Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Born on August 1969, Alex Grecian is a renowned American author who is best known for the Scotland Yard’s Murder Mysteries. He is also known for Proff, a comic book series that was published by critically acclaimed Image Comics. Ever since he was young, Alex Grecian used to read the works of Charles Dickens, Edgar Allen Poe, and C.S. Lewis. Other authors who influenced Alex Grecian include Kurt Vonnegut, John Irving, Stephen King and Michael Chabon. Alex Grecian’s first ever comic book was released in the year 2006, and it was a joint effort between the author a Canadian book illustrator and artist, Riley Rossmo. In the year 2012, the author released the first novel in the Scotland Yard was published.

Get notified when Alex Grecian releases a new book at

Order of Scotland Yard's Murder Squad Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Yard ( By: Alex Grecian) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Black Country ( By: Alex Grecian) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Blue Girl (Short Story) ( By: Alex Grecian) 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Devil's Workshop ( By: Alex Grecian) 2014 Description / Buy
5 The Harvest Man ( By: Alex Grecian) 2015 Description / Buy
6 Lost and Gone Forever ( By: Alex Grecian) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Scotland Yard’s Book Awards

Due to the success of the first book in the Scotland Yard’s book series, Grecian received a nomination for the Strand Awards and also a nomination for the Dilys Award.

Best Books Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad Series

The author has managed to successfully place the author in that Victorian’s era atmosphere; the Hanson cabs being used as the mode of transport, streets of London full of gaslights, the dark, bleak houses, and the great Scotland Yard. This was a period when D.N.A detection was not only heard off but also forensic pathology was still being introduced. This era made the storyline much more interesting and also quite intriguing to read. It was dark and engrossing but also from time to time quite poignant with some great moments of human kindness. Some of the characters are going to grow on you the reader. Furthermore, you are also going to love the very first forensic pathologist, referred to as Dr. Bernard Kingsley, an exceedingly interesting character whom we get to learn about his past and parents.

We also get to know the reasons, which led him to take the job at the Yard. The author also informs the reader how the very first forensic pathologist managed to close all of the cases, which were assigned to him. Apart from learning about the pathologist, you are also going to feel the mortuary’s atmosphere together with the stench of the dead. As the story continues, police officers are in some instances found dead in exceedingly ugly and dreadful circumstances. A boy also goes missing. Despite the fact that the residents of London had initially taken a break from murder cases after the series of murder which was committed by Jack the Reaper. After the death of a policeman, a murder squad was assembled with the main aim of detecting and solving murder mysteries.

The search is on and Walter Day, and Hammersmith are two detective inspectors who are more than determined to solve all these cases. These two are characters that you will want to read more about.

Black Country: Another book that did exceedingly well in the Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad mystery series is Black Country. This novel begins from where the first book left on from. Despite the fact that it is not exceedingly necessary to read the first novel, it is highly advisable to read the first book so that you can have an idea of what is really about. The story begins as the two main characters are trying to find a solution to a murder mystery. Kingsley later on arrives and offers to assist the two protagonists.

As the story continues, we not only grow to love the characters but they also grow individually. The second installment is just as interesting as the first book in this series. It is full of entertaining moments. With mysteries following one another, you will find it exceedingly difficult to put the novel down. This book is perfect for procrastinating and blizzard weather.

Other Books That You May Like

“Thomas and Emily De Quincey” is another detective cozy mystery series that you are going to love. The book begins forty years after a series of horrific murders. This time around, an individual is recreating all the murders which happened many years and go, and while performing the murders, the killer seems to be perfecting his artistry. An extensive cast of fictitious and historical characters attempts to solve this murder mysteries, only to discover that there were even greater horrors yet to come. The author not only did an extensive research but also managed to pen down an exceedingly suspenseful book, which will unquestionably offer the reader multiple pleasures.

What Is The Next Book in The Scotland Yard's Murder Squad Series ?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Scotland Yard's Murder Squad Series . The newest book is Lost and Gone Forever and was released on May, 17th 2016.

1 thought on “Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad”

  1. I’m not going to say these books are bad, but I’m not going to say they’re great either. Maybe they’re meant for a British or Scottish audience … the dialogue and overall voice of the book would make more sense if that’s the case. Don’t get me wrong, the plots are great and I enjoyed the characters, but I would’ve enjoyed it more if it was easier to read. Kind of feels like it’s trying too hard to be Sherlock Holmes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *