Nick McCarty Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Nick McCarty is the lead character of the Nick McCarty series of novels by adventure fiction novelist Bernard Lee DeLeo. The first novel in the series featuring the protagonist Nick was the 2011 published “Cold Blooded” that was published to much popularity. The series of novels are generally regarded as detective crime fiction.

Order of Nick McCarty Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cold Blooded ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Killer Moves ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Sins and Sanctions ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Bloody Shadows ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2015 Description / Buy
5 Nightmare in Red ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2015 Description / Buy
6 Red Horizon ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2016 Description / Buy
7 Hell on Earth ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2017 Description / Buy
8 Rule of Nightmare (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2017 Description / Buy
9 Bloody Justice (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2018 Description / Buy
10 Hell's Half Acre ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2018 Description / Buy
11 Blood and Honor ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2019 Description / Buy
12 Paint It Black (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2019 Description / Buy
13 Cold As Ice (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2020 Description / Buy
14 Bloody Hell (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2021 Description / Buy
15 Political Genocide (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series of novels start with Nick McCarty retiring from a decade old career in black ops to pursue a career as an author. Nick had been the best black ops operative his unit had ever had, but had always wanted to write novels. After years doing some of the most complex of jobs across the globe, he finally thinks it is time to chase his dream and instantly becomes wildly successful.

The first novel in the series “Cold Blooded” opens to Nick quitting his government job against his bosses wishes to start his writing career. He has become a world-famous author and in the process obtained one of the best of covers for his previous global activities in black ops.

He lives in the Pacific Grove, and loves to walk down to Otter’s Point when he is not working. From time to time, he takes up some freelance work from the government. An assignment to take out a woman in witness protection that was a threat to national security jolts him out of his serene life.

What follows is an exhilarating story as he pretends to work on his famous novels while researching his mark. Inadvertently finding himself embroiled in Rachel Hunters life, he is soon on the run with her and her young daughter Jean.

His mark has secrets but he is too involved, and will protect her until she reveals all. But there is a cold-blooded killer after her life who will kill anyone who stands in his way to accomplish his murderous goal. “Cold Blooded” is an excellent thriller of a novel that has made DeLeo one of the most popular adventure fiction authors.


Cold Blooded: The first novel in the series is an action packed and fasted paced novel full of intrigue, romance, and wit. It is a novel filled with fantastic characters led by the lead protagonist Nick, who is a cold blooded and dangerous assassin with a soft spot for dogs and children, a great heart and sense of humor.

Rachel is a sexy, smart, and strong female lead that is the perfect foil to the typically solitary Nick. In a story full of delicious sexual tension and witty dialogue, Nick is the archetypal James Bond or Jason Bourne with heart.

Nightmare in Red: The fifth novel in the series is one of the most highly regarded novels in the series. Nick has to face up to Gerald Kensky, a released serial killer, and one of his most formidable foes yet. His life is made more complicated by the problems in the Kader family that has issues with Omar Fontaine, who is causing a ruckus over an oil contract gone wrong.

Nick now has to deal with not only a treacherous senator back at home, but also one of the world’s best assassins hired by Fontaine. Teaming up with his Unholy Trio comrades, he slices through a mess of terrorist and their sympathizers alike, taking no prisoners until he is sure that his family and country are safe.

Bloody Shadows: The fourth novel in the series is an excellent thriller full of the same entities looking to cause havoc in the world. Nick McCarty who is still donning his writer covers while undertaking undercover duties has to face up to the Seattle Ripper, terrorist sympathizers, and treacherous blackmailers. But Nick and his Unholy Trio will not take anything lying down. He leads his team from one deadly mission to another showing why he is referred to as the “Cold Blooded Terminator”.


Many fans of the Nick McCarty series of novels also love the “Colt Ryder” series of novels by J.T. Brannan. These are detective mysteries featuring an urban legend known as the “Thousand Dollar Man”, a man that walks from town to town solving any type of problem for a thousand dollars.

Nick McCarty fans also enjoy the “Liam Quinn” mystery series of novels by L.H. Thomson. The novels feature Liam Quinn, an amateur sleuth who fights against the criminal elements of Philadelphia who want him dead.

What Is The Next Book in The Nick Mccarty Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Nick Mccarty Series. The newest book is Political Genocide and was released on August, 27th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *