Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell Books

Many people might be familiar with the Splinter Cell brand, mostly because the Splinter Cell games are very popular. First released in 2002, the stealth video games follow the exploits of Sam Fisher, a skilled operative working for a secretive agency called the Third Echelon and who is frequently pitted against rogue governments and organizations.

Order of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Splinter Cell 2004 Description / Buy
2 Operation Barracuda 2005 Description / Buy
3 Checkmate 2006 Description / Buy
4 Fallout 2007 Description / Buy
5 Endgame 2009 Description / Buy
6 Conviction 2009 Description / Buy
7 Blacklist Aftermath 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The video games always emphasize stealth and silent kills over bombastic undertakings and conspicuous assaults. And while fans of the highly popular franchise have been salivating at the various rumors of potential movie adaptations, it might come as a surprise to many of these gamers to learn that there are novels on the literary market based on the Splinter Cell Games.

The Splinter Cell novels fall in line with the general plot of the games. At the center of the books is the National Security Agency, an organization that runs a secret initiative known as the Third Echelon which works to combat deadly threats to the country.

The Third Echelon is unique in this: to combat threats, it depends on the efforts of a lone field operative in whose abilities it is so confident that it will deploy him behind enemy lines and watch as he effectively destabilizes unique threats and eliminates troublesome figures.

Like the Splinter Cell games, the Splinter Cell series of novels follows the exploits of Sam Fisher, a 47-year-old operative who once worked for the CIA. At a time where other veterans would have been contemplating retirement, Sam agrees to join a branch of the NSA as a highly skilled agent that has the capacity to get behind enemy lines and sneak his way past enemy combatants to carry out crucial missions.

Sam Fisher is a formidable opponent with exaggerated abilities.

The Splinter Cell series is written by David Michaels. It is worth noting, though, that David Michaels is a pseudonym. Initially, the pen name was used by Raymond Benson to write the Splinter Cell novels. But he left after the first two novels, with Grant Blackwood eventually replacing him. The transition behind the scenes did not change the David Michaels pseudonym.

Grant Blackwood doesn’t use Raymond’s first person perspective in his Splinter Cell novels.

Even though these novels are associated with his name, Tom Clancy is not involved in the production of the Splinter Cell books, though it is assumed that the authors consult him from time to time when the need arises.

The books have received mixed reviews. Some audiences do not think that they are proper literature. Others think that the novels are written with fans of the Splinter Cell games in mind.

Best Splinter Cell Books

Tom Clancy created a legacy with his Splinter Cell games that has since found new life in the publishing arena, with some of the best books in the series including:

Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell: Sam Fisher is a highly skilled operative of the Third Echelon, a branch of the United States Government. When Splinter Cell Operatives begin to die, Sam Fisher is assigned the task of investigating the situation. He learns that a mysterious terrorist unit is using sensitive information to find and eliminate Third Echelon Members. He must put a stop to their machinations before more Splinter Cell Operatives die.

The first novel in the Splinter Cell series follows an Arabic Terrorist group that joins forces with a Russian-backed Syndicate to destroy the Third Echelon. The book brings Sam Fisher to life, exploring his personality in a manner that gamers might be unfamiliar with.

Fallout: A former Justice Department Investigator dies. Radiation Poisoning is identified as the cause. The investigator was Sam Fisher’s friend. Sam is a highly capable agent who doesn’t officially exist, working with a secret government organization to safeguard America.

When Sam investigates his friend’s death, he is able to track the source of his demise to a particular country, setting his sights on a radical Islamic leader who wants to cripple the world’s oil supplies.

The fourth book in the Splinter Cell series finds Sam Fisher looking into the death of his friend Peter. His investigation leads him to a group looking to destroy the world’s largest oil reserves. Sam Fisher will do anything to stop them.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also enjoy “Tom Clancy’s Endwar” Series by David Michaels, another great series from Tom Clancy. In the future, Russia and the United States are engaged in World War III. Special Forces Captain Alexander Brent and his team try to maneuver the complexities of this new war in a world that has been forever changed.

“Tom Clancy’s Net Force” Series by Tom Clancy and Steve Pieczenik is a another really fun series. These books, which were first written by Steve Perry, take place in a world where computers are the most critical tools in the world and controlling them grants one mastery over everything. The Net force is a computer security agency that enforces the Net Laws.

What Is The Next Book in The Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Series. The newest book is Blacklist Aftermath and was released on October, 1st 2013.