Sharp Investigations Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sharp Investigations is a series of crime fiction novels written by Christopher Brookmyre. Christopher is a Scottish author that was born in Glasgow. So it is hardly surprising that the Sharp Investigations series is also set in that area.

Get notified when Christopher Brookmyre releases a new book at

Order of Jasmine Sharp Investigations Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Where the Bodies Are Buried ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2011 Description / Buy
2 When the Devil Drives ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Flesh Wounds/Bred in the Bone ( By: Christopher Brookmyre) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The books follow the exploits of DS Catherine McLeod and Jasmine Sharp as they solve crimes. When she is first introduced to readers in Where the Bodies are Buried, the first Sharp Investigations novel, Catherine is a middle-aged detective with no prospects for further promotion in her department.

The stresses of the job have worn her out, not only physically but mentally. However, Catherine is hardly the miserable, unmotivated detective that often features in noirs of this sort.

The detective has a younger husband and two sons who add a spark to her life. Sure, Catherine’s a little dysfunctional, but she has what it takes to nurture her family life whilst also catching bad guys.

Jasmine Sharp is technically the primary protagonist of the Sharp Investigations Series, though there are books where DS Catherine McLeod is afforded more screen time.

When she is first introduced to readers’, Jasmine’s life is in tatters. She doesn’t have much in the way of a stable family. Jasmine wanted to act. But by the events of the first Sharp Investigations book, her career is all but dead.

Readers are told that Jasmine was brought into the private eye arena by her uncle. However, she has tried and largely failed to pick up the trade. Though, that hasn’t stopped her uncle from tutoring her in the ways of detective work.

Jasmine is forced to rise up to the challenge when her uncle disappears and she undertakes the task of solving his mystery. The heroine struggles to find her footing but she eventually learns to incorporate her own unique approach to crime solving with the lessons her uncle taught her.

As the series progresses, Jasmine comes into her own as a private eye. Her renown grows and clients with increasingly complex and dangerous cases begin to seek her out.

Jasmine and Catherine are not necessarily friends. And they do not initially get along. Catherine has a pretty traditional approach to detective work, and she endeavors to stay within the legal confines that her position entails.

Jasmine takes a more out-of-the-box approach to crime solving and she doesn’t always allow legal restrictions to keep her from getting justice.

While Jasmine and Catherine maintain a weary and skeptical opinion of one another, they learn to cooperate when it counts, pooling their resources to solve crimes.

Christopher Brookmyre has been commended for his authentic approach to the language of his characters and the bleak atmosphere he injects into these books.

Best Sharp Investigations Books

Sharp Investigations has been praised for its sharp dialogue, tight plotting and engaging characters, with some of the best books in the series including:

When the Devil Drives: Jasmine Sharp was an amateur private eye with no experience of note. Then she solved a high profile case and now everyone wants a piece of her. This includes a sick older woman who wants Sharp to find her sister.

Jasmine has dealt with missing persons before. But her new client’s sister disappeared three decades ago, and that definitely presents a challenge.

Meanwhile, DS Catherine McLeod must solve the murder of someone that might be connected to Jasmine’s case.

Bred in the Bone: Jasmine Sharp never knew her father. By the time her mother died, all Jasmine knew was his first name. The woman worked hard to keep Jasmine out of her father’s world and Jasmine doesn’t expect that she would have been happy to learn that her daughter had formed a strangely close connection with Glen Fallan, the man who killed him.

Jasmine is forced to reopen old wounds when Glen is arrested for murder.

DS Catherine McLeod has her hands full with the death of a gangster. Even though she already has the suspected killer in custody, Catherine isn’t happy. The symbol she found on the victim’s head tells her that a dangerous enemy has emerged.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Fiona Griffiths” Series by Harry Bingham is another great read. Fiona Griffiths is a cop operating out of Cardiff, Wales. Not only is she a little too intense but Fiona also struggles to pick up on social cues. That being said, Fiona is an amazing detective, the kind you want around when depraved rapists and serial killers strike.

Be sure to check out the “Ruth Galloway” Series by Elly Griffiths. Ruth Galloway is a forensic archeologist who lives with her two cats in Saltmarsh, a place near Norfolk. When Ruth isn’t digging up ancient artifacts, she’s working with the police to solve crimes.

What Is The Next Book in The Jasmine Sharp Investigations Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jasmine Sharp Investigations Series. The newest book is Flesh Wounds/Bred in the Bone and was released on January, 1st 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *