Harper Connelly Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Harper Connelly is the lead character in the Harper Connelly mystery series of novels by the American novelist Charlaine Harris. The first novel featuring the character was the 2005 published title “Grave Sight”, that went on to achieve massive popularity among urban fantasy enthusiasts.

Get notified when Charlaine Harris releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Harper Connelly Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Grave Sight ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Grave Surprise ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2006 Description / Buy
3 An Ice Cold Grave ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2007 Description / Buy
4 Grave Secret ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Harper Connelly Graphic Novels Series By: Charlaine Harris, William Harms

# Read Title Published Details
1 Grave Sight (By: Charlaine Harris, William Harms) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Charlaine Harris' Grave Surprise (Short Story) ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Harper Connelly/Grave Sight Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Part 1 ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Part 2 ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Part 3 ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Part 4 ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2014 Description / Buy
5 Part 5 ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2014 Description / Buy
6 Part 6 ( By: Charlaine Harris) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series is written by Charlaine Harris who is best known as the author of the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampires series that was made into the True Blood series for HBO. Harris was interested in writing from a young age as she wrote poems about ghosts and teenage angst from a young age. She would later attend Rhode Island University where she began writing her own plays. It wasn’t until after college that she began writing novels, but she has had tremendous success since beginning and the world is happy that she did.

Harris wrote the Aurora Teagarden series, the Lily Bard series, and started on the Sookie Stackhouse books before she started writing the Harper Connelly books.

Harper Connelly the lead in the series is a 24-year-old woman who comes from a family that is the quintessential rags-to-riches story. She has a brother Tolliver who is a product of her mother’s remarriage to another man when she was a teenager. Their parents were drug addicts and it was not long before their family had been decimated by their drug problem. But everything changed when Harper is struck by lightning, which left her with the unique ability to tell cause of death of anyone, which she uses to make herself and her brother rich.

When we are first introduced to Harper Connelly in “Grave Sight”, she has what most people would consider an odd job. She can locate a dead person and share with their loved ones just what happened in the very last moments before their death. For Harper, the unique ability is an essential service as she brings much-needed closure to the deceased family, even as most of her clients still think she is a blood-sucking leech.

Traveling with Tolliver her brother who doubles up as bodyguard and manager, she soon becomes proficient at getting gigs, getting paid, and leaving the scene fast. The intrigues and struggles of the series of novels just goes on to showcase the exceptional storytelling skills of Charlain Harris that have made her an award-winning novelist over the years.


CBS was once interested in adapting the books into a series executive produced by Tony Scott and Ridley Scott but would later pass on it. In April 2012, SyFy bought the rights to the series and confirmed that the Harper Connelly series would be made into a television series. The date of release for the series has yet to be announced.

The first book in the series, Grave Sight, was adapted into a graphic novel as Harris worked with Dynamite Entertainment to make this a reality. The series earned praised as a good representation of her first novel and the artwork was said to capture the characters well. She would later get into graphic novels by writing the Cemetery Girl series with Christopher Golden and illustrator Don Kramer.


Grave Sight: The first in the series is one of the most popular titles and is regarded by most fans as one of the best books ever written by Charlaine Harris. Harper Connelly’s first novel is an intriguing narrative that introduces the lead and her equally weird brother Tolliver. Harper has a unique skill in that she can find dead people. She can just sense where they spent their last moment and heads there.

While she is not a detective per se given that she cannot tell who killed the deceased, the team is a great help for families needing that one last word with their loved ones. They usually get right into town and then get right out though as sometimes people who want to find their missed loved ones, don’t really. This book sees them wanting to be on their way out of a small Ozarks town, but when another body is found they realize that the killer might not be done.

An Ice Cold Grave: The riveting first novel in the Harper Connelly series. The team has been hired to locate a boy that has disappeared in Doraville, North Carolina. The case gets interesting when team weird gets there to learn that the missing boy was just one of several disappearances in five years. With her special abilities, Harper soon locates all eight victims that had been disposed of in a half frozen field. Looking to leave after collecting her fee, she finds herself embroiled in a police investigation that she wanted nothing to do with. Her involvement soon stands her in good stead as she learns the long hidden secrets and dark mysteries of the town, that come in handy when she becomes the hunted in a strange town.

Grave Secret The fourth novel in the series is one of its most popular as it is a deeper look into the horrible childhood of the lead protagonists that resulted in their paranormal powers. The sibling’s father just got out of jail, and is trying to reconnect with his family, who unsurprisingly want nothing to do with him. However, they may not have much choice in the matter as family secrets ensnare Harper and Tolliver to change their lives forever.


Most Harper Connelly fans loved the “Sloane Skye” Series of novels by Tami Dane. The series of novels feature Sloan Skye, the expert paranormal investigator attached to the FBI’s paranormal unit working to resolve complex paranormal happenings.

Fans of the Harper Connelly series of novels are also fans of the “Corine Solomon” series of novels by Ann Aguirre. The series of novels feature the lead character Corine who has the uncanny ability to know an object’s history by touching it.

What Is The Next Book in The Harper Connelly Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Harper Connelly Series. The newest book is Grave Secret and was released on October, 27th 2009.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *