Peter and the Starcatchers Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Peter and the Starcatchers series by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson and illustrated by Greg Call. The star of the show here is Peter who has blue eyes and orange hair; he is somewhere between twelve and fourteen years of age. That being said, he never learns how old he actually is. He is joined by Molly Aster, the daughter of the new ambassador to Rundoon (who is a famous Starcatcher and is named Leonard Aster). She is strong-minded, independent, and likes Peter quite a bit, although she is able to hide it. This series has a spin off of chapter books called Never Land, for younger readers.

Get notified when Dave Barry releases a new book at

Order of Peter and the Starcatchers Series By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson

# Read Title Published Details
1 Peter and the Starcatchers (By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson) 2004 Description / Buy
2 Peter and the Shadow Thieves (By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson) 2006 Description / Buy
3 Peter and the Secret of Rundoon (By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson) 2007 Description / Buy
4 Peter and the Sword of Mercy (By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson) 2009 Description / Buy
5 The Bridge to Never Land (By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first novel in the series Peter and the Starcatchers serves as a prequel to J.M. Barrie’s Peter and Wendy book. Most of the characters in the novel were created for this series. There are some, too, that were in Barrie’s novel. The sequels to this novel are also prequels to the famous book by Barrie. There are some deviations in this series, as it does not stick to the things that Barrie put into his novel, and takes some liberties.


The first novel has been adapted for a play with music that was done with some Off-Broadway staging and a Broadway staging.


This next section is for those readers looking to get into the Peter and the Starcatchers series by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson. It will go over the novels Peter and the Starcatchers, Peter and the Shadow Thieves, and Peter and the Secret of Rundoon.

Peter and the Starcatchers: This is the first novel in the Peter and the Starcatchers series and was released in the year 2004. A young orphan (named Peter), along with his mates are sent to an island that is ruled by King Zarboff. They are sailing on a ship called Never Land, it has a mysterious and precious trunk in the confines of its cargo hold. The journey soon becomes exciting and dangerous. It features great characters, like Molly (the sophisticated), Peter (who has no fear about anything), and Black Stache (who is scary yet familiar).

Peter and the Shadow Thieves: This is the second novel in the Peter and the Starcatchers series and was released in the year 2006. Peter and Tinker Bell (who is Peter’s most trusted companion) leave the sort of safe Mollusk Island and head to the much worse and more dangerous and dark streets of London. When they go across the sea, they find the deadly and mysterious Lord Ombra. Lord Ombra is looking for starstuff, it has gone missing and is celestial dust that has unimagined powers with it. Peter tries to locate Molly in London, hoping that with her he can combat Ombra’s force. Peter is not the boy that he used to be, and he is not on Mollusk Island, but London. Not to mention, that Lord Ombra (called the Shadow Master) is unlike anything anyone (including Peter) has ever laid eyes on.

Peter and the Secret of Rundoon: This is the third novel in the Peter and the Starcatchers series and was released in the year 2007. Molly and Peter are in a dangerous land that is called Rundoon. It is ruled by King Zarboff, the evil man that enjoys watching Kundalini (his pet snake) eat anyone that displeases him. That is just the tip of the iceberg of evil that awaits these heroes; as they also have to face off with Lord Ombra (the evil shadow creature), so that they can save Molly’s father and her and the whole planet from a horrible ending. Back in Never Land, tribal war has just begun. A young Mollusk princess must join with awful pirates to save her island from the worse Scorpions that would like to take it over.


The “Wendy Darling” series by Colleen Oakes is a telling of Peter Pan. It involves three kids, Wendy and her two brothers who get taken to Neverland. Their time there makes them wonder where they came from and that there is more to this place than what they originally thought.

The “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard” series by Rick Riordan is a trilogy of fantasy novels by Rick Riordan is based on Norse mythology. It is narrated by the son of the Vanir god of fertility Frey, who is named Magnus Chase.

What Is The Next Book in The Peter And The Starcatchers Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Peter And The Starcatchers Series. The newest book is The Bridge to Never Land and was released on August, 9th 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *