Chip Harrison Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Chip Harrison is the lead character of the novel series written by Lawrence Block. The series consists of four different books which describe the life of a 17-year old boy intertwined between lust and curiosity. The first two novels of the series Chip Harrison Scores Again and No Score represent the young boy obsessive desire to lose his virginity. The third and fourth novels Chip assume the role of the assistant of a Private Detective.

Order of Chip Harrison Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 No Score ( By: Lawrence Block) 1970 Description / Buy
2 Chip Harrison Scores Again ( By: Lawrence Block) 1971 Description / Buy
3 Make Out with Murder ( By: Lawrence Block) 1974 Description / Buy
4 The Topless Tulip Caper ( By: Lawrence Block) 1975 Description / Buy
5 As Dark as Christmas Gets (Short Story) ( By: Lawrence Block) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Literary, Chip Harrison comes into “his senses” when he begins working for the Private Detective- Leo Haig. The private investigator wants to be recognized as a great investigator, and therefore he hires Chip to be his assistant. The third and the fourth novels of the series are majorly under detective mystery theme.

The first book in the series is No Score published in 1989 by Signet. The book majorly focuses on Chip Harrison inability to lose his virginity disregards of various attempts.


Lawrence Block books have won and also nominated for multiple awards such as Shamus Awards, Edgar Awards, and Antony Awards. For instance, in 2002 he was won Lifetime Achievement Award known as The Eye during Shamus Awards. Some of the authors’ short stories such as Answers to Soldier won the 1991 Edgar Awards for Best Short Story category.


These are the best books of Chip Harrison series by Lawrence Block.

Make out with Murder: The first book on the list and the third in the series. A friend to anomalous PI assistant mysteriously dies; her bereaved boyfriend tries to investigate her family to establish the killer. This happens as soon as Chip Harrison is New York City to work as a sidekick to detective Leo Haig- a Nero Wolfe Wannabe. Chip meets Melanie a girl from a wealthy family and who are her sisters have a history trend of dying in bizarre accidents. Melanie apparently dies of what is termed as Heroin overdose. However, Chip and Haig suspects that her death could have been a planned murder. It therefore upon Chip to race against time to expose the killer before more lives are claimed too. He must investigate their bizarre family as well as Melanie’s sister’s rooms all at once to get the leads that will eventually get the murder suspects exposed.

The Topless Tulip Caper: Shamus Award-Winning and New York Bestselling writer Lawrence Block once again returns with a thrilling and crime-solving novel. The storyline begins when Chip Harrison is approached by a novice ichthyologist who also happens to be a club stripper. The girl wants Chip to help her catch the killer of 123 rare species of Fish. One night Chip finds himself at Times Square Club waiting for the young lady to finish her night shift job. When she is done with her set, she meets Chip and also introduces him to her roommate, who is a dance at the same club where she works. Little did they know that the dancer would be targeted for murder? The dancer is poisoned, and the only lead Haig and Chip have lies between the sheets. Catching the killer is hard, but Chip must utilize his curiosity and investigative skills to find the killer before the murder list gets long.

Chip Harrison Scores Again: Young Chip Harrison finds a bus ticket for a bus destined to South Carolina and ceases the moment to escape the snowy New York and explore the warm climate of Bordentown. He lands into the arms of a beautiful young girl, Lucile, the daughter of Bordentown Preacher.


If you love Chip Harrison series, you will have an eye for series such as “Cormoran Strike” series written by best-selling author J.K Rowling under pseudonym Robert Galbraith. The crime fiction series was first published in 2013. The novel revolves around the crime investigations of Cormoran Strike a Private Detective and his assistant Robin Ellacott.

Hercule Poirot” series is also a great novel series to read. The books were written by all time bestselling author Agatha Christie (Born 15th Sep 1890- Died 12th Jan 1976). Hercule Poirot the lead character in the series is a Belgian detective officer who throughout the series is tasked with solving various crimes. The novels can be read as standalone in any order however in an internal chronological order. The series contains 41 distinct books

What Is The Next Book in The Chip Harrison Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Chip Harrison Series. The newest book is As Dark as Christmas Gets and was released on July, 7th 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *