Nicholas Sparks Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Nicholas Sparks refers to a bestselling American man of letters who doubles up as a filmmaker. The penman’s birth name is Nicholas Charles Sparks. A man in his early fifties, Sparks was born in December 1965 and his place of birth is Omaha upon Nebraska in the US. Presently, Sparks is a North Carolina resident. For his O-Levels, Nicholas Sparks attended the Fair Oaks-based Bella Vista High School wherein he was in the class of 1984. For his undergraduate education, Nicholas Sparks attended University of Notre Dame after securing himself an athletic scholarship wherein he pursued business finance and was in the class of 1988. At the latter institution, Sparks excelled in track and field.

Get notified when Nicholas Sparks releases a new book at

Order of Calhoun Family / Notebook Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Notebook 1996 Description / Buy
2 The Wedding 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Jeremy Marsh & Lexie Darnell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 True Believer 2003 Description / Buy
2 At First Sight 2004 Description / Buy

Order of Nicholas Sparks Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Message in a Bottle 1988 Description / Buy
2 A Walk to Remember 1999 Description / Buy
3 The Rescue 2000 Description / Buy
4 A Bend in the Road 2001 Description / Buy
5 Nights in Rodanthe 2002 Description / Buy
6 The Guardian 2003 Description / Buy
7 Dear John 2006 Description / Buy
8 The Choice 2007 Description / Buy
9 The Lucky One 2008 Description / Buy
10 The Last Song 2008 Description / Buy
11 Safe Haven 2010 Description / Buy
12 The Best of Me 2010 Description / Buy
13 The Longest Ride 2012 Description / Buy
14 See Me 2015 Description / Buy
15 Two by Two 2016 Description / Buy
16 Every Breath 2018 Description / Buy
17 The Return 2020 Description / Buy
18 The Wish 2021 Description / Buy
19 Dreamland 2022 Description / Buy
20 Counting Miracles 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Nicholas Sparks Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wokini (Short Story) ( With: Billy Mills) 1990 Description / Buy
2 Three Weeks with My Brother ( With: Micah Sparks) 2004 Description / Buy

Nicholas Sparks Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Reader's Digest: Today's Best Fiction 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Nicholas Sparks started writing novels while still studying at University of Notre Dame. Subsequently, he penned his earliest novel, entitled The Passing, in 1985 though it never got published. Four years later, Sparks penned another novel named The Royal Murders and it was not published too. Chagrined by the false start and coupled with futile attempts to secure jobs in publishing houses, Sparks drifted from one job to another. Nicholas Sparks’ breakthrough came in 1990 when he co-authored a book with famed American Olympic athlete Billy Mills. The ensuing instant success greatly motivated him.

Nicholas Sparks’ bibliography consists of standalone books and two duologies. Sparks, who was then aged 28, authored the first book in The Notebook series within half a year. Long story short, The Notebook series is a duology. There are as much as 188 editions of the first book in the series, of which the first edition was initially published in 1996, titled The Notebook; this book is shelved under the fiction, adult fiction, romance (especially contemporary romance sub-genre), women’s fiction (particularly chick lit sub-genre), and adult fiction genres.

Noah Calhoun is the featured protagonist in Nicholas Sparks’ 1996 book named The Notebook. Noah Calhoun, who is a tricenarian, is a poetry-loving Southerner. Calhoun, a World War Two returnee, is living a typical farm life. He is reinstating a plantation while reliving the fond memories he had with an old flame during his teenage.

The turning point in The Notebook duology, The Notebook, is the moment Calhoun’s one-time lover (named Allie Nelson) chances upon news report about Calhoun’s reinstate reinstatement of the plantation and tracks him down. As such, Calhoun reunites with Nelson after more than a decade; surprisingly, Nelson sacrifices her engagement to a well-off attorney at the altar of her love for Calhoun. The ensuing love triangle will leave romantics mulling over this acclaimed book.

Nicholas Sparks Awards

In 2013, Nicholas Sparks clinched the Family Choice Award (in the babies and parenting, and children categories); Sparks won courtesy of his books in Novel Learning Series: both the 2006 book titled Dear John and the 2001 novel entitled A Bend in the Road. In 2009, Nicholas Sparks clinched the Goodreads Choice Awards, in the Chick Lit category, thanks to his 2008 book named The Last Song.

Nicholas Sparks Books into Movies

There are film adaptations of Nicholas Sparks’ books. Adaptations: 2004 film titled The Notebook, starring Ryan Gosling who acts as Noah Calhoun; 2013 film titled Safe Haven, starring Julianne Hough who plays as Katie Feldman; 2016 film The Choice, starring Teresa Palmer (portrays Gabby Holland) and Benjamin Walker (acts as Travis Parker); 2015 film The Longest Ride, starring Scott Eastwood (portrays Luke Collins) and Britt Robertson (portrays Sophia Danko); 2014 film Best of Me features James Marsden (appears as Dawson Cole) and Michelle Monaghan (acts as Amanda Collier).

2012 film The Lucky One, starring Zac Efron who portrays Logan Thibault; 1999 film Message in a Bottle, starring Robin Wright (acts as Theresa Osborne) and Kevin Costner (acts as Garret Blake); 2002 film A Walk to Remember, starring Mandy Moore (Jamie Sullivan) and Shane West (Landon Carter); 2010 movie The Last Song, starring Miley Cyrus who portrays Veronica ‘Ronnie’ Miller; 2008 film Nights in Rodanthe, starring Diane Lane (portrays Adrienne Willis); and 2010 movie Dear John, starring Channing Tatum (appears as John Tyree) and Amanda Seyfried (portrays Savannah Curtis).

Best Nicholas Sparks Books

These are the best books in Nicholas Sparks’ bibliography. The first is The Notebook—has already been mentioned.

Dear John: A rebellious school drop-out called John joins the military and her lover is awaiting the end of his military service to marry. Unfortunately, September 11 attacks prompts John’s re-enlisting, driving a wedge between the two lovers.

The Last Song: A teenage girl’s life is jeopardized by her parents’ damnable divorce.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked Nicholas Sparks’ books also liked these series. Richard Paul Evans‘ “Locket” series revolves around doomed yet hopeful characters. Karen Kingsbury‘s serialized “Lost Love” is all about quest for real love and living the so-called happily ever after. Debbie Macomber‘s serialized “Cedar Cove” is all about the life stories and secrets of kith and kin in a town named Cedar Cove.

When Does The Next Nicholas Sparks book come out?

The next book by Nicholas Sparks is Counting Miracles and will be released on September, 24th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *