Lucas Rocco Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Gestapo, the then secret police organization synonymous with Nazi Germany and its other European territories, is nothing to write home about. In fact, it is a blemish on Germany’s history. The said organization, which was dissolved in mid-1940s, held sway most notably in the 1940s and has been blamed for a myriad of issues such as crimes against humanity. Why would a woman clad in the Gestapo attire be murdered two decades after its dissolution? This incident, which evokes Nazi era memories, is what the main character is faced with and, consequently, the turning point of the Lucas Rocco series.

Get notified when Adrian Magson releases a new book at

Order of Inspector Lucas Rocco Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Death on the Marais ( By: Adrian Magson) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Death on the Rive Nord ( By: Adrian Magson) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Death on the Pont Noir ( By: Adrian Magson) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Death at the Clos Du Lac ( By: Adrian Magson) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Rocco and the Snow Angel (Short Story) ( By: Adrian Magson) 2015 Description / Buy
6 Rocco and the Nightingale ( By: Adrian Magson) 2017 Description / Buy
7 Rocco and the Price of Lies ( By: Adrian Magson) 2019 Description / Buy
8 Death at the Old Asylum ( By: Adrian Magson) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Lucas Rocco, as the title of the series suggests, is the featured protagonist in the Lucas Rocco series of books penned by British scribbler Adrian Magson. Protagonist Lucas Rocco, who is presently a high-profile law enforcer in the said series, is surprised by the uniformed corpse in a far-flung location despite being battle-hardened courtesy of his stint in the military. There are about ten editions of the first book in the Lucas Rocco literary series. Nevertheless, the first book contained therein was initially published in January 2011 based on the first edition; it is titled Death on the Maris and this novel series is shelved under the mystery and crime fiction (detective fiction sub-genre in particular) genres.

Lucas Rocco previously served in the French army most notably in Indochina, a name which denotes the Asian colonies of France; he saw action when Vietnam and France were embroiled in a bitter war following the latter’s occupation. Rocco, who is no longer in the military, has since joined the French police service where he has the rank of a police inspector. Incidentally, this is during the 1960s.

The first book in the Lucas Rocco series, Death on the Marais, chronicles the unexpected experience of police inspector Lucas Rocco hot on the heels of being dispatched to a rural posting in France. Rocco, who was hitherto based in Paris, has been transferred to a far-flung village in Northwest region of France called Poisson-Les-Marais. This comes after the French government embarks on a mission to develop its policing services in rural places. By the way, the term marais, which partly forms the title of the series, literally means a marshy area.

Contrary to his initial mindset that his job would be less demanding and he would have an uneventful tenure that is as easy as falling from a log, Lucas Rocco is soon stupefied. There in Poisson-Les-Marais upon France, Rocco is amazed after noticing a female woman who has been murdered and the corpse dumped near a military cemetery for fallen British soldiers. Surprisingly, the deceased woman is clad in the then Gestapo uniform.

Worse still, the woman’s father, Philippe Bayer-Berbier, is seemingly involved in one way or the other with the murder; this manifests itself after her father orders a judge, albeit behind the scenes, to have the corpse taken away from a mortuary run by the police. As the author expounds the plot, which segues from the scene of crime to Paris where the father’s secret life pinpoints, it depicts Adrian Magson’s impressive dexterity; what’s more, Magson has been a Debut Dagger nominee.

Lucas Rocco Awards

Adrian Magson came close to clinching the Debut Dagger, an award proffered by the Crime Writers’ Association. This came after making it to the shortlisted writers in 2001.

Lucas Rocco TV Shows/Movies

A 2010 book penned by Adrian Magson, called Red Station, has been earmarked for film adaptation. Its film rights were purchased by Benderspink, a production organization founded by two American filmmakers–JC Spink and Chris Bender.

Best Lucas Rocco Books

Death on the Marais: Death on the Marais and Death on the River Nord are the best books on Lucas Rocco series according to popular opinion. The former novel is discussed above.

The River Nord: The latter, which is the second book in that series and was published in 2011, is set in Picardy in the early 1960s; protagonist Lucas Rocco is called in after an unlawful laborer is murdered hard on the heels of being dropped by a vehicle, which was carrying unlawful employees, in an isolated place; the inspector is tracking down the other employees to unravel the incident.

Other Book Series You May Like

Avid readers who read the Lucas Rocco series also read the following series of books. The first one is “The Boxcar Children” penned by Gertrude Chandler Warner; this is about several adventurous children collectively working out mysteries.

Another one is titled “Gerhard Self” series and is written by Bernhard Schlink; it features protagonist and private detective Gerhard Self who was a Nazi law officer previously. The third is the Andreas Kaldis penned by Jeffrey Siger; it features protagonist Andreas Kaldis, a homicide detective serving in a Greek police organization.

What Is The Next Book in The Inspector Lucas Rocco Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Inspector Lucas Rocco Series. The newest book is Death at the Old Asylum and was released on October, 21st 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *