Dresden Files Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Dresden Files series is a contemporary mystery/fantasy novels authored by Jim Butcher. The novels are authored in the first person narrative and from the perspective of the protagonist, wizard, and private investigator Harry Dresden. The main character is depicted narrating his recounts on the investigations into supernatural occurrences in the Chicago. The author originally had proposed the title of the series to be Semiautomagic, to sum up, the series balance of detective fiction and fantasy.

Order of The Dresden Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Storm Front 2000 Description / Buy
2 Fool Moon 2001 Description / Buy
3 Grave Peril 2001 Description / Buy
4 Summer Knight 2002 Description / Buy
5 Death Masks 2003 Description / Buy
6 Blood Rites 2004 Description / Buy
7 Dead Beat 2005 Description / Buy
8 Proven Guilty 2006 Description / Buy
9 White Night 2007 Description / Buy
10 Small Favor 2008 Description / Buy
11 Turn Coat 2009 Description / Buy
12 Changes 2010 Description / Buy
13 Ghost Story 2011 Description / Buy
14 Cold Days 2012 Description / Buy
15 Skin Game 2014 Description / Buy
16 Peace Talks 2020 Description / Buy
17 Battle Ground 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Dresden Files: Wild Card Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Dresden Files Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Side Jobs: Stories From the Dresden Files 2010 Description / Buy
2 Working for Bigfoot 2014 Description / Buy
3 Shadowed Souls 2016 Description / Buy
4 Brief Cases 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Dresden Files Short Stories

# Read Title Published Details
Print: Print PDF

Order of Dresden Files Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Side Jobs: Stories From the Dresden Files 2010 Description / Buy
2 Working for Bigfoot 2014 Description / Buy
3 Shadowed Souls 2016 Description / Buy
4 Brief Cases 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of The Dresden Files Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Welcome to the Jungle (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Backup 2008 Description / Buy
3 Storm Front, Volume 1 2009 Description / Buy
4 Storm Front Vol. 2 - Maelstrom (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Fool Moon: Vol. 1 (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
6 Fool Moon, Volume 2 2013 Description / Buy
7 Ghoul Goblin 2013 Description / Buy
8 War Cry 2014 Description / Buy
9 Down Town 2015 Description / Buy
10 Wild Card 2016 Description / Buy
11 Dog Men (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

By 2014, the author had written 15 novels in the same series and some other short stories. The book series is also available in audio version.

In the world of Dresden, magic is real along with demons, vampires, werewolves, faeries, spirits and other monsters. Even though the supernatural is not credited, it is still practiced by some society members. Also, the greater extents of the globe such as South and Central America are still under the control of supernatural cliques.

Furthermore, in Dresden world, the White Council is a group of wizards who wield tremendous economic power in the world in addition to their supernatural power. Each of the species in the world be it vampires, humans, faeries, etc has its own societal and political rules as well as organizations. The Wizards belong to the White Council while the faeries to the either of the two faerie court and the vampires belong to either of the four vampire courts.

Harry Dresden is the consulting wizard and deals with supernatural cases from both non-human, human clients, and the Chicago Police Department investigation unit. Dresden takes roles that are more vital in the supernatural world as the series progresses. He works as both private investigator and a wizard to protect the public.

The first novel in the series Dresden Files is Storm Front published in 2000; the second is Fool Moon released in 2001. The last book in the series is Skin Game released on 5th May 2015. ROC released all the books of the series Dresden Files- Penguins Books imprint while The Science Fiction Book Club did a reissue of the first 9 books in hardcover.


Jim Butcher novel Skin Game was nominated for the Hugo Award for the best novel. Also, Welcome to the Jungle book was also nominated for Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story.


In 2007, the Sci-Fi Channel adapted Dresden Files novel series to television but unfortunately, it was canceled after airing for one season.


Storm Front: The main protagonist Dresden is hired by a woman to search for her husband Victor Sell, who is a magician. Later in the day, Dresden receives a call from Lieutenant Murphy also the director of the SI unit of the Chicago PD. The lieutenant shows him bodies of two people with their hearts missing.

Dresden, soon discovers that the whole affair centers on a drug known as ThreeEye which gives the average humans the capability of seeing something which could drive them insane. The man behind the manufacture of the ThreeEye drug is none other than Victor sells who is determined to exterminate the mob leader Johnny Marcone. Victor then uses thunderstorms energy and orgies to power spells to deal with his enemies and anyone threatening his operations.

Dresden then interrupts the spell casting by Victor, which results to burning down of victors house while he the two is still inside the house. Dresden is trapped on the balcony of the burning house, but fortunately, Morgan knowing that Dresden is innocent manages to rescue him and testify on his behalf to the white council.

Fool Moon: Dresden is back to business but this time he has to help the police to put an end to a werewolf that is terrorizing Chicago residents with murders. Again, the wizard here finds himself in a dangerous play between the cops, FBI agents, his enemy John Marcone and motorcycle gang. The plot twists in this captivating short novel ensure that the reader’s attention is captured from the first page to the last.


Readers of Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher also love reading:

The Hollows series authored by Kim Harrison, which revolves around supernatural creatures just as depicted in Dresden Files series and Secret History series a science/fantasy fiction series written by Simon R. Green.

What Is The Next Book in The Dresden Files Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dresden Files Series. The newest book is Battle Ground and was released on September, 29th 2020.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *