Hunt for Reacher Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Hunt for Reacher is a series of novels by popular American mystery author, Diane Capri. Diane published the first of the Hunt for Reacher novels, Don’t Know Jack in 2012. She went on to publish five more titles and a box set comprising the first three books Licensed to Thrill.

Get notified when Diane Capri releases a new book at

Order of Hunt For Reacher Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Don't Know Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Jack in a Box ( By: Diane Capri) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Jack and Kill ( By: Diane Capri) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Get Back Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Jack in the Green ( By: Diane Capri) 2014 Description / Buy
6 Hit the Road Jack (By: Diane Capri) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Jack and Joe ( By: Diane Capri) 2015 Description / Buy
8 Deep Cover Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2016 Description / Buy
9 Jack the Reaper (By: Diane Capri) 2017 Description / Buy
10 Black Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2018 Description / Buy
11 Ten Two Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2018 Description / Buy
12 Jack of Spades (By: Diane Capri) 2019 Description / Buy
13 Prepper Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2020 Description / Buy
14 Full Metal Jack (By: Diane Capri) 2020 Description / Buy
15 Jack Frost (By: Diane Capri) 2021 Description / Buy
16 Jack of Hearts (By: Diane Capri) 2021 Description / Buy
17 Straight Jack (By: Diane Capri) 2021 Description / Buy
18 Jack Knife (By: Diane Capri) 2022 Description / Buy
19 Lone Star Jack (By: Diane Capri) 2022 Description / Buy
20 Bulletproof Jack (By: Diane Capri) 2023 Description / Buy
21 Bet on Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2023 Description / Buy
22 Jack On A Wire ( By: Diane Capri) 2024 Description / Buy
23 Tracking Jack ( By: Diane Capri) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The novels are about two FBI agents Carlos Gaspar and Kim Otto, who are in the hunt for the most enigmatic of detectives, Jack Reacher. At the beginning of the novel series, the two detectives have the task of not only finding Jack, but also of finding out who he is. The series was pitched to the author by Lee Child himself who wanted to work together. That idea became the Hunt for Reacher and that turned into a whole series as the idea really worked.

It all started with a conversation at a party where Diane had questions. Where is Reacher hiding? He doesn’t hide. Where does he live? Wherever he wants. Doesn’t someone want payback on Reacher? This last question was the key as it opened Diane up to a question back from Lee Child: Who in his right mind would go looking for Reacher? You?

Apparently, the answer was yes and the rest is history. Lee gave her his full support as she created the character of Kim Otto, one of the few people brave enough to willingly go after Reacher. She’s a real firecracker, but it’s her partner Carlos Gaspar that keeps her straight and makes the whole thing work,.

The series does an excellent job of staying true to the Jack Reacher canon. It helps that Diane Capri is a huge Reacher fan herself, but she also has two secret weapons: Reacher’s Creatures, a group of the most dedicated fans who are insanely knowledgeable, and Lee Child himself, who created the darn thing and knows everything about the character.

The first novel begins with Jack Reacher as the very same character who despite all his notoriety, still lives off the grid, until when he has to come out to deal with troublesome villains. Nobody has seen or heard from Reacher for several years, but now someone wants to find him, fast, and no one knows why.

It is up to Otto and Caspar to try to find Jack and the people looking for him. But there is a catch, the two detectives are by the book operatives who are loath to do anything that is against police protocol. The only problem is that they do not know if Jack Reacher is their enemy or friend, or just a stone cold killer that would not hesitate to kill when they find him. They have a lot of investigating to do and landmines to avoid in their search for this most inscrutable of detectives.


The Hunt for Reacher series of novels has been the recipient of several awards over the years. Jack and Joe the sixth novel in the series won the Independent Publishers Association’s Silver Award for Best Thriller eBook. The novel also made the shortlist for the International Thriller Award for 2016.


While none of the Hunt for Reacher novels have been made into TV series or movies, the original titles by Lee Child were made into a highly successful movie. Tom Cruise starred in the first adaptation titled Jack Reacher released in 2012 and reprised the same role in the 2016 released Jack Reacher Never Go Back. The highly popular Stephen King novel, Under the Dome that was made into a TV show also provides a good background to Jack Reacher.


Don’t Know Jack: The first novel in the series, Don’t Know Jack is one of its most popular given its highly unusual focus of being about a character whose story for the most part happens offstage. What makes the novel so great is that it contrasts the philosophical leanings of by the book detectives and contrasts them with the chaotic yet highly effective camouflage and under the radar techniques of Reacher. With Jack always one-step ahead of Otto and Caspar, the tension in the book is palpable as even the reader cannot tell if Jack has gone rogue or if he is still for the good guys.

Jack Joe: The award-winning sixth novel in the series, Jack Joe is another excellent novel in the Hunt for Reacher series. Written in the style of jigsaw maestros such as John Grisham and Lee child, Capri writes quite a compelling narrative. FBI agents Carlos Gaspar and Kim Otto’s search for Jack Reacher sees them head down to Fort Bird North Carolina after a tip off. However, there are powerful people who would rather have the secrets Reacher left behind remain just that – secrets. They will do anything in their power to ensure that no one ever comes close to uncovering these dark secrets.

Get Back Jack: Another excellent novel in the Hunt for Reacher series is Get Back Jack, the fourth novel in the series. Gaspar and Otto’s relentless pursuit of Reacher leads them to the members of his last assignment. Jack had destroyed a network of drug dealers but had made a mess of it. The two detectives now find themselves in the middle of a grudge war between Jack’s new and old enemies.

Otto and Gaspar definitely get some stuff to add to the file on Reacher in this one, but this book is more about tying up the loose ends of the drug dealer story than actually finding Reacher. This is a very twisty book with all kinds of moving parts that add to the story. The parts where they are fighting the Mexican cartels is far more interesting than the hunt for Reacher plot, but the whole thing ties together well.


Many Hunt for Reacher fans also loved the “Harry Bosch” series by Michael Connelly. Connelly’s novels are detective thrillers featuring Harry Bosch a former army veteran turned LAPD detective, who has to put his survival instincts to use time and again. Enthusiasts of the Hunt for Reacher novels will also love the “Joe Pike” series by Robert Crais. The novels feature Joe Pike, a highly decorated war veteran with a scarred childhood who works as a hired gun.

What Is The Next Book in The Hunt For Reacher Series?

The next book in the The Hunt For Reacher Series by Diane Capri is Tracking Jack and will be released on November, 19th 2024.

1 thought on “Hunt for Reacher”

  1. Thank you for telling us how this unusual collaboration came go be. I found this information hard to find.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *