Rick Cantelli, P.I. Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Rick Cantelli P.I. is the lead character of the Rick Cantelli, P.I. series of novels by fiction author Bernard Lee DeLeo. DeLeo published the first novel of the series “Rick Cantelli, P.I.” in 2013 to much commercial success. The series of novels are generally classified as adventure fiction.

Order of Rick Cantelli, P.I. Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rick Cantelli, P.I. ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Deadly Liaisons ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Into the Darkness ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Shades of Death ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2015 Description / Buy
5 Blood Ties ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2016 Description / Buy
6 Demon / Dark Future (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2017 Description / Buy
7 Midnight Land (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2017 Description / Buy
8 Red Ruin (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2018 Description / Buy
9 Murder Madness ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2018 Description / Buy
10 Shadows of Horror ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2019 Description / Buy
11 Pass the Torch (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2019 Description / Buy
12 Brotherhood of Death ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2020 Description / Buy
13 At Death's Door (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2020 Description / Buy
14 Enemy Within (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2020 Description / Buy
15 The Bullet Express (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2021 Description / Buy
16 Into the Unknown (By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2021 Description / Buy
17 War at Home ( By: Bernard Lee DeLeo) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Rick Cantelli, PI the lead protagonist of the novels is introduced as an ex-Navy SEAL, who works alongside his partner Lois Madigan, formerly of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). The series of novels opens to the two former operatives quitting their jobs, and teaming up to establish a security and investigations agency that they call “Madigan & Cantelli Security and Investigations”.

The first novel in the series Rick Cantelli PI begins the story of Rick Cantelli a former SEAL and Lois Madigan, a former counterintelligence agent who was once his handler at the CIA team up to start a private investigations business. Everything is going on smoothly as they get clients and make good profits, until Stacy Rick’s former high school sweetheart arrives to send everything into a tailspin.

Suddenly they are forced back into the thick of the action as they offer protection to movie stars, face down mobsters, and kill the bad guys. Rick Cantelli PI is an amazing story of two ex-operatives that were deadly team out to prove they are just as lethal now. The novel is an excellent depiction of the amazing storytelling skills of DeLeo that have won him many accolades over the years.


Shades of Death: The fourth novel of the Rick Cantelli, PI series of novels is undeniably one of its best. Rick and Lois have been hired to offer close protection to a reality TV star who has made a name for herself with twitter pictures rather than any actual acting. She has angered one of the biggest venture capitalists in the country who owns politicians across the globe and has the ability to disrupt any economy he wants.

The man believes no one can touch him until he meets the dynamic duo of Lo and Rick. The fight between Jorge Boros the financier and the Cantelli organization soon draws out the excellent assassin Faruk Ezon. Rick and Lo face a retinue of deadly threats from a deranged serial rapist, vicious gang bangers, and several deadly shootouts in as far off places like Sanaa in Yemen.

Into the Darkness: The third novel is one of the most highly regarded in the PI Cantelli detective series. Rick and Lo have been contracted by the embassy in Sanaa to consult on a sensitive project. Things come to a head when one of the higher ups in the embassy tries to get them killed. Rick and Lo have never been known to back down and immediately make their statement with a body count.

They believe they have eliminated the threat and head back to the US, only to find that it has followed them home. They now find themselves and their friends and family the targets of a bloody feud that they must win at all costs. When revenge is served cold, Rick and Lo have to fight their assailants with no prisoners taken, even as they embrace new beginnings.

Blood Ties: The third novel in the series is an incredible thriller that opens to Rick inadvertently killing the Ambassador’s son in Yemen. Aga Saleh is having none of it, and is determined to revenge his son. Saleh has gone for the big guns and hired the Muslim Brotherhood/ISIS to hit the Rick and Lo team.

The team have now activated their ex agency days survival protocol; kill and torture until you eliminate the threat. Unfortunately, a band of “Black Lives Matter” thugs are caught in the cross fire leading to a violent confrontation that now threatens America. But Rick Cantelli and Lois Madigan will do anything to protect their country from both internal and external threats without mercy or conscience.


Many Rick Cantelli, P.I. series lovers also like the “Gabriel Allon” detective mystery series of novels by Daniel Silva. Gabriel Allon the lead in the series is an expert art restorer who sometimes freelances for the Israeli Mossad tracking down terrorists.

Most Rock Cantelli, P.I. series fans also like the “Afdeling Q Series” of novels by Jussi Adler-Olsen. These are detective mysteries about Carl Mørck, a detective that works the cold case Department Q that is full of bizarre unsolved murders.

What Is The Next Book in The Rick Cantelli, P.i. Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Rick Cantelli, P.i. Series. The newest book is War at Home and was released on June, 2nd 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *