into situations that he thinks local law enforcement has mishandled.

McGarrity designed the detective to fit the mold of the classic loner ex-police officer. Kerney has a strong code of honor that guides his actions. He cannot sit idly by and watch the guilty hurt the innocent.

And he will go to great lengths to get justice, though even Kerney has lines he won’t cross.

The detective prefers to work alone. But most cases force him to take on allies, especially when he infiltrates new settings and he finds that he needs help to find his footing.

The geography is a very important part of the Kevin Kerney series. Most of the books have New Mexico at their center, which isn’t surprising seeing as the author lived, studied and worked as a caseworker and a law enforcement officer in New Mexico.

Kevin Kerney Awards

The first and sixth books in the series were nominated for Anthony Awards in 1997 and 2002 respectively.

Best Kevin Kerney Books

These novels have a very consistent pace; they never lag or rush in the progression of their plots, with the best books in the series including:

Hermit’s Peak: A shooting on the job forced Kevin Kerney to retire. But now he’s back on the force. And his bum knee hasn’t kept him from fulfilling his duties as Deputy Police Chief in New Mexico.

Kerney is surprised to learn that he has inherited a large piece of land from a woman who shared a room with his mother in college. When Kerney and his friend Dale decide to drive out to the land, they do not expect to find a female corpse buried in a shallow grave.

Under the Color of Law: Kevin Kerney is now the Police Chief in Santa Fe. And he is quite eager to investigate the murder of an American Ambassador’s ex-wife. But the FBI has already closed the case.

It doesn’t take Kerney long to dismiss their trumped-up evidence. But the harder he digs, the harder his enemies work to hide the truth.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another good read is the Joanna Brady Series by J.A. Jance. Joanna Brady had everything. Her 9-year-old girl was healthy and her husband, a local police officer looking to become Sheriff, loved her.

But then someone stole Andy Brady’s life and Joanna decided to vie for the position of Sheriff of Cochise County in Arizona.

The Walt Longmire Series by Craig Johnson is another series you might like. Walt Longmire has spent the last two decades keeping Absaroka County in Wyoming safe. But as Sheriff, his work never ends. There are always killers and rapists looking to make trouble. Longmire, with all his wit, charm, and sense of humor in tow, makes it his business to stop them.

What Is The Next Book in The Kevin Kerney Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kevin Kerney Series. The newest book is Head Wounds and was released on November, 10th 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *